We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Beautiful view from J3!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sealodge at Princeville

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Princeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sealodge at Princeville
Save
You added Sealodge at Princeville to your Saves list
3700 Kamehameha Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful view from J3!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay in Sealodge J3. The unit is not luxurious, but it is practical. We were plenty comfortable there. Our small lanai had a gorgeous view of the ocean. Our living room had a view of the ocean, the coast, the lighthouse and the golf course.

The breeze was pretty strong while we were there, so the unit was cool without any air-conditioning. Unfortunately, it was too breezy to do my studying outside. I wanted to sleep with the windows open, but I didn't feel safe that way since this was the ground floor. We did manage to secure a couple windows with a small opening. I loved listening to the waves overnight.

We did not cook, but used the refrigerator, dishes and dishwasher. Nothing great, but we found what we needed. There was plenty of dishwasher detergent, soap, and paper towels. We also used the clothes washer and dryer. There was soap for 3 loads, I believe. The dryer was very noisy and needed a new lint screen, but it worked!

The bathroom is small. The shower curtain had mildew on it. That is not a deal breaker for me because my shower curtain occasionally gets mildew here in Houston. An item like that probably needs to be replaced at least a couple times a year, and washed often since this place is rented out.

Don't expect luxurious furniture, towels, etc. But like I said, it was all practical or functional. The bed and furniture were comfortable enough. The decor was beach and Hawaiian. There were guide books which are very helpful. There were games, if you have time to stay in. But we were busy driving out to beaches and meals.

Room Tip: Look for a map of the property to check out the view from your unit. J3 was very close to the cliff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    76
    32
    17
    11
See reviews for
43
189
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The view and location is unbeatable for the price! I also loved having a washer and dryer in the unit, especially with all the dirty hiking clothes that seemed to accumulate. However, on the first night we found a dead gecko next to the couch with what appeared to be mop marks over its body. Also found many dead bugs all around the apt. It appeared that they had been killed by cleaning solution but never swept up, just mopped over. Then we found a live cockaroach in the bathroom. All on the first night!! We booked this condo for 5 nights and only stayed 4 because it wasnt exactly relaxing being on roach patrol. Overall, great location and views but next time, I'd pick a different unit, hopefully a cleaner one!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob t, Owner at Sealodge at Princeville, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
I'm sorry for your experience. I am quite confused? I'm not quite sure if you reviewed the correct unit. We stayed there in January and stayed 10 days. We just spent 20k updating the unit with a new granite kitchen and bathroom counters, new washer, dryer, fridge, dishwasher and new kitchen cabinets, queen size bed, ceiling fan, linens, tv and a whole lot more. We checked in and the place was spotless. We saw your review while we were on Island and checked with the management company. They said no way it could be dirty since the owner of the company also owns the cleaning company and has a great reputation. Can you confirm that you stayed in h4 and not another unit in the complex?

Thank you
Rob and Cathy Thielke
Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just returned from our 2nd trip to the Sealodge condos near Princeville on Kauai. Although our condo itself was more functional than luxurious I would stay there again in a heartbeat for the exceptional views provided by the cliff top location. Just stunning!

Room Tip: Top floor of D building is quiet and private although there are a few stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, Utah, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have read the other reviews and believe most accurately describe the Sealodge condos. My advice...read ALL the reviews and decide for yourself if this works for you. For us it was perfect! And just remember EVERY unit is different!

We stayed in unit D5 on the second floor (stairs are a bit steep...15 of them...). We were looking on VRBO originally but ended up renting thru a company. www.parrishkauai.com. They rented it out in behalf of the owners and have 3 units that they rent out at the Sealodge. It turned out to be an excellent choice for us as we had a misunderstanding about something at the unit and they bent over backwards making it right with us. We felt like they would have backed us up on any issue we were unhappy with. They were a great source of information about the island also.

Our unit the view could not have been more spectacular! We loved everything about the view from the bedroom, lanai, and the dining room windows. The unit was perfect for us as a couple and caught the breeze all the time. The condos definitely feels like an 80s condo in Hawaii...but we didn't mind. The disadvantage is the floors are thin and you can hear movement upstairs. The Sealodge is at the end of the road though which made it nice for quiet...no traffic. Also, they have some people actually living in some units so they encourage quiet hours from 8:00 pm to 7:00 am--which we appreciated greatly.

