We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Great View! D6” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sealodge at Princeville

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Princeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sealodge at Princeville
Save
You added Sealodge at Princeville to your Saves list
3700 Kamehameha Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great View! D6”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights of our Honeymoon in unit D6. The condo provided all of the amenities of home with a fully stocked kitched with all of the usual things you would find in your own home kitchen. This upper corner unit looks out onto the ocean to the north and the patio looks out to the east facing the lighthouse. The sunrises are very pretty from the large bedroom windows. It is great to hear the ocean waves crashing at night while going to sleep. The unit itself had fairly updated furnishings with hardwood floors, flat screen TV and a Blu ray player. There is a path to a secluded beach that takes about ten to fifteen minutes to get to. There are lots of warning signs about the path being dangerous but it is not any different from the beach paths on the rest of the island. You will have to navigate some steps and large rocks but nothing extreme. We were very happy with our stay and would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: There are pictures of the different units on their website and appear in real life as portrayed in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    76
    32
    17
    11
See reviews for
43
189
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed in J4 and it was an excellent condo with wonderful views from every room and from the back patio. It was well furnished and had many little extras such as towels and chairs for the beach, boogie boards, a blender, tin foil and a small patio table with chairs. Our only issue with the unit was that the bed and pillows had a slight odor. Overall we loved it and wish we could have stayed much longer!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Unit E-4. I searched long and hard - reading every trip advisor review, making sure I had a good room. We really enjoyed the room. The views were great, the little patio was great - we saw whales! There were 2 great VHS tapes - South Pacific and Jurassic Park - we were so glad we watched them before going on the helicopter ride. Very nice touch to have them - but it would be nice to have DVDs - the films were getting old and had a few problems. Quibbling, I know. Beach towels and 2 beach chairs and a mat were provided -very nice to have those. Washer and dryer in the unit were great - new and very very quiet! The whole complex in fact was very quiet. A few downside things that stop me from giving this place a rating of 5. (I would give it a 4.5 if I could ) First, there is a musty smell at some places but not all over the apartment - even after airing out. Second - a little welcome basket of coffee, tea, sugar would have really been helpful since we got in late the first night. Also - no aluminum foil, saran wrap, etc. So - if you are going to get this room - be forewarned to bring your own of these little amenities. Third - the dishwasher is old, hard to fit anything in to, loud, and is not quite bolted in - so when you open the door - the door drops down kind of heavy. Fourth - volume on the TV is very low. I think this might be on purpose because as I said before, the whole complex is very quiet. But we had to sit on the floor in front of the TV to hear it. All of these are really small and we very much liked the room and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

The condos VARY DRAMATICALLY IN QUALITY - MAKE SURE YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE GETTING! This is a review for Hestera managed condos E2 and A8.

We spent a lot of time researching these condos and based on the online photos and description we expected a nice, clean, and well appointed unit. We arrived (at E2) to find a mildewy odor to accompany the 1980's decor that had clearly not been updated in 20+ years. The carpet was stained, the couch and chairs were discolored and dirty, the dusty curtains were hanging off the rod, there was mold in the bathtub, and I could go on. Though the view was spectacular, we were extremely disappointed and felt we had been deceived.

We contacted the management group (Hestera) by email to see if another unit would be available and received a prompt reply. Early the next day, we checked out A8 and found it to be nearly the polar opposite of E2. New furniture, tile floors, clean and modern amenities. Though it was a slightly more expensive unit, Hestera agreed to let us switch with no added cost. The woman (Geri Hestera) we dealt with was mildly rude and unapologetic. Had we arrived in A8 originally, we would have given the place a much higher rating but have trouble doing so given our initial experience.

We got lucky - had another unit NOT been available, we would have been extremely unhappy and our vacation would have been somewhat ruined.

From what we can tell, these condos all have different owners and are in VERY different conditions. The online photos and descriptions are not a reliable indicator - it would be worth asking specific questions about how recently things have been updated.

On a positive note, we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay in A8. The views are spectacular and it is a pleasure to hear the constant crashing of the waves just outside our windows. The cost was very reasonable. There is a nice trail down to a secluded beach from Sealodge property and the north shore in general has been a great place to be because it is more lush and secluded. We were also able to make use of sleeping bags and a tent that were provided (from E2) for a backpacking trip up the Kalalau trail.

We would come here again, but we would make sure we got this specific unit (A8) or something comparable if we did.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask how recently the unit was updated. A8 is really nice, E2 is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Amazing views, great location, very clean... We felt at home in this place. The trail to the beach is very tropical and the beach was awesome. Limited but good snorkeling area at the beach. Loved the close access to hanalei and Kilauea.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed in A8 and F7,both excellent. Sealodge is the best value on the North Shore. You need to do research on these units because all are differently furnished. A 8 and F7 have recently been remodled and it is totally upgraded, others are not. This is the best location, ocean view great snorkling at Sealodge beach and NOT crowded. Close to everything, pool and the best Ocean views around for the price around $150/night and up. Excellent excellent

Room Tip: Units on 3rd level the best, units on 1st floor, do your research on. The best units are in Bldg. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband and I booked this place based on the two good reviews and after rereading them we came to the conclusion that the owners must have written them. The "Not impressed" review hit the nail on the head. The place is flithy, especially the bathroom, where my husband met a 6 inch long centipede (luckily, he was not stung/bitten). Unfortunately, the place has not been cleaned or aired out recently so there is a strong moldy smell and too much moisture in the place so that everything dry becomes wet. On the flip side, there are amazing views and a rooster visited the back porch, but roosters are the norm here so not at all that impressive. The vacation meant a lot to us, so we decided to spend the money and double book for a hotel for the remaining part of our stay (most of the vacation).

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sealodge at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sealodge at Princeville

Address: 3700 Kamehameha Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breath taking views. 1 Bedroom 1 bath with a sleeper sofa. Sleeps 4. The unit has recently been updated with new kitchen and bathroom granite counter tops, new appliances, fresh paint , tv and much more. You will not be disappointed. Sealodge beach is a 5 minute walk down the hill. Swim, snorkel, and watch whales from your private patio. Historic Hanalei town is just a 10 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sealodge At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Sealodge Kauai
Sealodge At Princeville Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sealodge at Princeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.