We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miles and Miles of white sand and sun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polihale State Park

Polihale State Park
Off Kaumuali'i Highway, Hwy 50, Waimea, Kauai, HI 96796
808-587-0400
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #3 of 17 attractions in Waimea
Type: Beaches, State Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A historical state beach park with breathtaking views and landscape.
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Miles and Miles of white sand and sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a jeep, but any rental car can get there on a bumpy dirt road. The beach is HUGE. Not for letting kids play in the surf--very rough, high, and dangerous. NO lifeguards. Beautiful--bring picnic supplies and enjoy the best of uncrowded beaches

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    44
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beyond the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The road here is slow and bumpy but worth the drive to see this spectacular beach and coastline. The waves were quite strong making this a not so friendly beach for swimming. Plan to spend the day and to bring all that you need in terms of water, food, lotions, etc as there are no convenience stores. Those with 4 WD can drive onto the beach, which to me is unnatural, yet for others is a plus. This is one Kauai beach that I will return to.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Highlight of my Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

So worth the drive out. The road really wasn't that bad. I was hitting 30mph on some parts in my economy rental car. I took the right at the tree where the facilities are and there was a great parking area, no sand = no problems. Yeah it took a while to get out there but I enjoyed the scenery. There were not many people out there as we watched the sun set. The views were amazing and I was so glad I made it out there. If you go to Kauai, don't skip this.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Best Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Ok the beach is unswimmable, but it has a long gorgeous strech of sand and I can vouch that we saw the best sunset from here! It was worth the drive on the dirt track roads. The beach was pretty much secluded so made a lovely romantic spot!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful but unswimmable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Definitely worth the drive if you're on that side of the island, because it's gorgeous, but since you can't swim there it's more of an excursion than full day trip. The rental car companies say you can't drive there but everyone does it anyway. The road is bumpy but definitely doable in even a compact as long as you go slowly and carefully.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polihale State Park also viewed

 

Been to Polihale State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polihale State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Polihale State Park to your Saves list