We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 x 4 recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Polihale State Park

Polihale State Park
Off Kaumuali'i Highway, Hwy 50, Waimea, Kauai, HI 96796
808-587-0400
Improve this listing
Visit Polihale State Park like an insider
$159*
and up
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historical state beach park with breathtaking views and landscape.
Federal Way, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“4 x 4 recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The dirt road in was dry so our 2 wheel drive rental did just fine. The water is not for swimming, but wading is fine. The sand is a bit deep and somewhat difficult to walk in. The beauty of this place is true paradise. There is a covered picnic area with bathrooms and shower.f

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    58
    16
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We visited Queen's Pond in Polihale State Park twice during our week on Kauai July 2013. My 8 year old son learned to snorkel in Queen's Pond (area of the ocean protected by a reef). Seemed like we drove 5 miles down a red dirt road (with lots of potholes)...we drove at 10mph and it took 30 minutes in a car, but it was totally worth it! There weren't a lot of people there and seemed like half were locals. Perfect beach, perfect view, perfect swimming and snorkeling while we were there. Great view of mountains. Absolutely loved it. My favorite beach ever and I cannot wait to return. The 2nd time we visited we rented a 4 wheel drive vehicle and it was much easier getting there. No food available. Take lunch, lots of water, beach umbrella would be nice (no shade). Sand was very hot...wear shoes. Take snorkeling equipment. No bathroom at Queen's Pond area. We did not drive the 4wd on the beach...we did see two 4wd vehicles stuck in the sand.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex County, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dangerously beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I ventured out in our 4WD rental car to Polihale in search of a remote escape. As many others have said, the road is arduous: bumpy, narrow, and can be downright dangerous. Use plenty of caution while navigating, unless you don't mind being stranded off the beaten path :)

After a slow 20 minute drive, we soon knew it was worth it when we were greeted by the watery blue horizon and the heights of the Na Pali Coast. The beach was very quiet and we felt as though we were truly in paradise - you know, when your eyes, heart and mind are fully relaxed and elated at the same time :)

NB: be VERY careful of the riptide here. I'm a modest swimmer and soon found myself caught in one. Having difficulty finding my way out, I had to be assisted to safety by a very skilled and selfless local (mahalo niu loa, Jackie). She was one of the (very few) others on the beach at that time. It could have turned out very badly.

That being said, we would return again without hesitation. It's just that gorgeous.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Out there, but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our favorite beach of the trip. Beautiful water, great sand, perfect Na Pali Coast backdrop.
We spent most of an afternoon here, and would love to have returned.
It takes some doing to get there, including a long, rutted dirt road. We drove a rental 4x4 Jeep Wrangler, and witnessed three flat tires during the drive in and out (one local, two rentals). It is a little tedious, but worth it.
There were a fair number of people there on the beach, but it didn't feel overrun. The waves were great for bodysurfing and the water is very clear. We did not swim at the "safe" beach, and while there was current we did not think it extreme.
My favorite beach in Kauai.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best swimming beach on the island in January!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The rental car company doesn't allow you to take your rental car there but just drive slow and park on the road and don't drive your car into the dirt road going to the beach or you will probably get stuck. But once you are there, you will find a beach that's protected by a large reef that's excellent for swimming during the winter months. Lots of locals with families who cook out and drive right onto the beach. And unlike other beaches there's lots of open space and room. Beautiful water & the best time we had!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polihale State Park also viewed

 

Been to Polihale State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polihale State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.