We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lapperts Ice Cream

Lapperts Ice Cream
Kuhio Hwy, Princeville Shopping Center, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
808-826-7393
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Boulder
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Yes, unless you go at 10am there will be a line, and it's in a kind of crappy little shopping center so you're usually just standing out in the middle of everyone's way while you're waiting to order... BUT ITS SO GOOD! Their are lots of uniquely Hawaiian flavors which I love. Also if you're here for a while/have a big family make sure to get a punch card for a free ice cream.
We had great service all the times we came to this location, friendly and talkative!
Can't say anything about the coffee because, yes, we did get ice cream at 10am :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    90
    26
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

So, in my opinion, not worth the price. It is ok ice cream, Seriously, walk to the foodland, buy edie's ice cream and it will be cheaper and last you longer. Not impressed. The salty caramel was too salty. The chocolate ice cream was icey. The cone was good, though.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great ice cream but poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This place is always busy. The choices are somewhat limited compared to their other locations. We were also overcharged twice and were not happy with the response that we received when we questioned the amount. Their location in Poipu has much better service, lot more choices and great service.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Uintas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“THE BEST ice cream !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The place is tiny, parking is awful, there's always a line waiting to be served, and there's no air conditioning, but so what? Relax and enjoy THE BEST ice cream you'll ever have ! While they do offer the obligatory "Cookie Dough", many of the flavors are island themed, These are the flavors that define true ice cream eating bliss! Free samples are provided. At the least splurge on a waffle cone, or better yet, a hand dipped chocolate coated cone with Macadamia Nuts on it ! Since there's no inside eating area, due to the outdoor temperature causing the ice cream to melt quickly, be prepared to eat quickly. NOTE: be sure to request a "punch card" that once filled will earn you a free cone ! Don't miss the best ice cream on the planet!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy creamy ice cream in dipped waffle cones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The chocolate dipped waffle cones plus some ice cream is a heavenly treat. Had it 3 times in the week we stayed in Kauai. Every beach vacation needs an ice cream place for an evening stroll. But it may be a bit far for many staying in Princeville so go ahead and drive.

It's pretty creamy ice cream so it is very satisfying but not quite as heavy as say a Ben & Jerry's.

And the best part - one of the only things open once the sun goes down!

There is seating outside and the shave ice place a few more door down can be had for those not wanting ice cream. Or go to Foodland for something else.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lapperts Ice Cream also viewed

Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to Lapperts Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lapperts Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.