We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike and unbelievable views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Trail

Canyon Trail
Kokee State Park, Waimea, Kauai, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Attractions in Waimea
Type: Hiking Trails, Sports
Activities: Hiking
Attraction details
Midlothian, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great hike and unbelievable views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A great hike but not easy or short. The views are the best and the waterfall very pretty and secluded. The cliffs and drop off are ourageous...if cliff edges bother you, you might want to rethink this trail but it was a fantastic hike with unparalleled views

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    14
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Tougher then the books tell you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Waimea Canyon is a must see on Kauai but be forewarned. Rain can be an issue at any time and the trails can get muddy and slippery. They are also much steeper in certain areas than the guidebooks would suggest. If you intend on doing this hike, very good shoes with vibram soles are recommended and you should only try it if you are in decent physical shape (ie. able to run a 5K). However, the payback in scenery is very rewarding.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Manage expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were expecting much better views at the end of trail. There is only few points where the views are scenic. The lead up to the water fall is average. The trail becomes dangerous and in the hindsight it was a wrong decision for us to go further after the amazing vistas. Do it only if you have exhausted all the other options and keep low expectations.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Canyon Trail to Waipo'o Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I did this hike on a sunny and fairly hot, dry day. I did not go beyond the falls, but the trail does extend beyond the falls to about 3640 feet.

Make sure you bring plenty of water, a hat and wear sturdy shoes or hiking boots. There are many rocks on the trail and if it's wet, beware! It will be very slippery. Frequent rain showers are common in the canyon. It could be perfectly dry and sunny when you start and become rainy during your trek. I am a fairly experienced hiker. I had one hiking pole, a large insulated water bottle, wide brim hat, cell phone, day pack with rain jacket, snacks and hiking boots. I had lunch at the restaurant in Koke'e State Park before my hike so I didn't need the snacks. But you should always be prepared, especially when hiking solo.

I found the hike to be moderate. But it depends on your fitness level. It took me less than hours R\T. That included many stops for pix along the way, about 15 minutes at the falls, and a jog off the main trail on the way back to the Canyon Lookout. When you come to the fork, take the left trail to the Falls and the right fork to the lookout - which is only a few minutes off the trail.

See my review under Waimea Canyon for more details about the hike and the canyon. Enjoy!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Worth the hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Don't forget your water and maybe a snack. The trail is at least moderate if not difficult at times but well worth the trip. When you see a small waterfall to the left, take a right to get to Waipoo Falls. We were fooled by the small falls to the left. Enjoy!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Trail also viewed

 

Been to Canyon Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.