We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most peaceful Island in Hawaii.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
honolulu, hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The most peaceful Island in Hawaii.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

The staff at The Lodge At Koele is awesome, always greeting people with a smile, the rooms are very clean, a lot of activity's to do , two great golf courses , The Experience At Koele, and The Challenge At Manele Bay, My family of eight really enjoyed our stay, for my wife and i it was our third trip to Koele since June of 2009, first time for my daughter and four grandchildren and sister, which are already talking about returning. Michiyo did a wonderful job checking all of us in, and also checking us out, wonderful personality , all bellman took good care of us, Misa, Leo, Manny , outstanding workers, all our shuttle drivers were very nice. Adde the cart attendant at Koele golf course was very very nice and caring to my wife and me, she has a very nice personality. The residents of Lanai is so friendly, i must say it's the nicest people in all of hawaii, it's the most peaceful island that i have ever been on.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms facing the mtn very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    66
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
116
406
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

One of the other guests said it best, "This has got to be the most peaceful place on earth!" My wife and I would probably agree -- at least it's one of the most peaceful places that an ordinary person who doesn't own a yacht or your own private island can find that has comes with its own five star accommodations.

To catch the picture, remember that the Island of Lanai is almost entirely privately owned by Castle and Cooke who pretty much run the place. So, essentially, a visitor to Lanai is free to roam a 165 square mile island resort on which only a total of approximately 360 rooms are made available for overnight guests (in two resorts and one small hotel). Visitors to Lanai, in other words, pretty much have the run of the place. And because the 3000 permanent residents almost all are employed directly (some indirectly) in caring for the visitors, this is a true welcome place where you become part of their Ohana (family) during your stay.

We were pleased with the Lodge. It's certainly not beachfront Hawaii -- although you can see the ocean from the front yard. We've been told that the temperature drops a degree for every 100 foot change in elevation so be prepared for The Lodge to be close to 15 degrees cooler than the beach at Manele Bay. But every half hour there's a shuttle that will get you there for a meal, a walk on the beach, a romp in the surf, or a round of golf. So you really can have it all.

One advantage of The Lodge is that it is only a 3/4 mile walk from the center of town with local restaurants, gift shops, groceries (for your own in room snacks) and even a laundromat.

As noted by others, there are some lapses in the five star treatment due to the Four Seasons incredibly ambitious goal of running top notch resorts with a very small and limited employment base. For instance, we never did discover the arrival gift bag that others spoke about and newspaper delivery was hit and miss (mostly miss). And as for the climate control system, I think you had to remember that that for the Lanaians, an HVAC system consists mainly of opening or closing windows!

Yet overall we have never found staff more genuinely eager to assist and solve any problem. The fact that some of the younger employees seemed quickly out of their league in trying to help was both charming and, frankly, refreshing. And, despite what some others apparently observed, we never noticed that, apart from a couple of experienced waiters, anyone was hustling for tips. Indeed, a few seemed almost embarrassed when we did recognize them with a tip.

So for the opportunity to share in true Hawaiian local culture and hospitality and to experience a pace of life where people are literally walking only half as fast as they do on Waikiki, The Lodge at Koele seems pretty much unbeatable. (And that's without even mentioning the ubiquitous orchids, the charm of the great hall and the acres of manicured grounds.)

And , by the way, I never did figure how you develop a sustainable business plan out of running a town of 3000 people and an island of 165 square miles purely on the income generated by 350 hotel rooms and a few luxury condos and vacation homes. Indeed It's not surprising that Castle and Cooke seem to be trying to develop new revenue streams (aqua farming and wind generation being two current proposals that are stirring up considerable local objection.) So, if I were you, I'd take advantage of this amazing opportunity to visit Lanai in true style and splendor while it's still there. In the new economy that type of opportunity (unfortunately) may not last much longer!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

The staff at the resort are agreeable and always greet you with a smile. We stayed in the garden room deluxe. It was a nice room with lots of space. The only issue we had with the room was the sugar ants. It would have been nice if the staff were more responsive and gave us a different room without ants. Luckily the ants stayed close to the sinks so they were easily avoidable. Otherwise the resort was beautiful and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed at the Four Seasons Lanai, The Lodge, in March and loved it. We were here a few years ago and obvious improvements have been made to the service, a difficult task on Lanai we imagine. The rolling hlls looking out to the ocean is such an interesting alternative to the typical beach experience. Our room was perfect, Four Seasons delivered again. We had come over from Maui and also had a terrific stay at Hotel Wailea, a smaller boutique hotel....not a FS but a great stay on Maui. We rode the ferry to Lanai which was an excellent choice....have fun!

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

The Lodge at Koele is the hidden gem of all hotels in Hawaii. We travel to Hawaii 4 times a year and spend 6+ weeks, and of all the hotels The Lodge at Koele is the best. Sure, we like Hualalai Four Seasons too (who doesn't), but the authenticity, value, and privacy and the Lodge make it our favorite.

The hotel was booked to capacity during our recent stay, and while the hotel is not staffed to meet full capacity, they did their best to meet our (and our extended family) needs.

The golf and food are "expensive", but they are also first rate. The clay shooting facilities are also first rate, and great fun. The beach/Manele is only a short 15 minute ride away, and while it is sunnier at Manele, it does not have the charm of The Lodge.

We have taken the ferry to Lanai 4 times in the past from Maui. This time we flew from Honolulu. The flight from HNL to Lanai was far less hassle and stressful, especially for our family. We will always fly to Lanai in the future.

Aloha.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We came here because this was the chosen location for a wine tasting event which went wonderfully. We knew the package we got for the two nights and air fair was a steal. We knew Lanai would be a lot slower than Oahu but a better term would be much more relaxed. The Lodge is big and beautiful and people are very friendly. The staff which buzz around all day will always give you a pleasant greeting any time you are near. The rooms and service were over the top. The weather in the mornings and evenings tended to be cool and the afternoons very warm. Due to the location near the mountains the clouds will kind of just hang there, this will cause a little misting effect. There seems to be plenty to do for a place that was made to relax in. The golf course was very beautiful and challenging.
There were few negatives, they have a complimentary coffee area that is near the lobby but out of sight of staff to maintain it, so at 7am, which I thought would be earlier than the average person would go there for coffee, the two regular pump pots were dry. The first day we got some one to respond in ten minutes but when I returned for my second cup both pots were empty again, the following morning it was a repeat.
The package that I was a part of was advertised by a radio station but organized by four Seasons at Koele, but there is confusion with the staff because they have separate office to organize the deals and the staff don't have that information, now it is up to each staff member to get the answer and some are not willing.

No internet available in room!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

For better and worse the past reviews are accurate ,with the exception of the one which claims that this is not a good value. Located in the mountains 4seasons koele is not your typical Hawaiian resort. Great rooms, stable, sporting clay, close to Lanai City resturants/shops/museum, resonable shuttle rates for unlimited transpaortation to and from ferry/airport/city/ 4seasonsManele Bay/beach, complimentary chocolates, milk and cookies, stuffed toy horse at check-in, DVDs, game room, gardens, putting games, tennis, lawn bowling, crocquette, kids' camp at Manele Bay, all good.
I didn't find the resturant up to par. My only meal consisted of tempura lobster which left me thinking Coney Island hot dog. Luckily, good food is available in Lanai City. The beds were a bit too soft. The staff tries really hard to please, but didn't respond to my housekeeping request to have the dust removed from the louvre door in the bath.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.