We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pali Ke Kua was fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pali Ke Kua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pali Ke Kua to your Saves list
Pali Ke Kua
5300 Ka Haku Road, Hanalei, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% TripAdvisor Discount
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pali Ke Kua was fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2005

We stayed in unit 101 for our honeymoon last month. The unit was wonderful. We really felt like we were at home. We saw the most beautiful sunsets from our patio. The view was unbeatable. We spent a week there and it wasn't enough. We'd love to go back!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    51
    14
    14
    8
See reviews for
47
93
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2005

Every night the sunset was even more beautiful than the one before! We were there for 7 glorious nights and can not wait to go back.

I would, however, NOT recommend the walk down the killer slope to the rocky beach!! Save your legs and breath and drive to Hanalei Beach. It's nice and sandy!!

The entire Princeville area is gorgeous!! I highly recommend the Bali Hai restaurant!! Sabella's was very good as well!!

We enjoyed our honeymoon there immensley and look forward to being back for our anniversary!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, Usa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2005

My girlfriend and I spent three wonderful nights in Unit 201. It was excellent. The view from the lanai and living room was wonderful, on the ocean and views of the Napali Coast. We paid for a one-bedroom condo but got this 2-bed, 2-bath large condo on the second floor plus a rental car in a package booked directly through the condo operating company. This corner unit was next to the road, but it was quiet in the evenings and at night. Also, we had views of the mountains from the bedroom, which was really nice.

Check in and check out were fast and efficient. The room was clean with all of the essentials, including many things that hotels do not have (such as washer and dryer). We would absolutely stay here again, it was the highlight of our trip. The place was clean, the only possible negative was that the furniture was a bit old and not to my taste, but that was minor. I paid about $225 per night, which included the rental car.

Interestingly, the unit next door was for sale (unit 202 I think). The asking price was $1.4 million if I recall correctly. A wonderful property - you won't be disappointed if you are looking for a nice, comfortable, quiet place with excellent views. It was great to be able to cook dinners in the kitchen, we had fresh fish every day.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2005

It's nearly impossible to overstate the physical beauty of Kauai. The longing to actually live here seems to creep up on you after a few short days. With a cozy little haven like Pali Ke Kua awaiting us at the end of the day, my husband and I felt like we did live here. For eight wonderful nights in July, Pali Ke Kua #10 was our home. Pali Ke Kua is an easy drive north from the Lihue airport. When you reach Princeville, turn right at the European style fountain. You can't miss it. Our unit was a "garden view". I, too, read reviews concerning upstairs noise after we'd booked. But the garden views are free-standing units, with high, A-frame exposed beam ceilings and a second story loft. Number 10 is an end unit, which means extra privacy. The view consisted of lush green mountains with waterfalls visible after the rain, swaying palm trees, and a variety of native birds including egrets. If you stand outside the front of #10, it's a two-minute walk to the top of the cliff and ocean below. We watched the sunset from the same spot each night, outside the upstairs/downstairs ocean view units. Everyone had their doors open, and there were many children. It was at times quite noisy. So, we didn't have an ocean view per se, but I would not have traded our privacy, quiet, and space for the view. The unit was about 900-1000 square feet with a large living area, kitchen, dining area, bedroom and bathroom suite downstairs and a trundle bed and large bathroom with shower upstairs. Four normal-sized (the upstairs bed is a little small) adults could peacefully co-exist here. The condo has pretty island decor, cable TV and a DVD player, a fully equipped kitchen (we cooked every day) and a washer and dryer (used it every day). The water pressure in the showers is great, there are coolers and beach chairs here, a generous number of towels, and the usual condo games and books. This unit was clean and well-maintained, but it's the TROPICS, so a wee bit of mildew is normal. There's no AC, but you won't need it. Cool ocean breezes come through at night. There were also geckos keeping us company. Geckos = no bugs! We did not see a single insect inside the condo at any time. Pali Ke Kua is in a location convenient to everything on the North Shore. The Princeville shopping center (Foodland grocery) is less than a mile away, but the grocery store ten minutes down the highway in Hanalei has better prices. Many popular beaches are a short drive from here. On site, the Pali Ke Kua pool and hot tub area was clean and spacious. You won't even notice if diners are present at the restaraunt next door. There's also beach access via a path intended for Pali Ke Kua tenants only. The path to Hideaways Beach is paved, but if you're in less than average shape, it's a challenging climb. My husband and I are both in great shape, and were winded on the walk back up. Take your time, use the strategically placed benches to rest, and you'll be fine. It's worth it. Invest in some reef shoes the first day and you'll really enjoy this beach. It's gravelly, not sandy, with stunning views and black lava rocks. The scenery from every vantage point at Pali Ke Kua is breathtaking. Don't be surprised if a nene (the state bird, looks like a goose) comes running up to you looking for a handout. It's just part of the island charm at Pali Ke Kua.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2005

