We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waimea Canyon

Waimea Canyon
Koke'e Road, Waimea, Kauai, HI 96752
808-274-3344
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Waimea Canyon like an insider
Private Tour
$234*
and up
Private Tour: Kauai Sightseeing Adventure with...
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Driving, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "The Grand Canyon of the Pacific," Waimea Canyon is 10 miles long and 3,600 feet deep.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

What a beautiful sight!! We were lucky and the day was clear. It is well worth the trip. We actually thought this "Grand Canyon of the Pacific" more beautiful than the other Grand Canyon. The colors were vibrant and all views from the top were amazing! This is a must see if you are on Kauai!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,879
    329
    40
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Have to see it to believe it! Breathtaking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We got lucky and had a totally clear day. Can't really describe how awesome the views were. A good perspective is to imagine you're hundreds of feet higher than the Empire State Bldg looking down on one of natures most spectacular creations. The cliffs, valleys, ocean, all in one view.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Try go on a clear day - although that's quite hard when the main lookouts are the wettest places on earth..! We drove up and stopped about 4 times on the way up at the main lookouts and on the side of the road. Once at the top, we were completely covered in cloud, but this passed in about 15 minutes to reveal the beauty underneath.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

this is quite the drive up to top to view the canyon but it is worth the drive make sure you check then weather before going because if it's cloudy or foggy it will be a bust you wont see anything. my advice is to go right to the top first and then do the stops on the way back down there are walking paths and a lot of hiking you can do at the top .. we didn't do that but you can .. we really loved the view

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Beautiful view of the Canyon and waterfall. Use caution when it rains, as it gets a little difficult to see the road in a downpour.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waimea Canyon also viewed

 

Been to Waimea Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waimea Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.