We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth stopping for this Shaved Ice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jo Jo's Shave Ice

Jo Jo's Shave Ice
5 Pokole Road, Waimea, Kauai, HI 96796
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Waimea
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Worth stopping for this Shaved Ice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Jo-Jo's serves an amazing array of shaved ice from a colorful shack in Waimea. As you step inside and your eyes adjust to the darkness, you eventually find the hand-made menus off to the right side. Even though it is just a small shack, much of the interior space is vacant with empty fixtures and no one seemed to be there. Just as I began to wonder if it still deserves the reputation for being the best shaved ice on the island and was about to turn around, the server came from out of the back. He was friendly and easy-going as I begin read and debate which ice to try. Thankfully, the long menu of flavors includes suggestions of their most popular ices. We split the Tropical rainbow which was refreshing and abundant, and came with a scoop of macadamia nut ice cream at the bottom. There is no place to sit inside, however, there are a couple benches out front. Added bonus -- They also have a selection of local funny chicken & rooster-based cards which I also bought. Local tees and other souvenir items are for sale as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    19
    4
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favorite Shave Ice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was my favorite shave ice on Kauai. We visited on our way back from Waimea canyon. After staying on the east side of the island, visiting the west was so nice and warm. This place is tiny, but so tasty. I thought the flavors were a little more authentic here, not just sickly sweet syrup. It's within walking distance to the beach too, so we strolled down to the ocean to eat our shave ice. Highly recommend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice treat on a hot day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Lived up to its reputation. Funky place with lots of available combinations of shave ice. The portions are generous and tasty. Highly recommend the haupia.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cool treat in Waimea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Try it - refreshing, cool and tasty - Jo Jo's is but a shack, quite quirky and drab inside - hand written signs etc. But the shave ice and the varieties of flavors will beat the heat! We enjoyed it....there are even a couple of outdoor benches.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gret shave ice, place is goofy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Like the blue guidebook says, this is seriously fantastic shave ice--our favorite, and one we made two trips to from Lihue. It's a goofy little place, kind if junky, with lots of Bob Marleyesque-ness (you'll know what I mean when you get there). Best shave ice and biggest portion of ice cream underneath. My favorite was the colada variety one with Mac nut ice cream. Wait was always short but its not exactly an assembly line, so expect waits just like Hee Fat. Unlike Hee Fat, you will NOT want to share.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jo Jo's Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Jo Jo's Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jo Jo's Shave Ice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.