We just got back from our fabulous trip to Kauai. We stayed at the Pali Ke Kua condos which was a package deal with our flights. We were a little apprehensive as to what they would be like. Especially since we were getting a "mountain view" and not the ocean view. We were so pleasantly surprised when we walked in to our condo. The view was spectacular, and we even had a little bit of ocean view! The condos are very clean and nicely decorated. We were in unit #16. Our whole family loved the condo and Kauai. We can't wait to go back.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2005

We stayed in unit 207 and rented through the owner(s) from vrbo. This transaction took place last year and now the price has increased.

Spectacular lanai view to the ocean below. The dishes, silverware and pots and pans were nice and sufficient for cooking. There is toaster, rice cooker, etc. There were 3 boogie boards in the closet that my children used. They also had two old aluminum beach chairs that we carried down to Hideaways Beach below and other beaches. Ours is an end unit and the dining room has window views to the beach and grounds. Unit was clean and all appliances, lights, etc were in working order. We enjoyed breakfasts on the lanai and saw rainbows a few mornings. Sunsets can be seen on the lanai but we usually walked down to the beach or half way to the pavilion. The pool is clean. It is just a simple rectangular pool with a small hot tub. The hot tub at first looked unclean but at close up it seems like the dark spots were cracks. It is clean and functional though. I did not like the fact that the pool is below Sabellas restaurant. However, in the afternoon that is not a problem since there were no diners. There were only about 4 other people maximum at the pool.

I walked around the property and noticed that some garden units (2 per building) were dark, especially the one below the restaurant.

I liked our building 2 since besides having oceanview, we also have the palm trees.

The path to the beach below is steep but paved, except the last 20 steps, walking up maybe a problem for some. The beach is a little rocky but a great snorkeling beach, especially in the morning. With low tide in the morning, you can walk around the rock area to the western side of the beach, which is much more sandy. However, in the afternoon, the west side seems to have waves that washed up to most of the beach. That was not a problem with the east side right below the condo. I think Kee Beach and the condo's beach (Hideaways) are very good snorkeling beaches (have not snorkeled Makua Beach) and are much better than Hanauma Bay. At waist deep, fishes can be seen and water clarity is better than Lydgate Beach Park.

Negatives: pillows were a little on the soft side. Shower is showing wear (some dark grouts), but still clean. We sometimes can faintly hear the downstairs unit's TV. I am glad we picked an upstairs unit after reading here and on Fodors that downstairs unit can hear everything upstairs.
View was fantastic but there was mosquitos problem. Right before sunset and when it gets dark or early in the morning, you cannot sit on the lanai without mosquito spray. We did not anticipate this and did not buy any citronella candles from Walmart until it's too late.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wooster.,oh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2005

We stayed at the Pali Ke Kua for 7 nights in May. The view from our condo, #127 was absolutely breathtaking. Our condo was spacious and clean. There were bamboo beach mats, games and books available in the room. We liked the location on the north end of the island because it is not the busy tourist mecca the south of the island is. But shopping is very close.
The pool and hot tub were fine. We did not try Sabella's Restaurant located on the property, however we strongly recommend breakfast at the Bali Hai....another stunning view.
Our only complaint was that when people moved into the condo above us half way through the week, we could hear more than we cared to, toilet flushing, children running, etc.
I would not hesitate to return to the Pal Ke Kua, but I would stay in a second floor condo next time.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pali Ke Kua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pali Ke Kua

Address: 5300 Ka Haku Road, Hanalei, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pali Ke Kua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pali Ke Kua Hotel Princeville
Pali Ke Kua Princeville, Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pali Ke Kua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.