My advice...I would not do a ground floor unit or a unit by the pool because of noise and security...you have to have the windows open to stay cool. There is no air conditioning in this unit...which we did not feel we ever needed--but windows open does let noise in. We enjoyed hearing the waves and breeze and an occasional rooster....but bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper!

Again, find out all you can about the actual unit you are staying in...all are different...make sure you see pictures and that you see what your view is out your window. Also, ours provided shampoo, paper towels, dishwasher soap, etc. Also beach chairs and binoculars.

The BBQ is just a place to put charcoal but is a nice little secluded spot...wish they would put a propane grill there.

The beach here isn't much but we had fun snorkling the shallows and then spent other days exploring all the other beaches on Kauai. The drive further north is so fun and short...we did it every day hitting different places along the way.

We did have a few sugar ants around the sink...I have actually just made it a policy of whenever we arrive at a place to immediately load the dishwasher with all dishes we will use and turn it on...we then use the dishes out of the dishwasher and have no worries about critters in the cupboards. We also keep ALL food...even dry goods in fridge. This is just one of those things that come along with a tropical island...

The washer and dryer in this unit was very handy and I washed our own towels and dishcloths halfway thru the week.

We really ended up really happy here. We couldn't have been more pleased with our view of the beautiful ocean and would stay in this unit again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: An ocean view room is a must! Top floor units would be the most quiet...bottom floors less private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

You couldn't ask for a better view than this lovely condo! Furnishing a little dated ("like my grandma's Florida condo in the 80's"), but very comfortable. The unit was perfect for a couple. The many windows set up a cross breeze that cooled the unit down perfectly. The lanai was windy, but the sitting area facing the ocean was almost as good as sitting outside, without the wind and rain! The snorkeling and beach gear was very convenient.

On the negative side, there was no coffee, no sugar, and no soap or shampoo for the shower. Also, the sheets were very musty/ mildewy. Maybe this is because they hadn't been used recently (the air was very humid and everything had a dampish feel), but I suspect housekeeping got impatient and put the sheets back on before they were completely dry. Fortunately with the quiet in-unit washer and dryer it was easy to wash the sheets, and subsequent nights were more comfortable!

Bottom line, we would stay here again in a second: this is a great budget condo with a great view, but a few more basics would be welcome (coffee!!).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just read a bad review on this unit. My wife and I stayed here recently, and couldn't have had a more different experience. We felt compelled to write a more balanced evaluation.

Sealodge in general is a great collection of eclectic condos on the cliff top overlooking the ocean. The views are spectacular day and night. It's also quiet, being located on a dead end street.

Unit F4 is on the first floor (NO stairs), next to the pool. We enjoyed the proximity, and swam there almost every day. If there were people at the pool, and we wanted privacy, we simply put down the blinds. However, there is a fairly tall wall around the pool, so it wasn't much of an issue.

It was hot in the condo at times (weather was over 90 degrees), so we opened the windows, and used the floor and ceiling fans. That, with the fairly constant sea breeze, worked fine and kept us comfortable.

The unit was clean and tidy. Some of the furniture was slightly worn, but nothing unexpected in a rental unit. Everything we needed was supplied, including beach chairs and towels, cooler and freezer packs, BBQ tools, and all the kitchen equipment we needed. Washer and dryer were in the unit.

We only communicated with the owners via email, but they were prompt with their replies, and even gave us advice on restaurants and local beaches.

We felt the price was very fair for what we got, especially in Hawaii. We would recommend this unit without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

This place is off the hook! Quiet in unit laundry. Almost 180 deg view of ocean inside unit. Property is beautiful and clean. There is a Secret beach trail that's not too daunting like reviews say. Small but has everything needed for a relaxing stay! Also the last plus is it has top of the line cooking utensils is knives and kitchen is fully equipped if you like to cook.!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sealodge at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sealodge at Princeville

Address: 3700 Kamehameha Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breath taking views. 1 Bedroom 1 bath with a sleeper sofa. Sleeps 4. The unit has recently been updated with new kitchen and bathroom granite counter tops, new appliances, fresh paint , tv and much more. You will not be disappointed. Sealodge beach is a 5 minute walk down the hill. Swim, snorkel, and watch whales from your private patio. Historic Hanalei town is just a 10 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sealodge At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Sealodge Kauai
Sealodge At Princeville Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sealodge at Princeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.