We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so bad if you're prepared” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kokee Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waimea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kokee Lodge
Save
You added Kokee Lodge to your Saves list
Box 819, Kokee State Park, Mile Marker 15, Waimea, Kauai, HI 96796   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waimea
Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not so bad if you're prepared”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

As many others have said the condition of the cabins is poor; nothing has been repaired or replaced in decades it seems. Plan to eat simply, bring cereal, milk, canned goods, snacks, coffee, coffee filter and holder, and basically anything you might need in the kitchen, Assume it is not equipped. Bring salt and pepper, can opener, paper plates etc. If you're okay with this, you'll be okay. There is a restaurant that is open for breakfast and lunch and is quite good. We would save half our lunch there to eat later for dinner. It's too bad it closes so early as it would have been nice to stop in later for a glass of wine in front of their fire.
The lighting in the cabin was poor. We could not have both read if not for a kindle book reader. We did make ourselves at home pretty quickly and enjoyed our daily routine. Their wood is poor. Bring some from town. We rolled up newspaper smeared with peanut butter to get the fire started, It was always a challenge. You do need a fire. (We were there in December.)
I was nervous about the road up and down and we made a point of making sure we were back in the cabin before dark. This was not necessary, though. The road was beautifully maintained and the markers in the middle and on the sides lit it up like a runway at night (the one time we came back late) and there was very little traffic after dark, so that was okay. Great to be up there. Fantastic rain at night on the tin roof. We'd go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    10
    10
    16
See reviews for
13
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

In the middle of Kokee State Park and the almost the only one reachable by car makes this camp clear winner. On top of that, there are cabins with hot shower. Yes, cabins are not the newest. (Some new ones are in construction, though) Yes, walls are thin. No wonder, that visitor must start fireplace, especially in winter season. Do not forget to buy warm socks and wood in Waimea. It could get really cold. But this is a part of its charm. Breakfast in the main house is great, really home – made and filling. Pity, they close at 4 p.m. so one cannot enjoy big fireplace in the bar area, sipping one whisky after exhausting track. And that is the reason why to come here - fantastic trails with even better views. Starting from easy to really demanding ones. Swamps or mountains – just pick the right one for you. Good map (available in local store) helps a lot. Make sure, you have good shoes with you; trails are rocky, slippery, muddy and so on. We were here happy and I will always recommend this. You can’t separate Kokee Lodge from its location. And if you are looking for four star accommodation with room service (why not), it’s definitely a wrong decision to book a cabin here.

Room Tip: Take some wood from Waimea and a bottle of red vine with you. Sipping hot vine after exhausting trai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just stayed at the Lodge at Kokee for the past two nights and wanted to dispel some of the harsh words written here by others. The place is great.

Much like what others have said, the cabins are rustic, but clean and well stocked with what you will need. It is obviously not luxury, but you're camping for crying out loud... The nights do get cold but the fireplace rocks the heat. (If you come in after 4, after the Lodge closes, be sure to buy wood in Waimea or you may get cold...)

The appliances worked great too, the showers were clean and hot (a necessity after a mud, rain 8 miler...)

You may want to bring earplugs because of the roosters.

Don't be dissuaded, the place is romantic and cozy. You will not need to write with complaints to The Ministry of Tourism...

Aloha

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We needed a budget place to spend a second night in Koke'e SP after camping the first night. Since it's impossible to book a second night's permit on the fly for camping we looked into this option. It worked but I sure wouldn't want to spend my whole vacation here. We heat soley with wood at home and know how to operate a woodstove. But my husband struggled that night & the next morning to keep a fire lit. We chose our cabin based on the fact we would be able to sleep next to the stove and since it was January at elevation it was 50* inside and out. Barely stayed warm after buying two buckets of their firewood. No idea what kind of wood it was or dry but no choices. It was definitely all about the location and being inside out of the rain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

No phone. No TV. No frills. No stress.
A fireplace. Amazing surroundings. The chickens. It's Kauai...at elevation.
Wake in the morning with the fog and head to the top of the Na'Pali canyon for amazing views with your coffee. Head out on incredible (some are taxing) hikes.
Great for families, I would think...the cabin's little kitchen makes it easy to self-cater. There is an amazing market before you come up into the Wimea Canyon area...great Poke on tuesdays!! Ishihara! Great grab-n-go and ready food...as well as groceries.
Man, I love this island!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed here a while ago with my family. I don't know if it's improved at all but this was the worst 'hotel' we've ever stayed in. My family couldn't even deal with it, we lasted one night then had to check into our next hotel early the next day. The shower didn't work, was rusty, the shower floor was dirty and gross. the bedding/towels were dirty. Webs everywhere. The kitchen taps barely worked. The scenery is really nice but not much to do. If you don't mind dirt and rust and you're there for the nature you should be fine, if your high maintenance you won't enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We chose to stay here because we had limited time in the park and wanted to near the hiking trails. We also didn't want to pay hundreds of dollars for a room. We couldn't have been happier with what we got. Yes, its basic. The cabin is rustic, the beds are unmade when you arrive, it might not be perfectly clean (though certainly not disgusting or anything unbearable). But its your own cabin, with a fridge and cooking facilities, in the middle of what feels like nowhere. There are deck chairs so you can sit outside, the kitchen is spartan but enough to cook your own meal (stove, a few pans, spatula, eating utensils etc) and you're walking distance or a short drive from great hiking trails. Given that, and how expensive everything in nearby towns was (and all with minimum stays) we thought this was a great deal and would stay here again in a second.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kokee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokee Lodge

Address: Box 819, Kokee State Park, Mile Marker 15, Waimea, Kauai, HI 96796
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Waimea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Kokee Hotel Waimea
Kokee Lodge Waimea, Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokee Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.