We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Energy Fee???” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffs at Princeville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cliffs at Princeville to your Saves list
Cliffs at Princeville
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3811 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel amenities
Apple Valley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Energy Fee???”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Cliffs but were a little set back by the extra "energy fee" of $50 upon check in. We were doing a trade and no where in our documentation was this mentioned, even though we had cost sheet where the estimated charges were explained in etail. I expected the room tax as it was documented. I know $50 is not much but getting stuck with this at check in time was unacceptable. All were were able to get was each of the trade companies blaming the other for us not knowing.

By the way the pool was not ready even though the estimate had been Feb. Only 2 months late. The pool we could use was nice but you had to drive to get to it, which is never fun. FYI the new pool doesn't look like it will be that great when completed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    116
    31
    17
    10
See reviews for
86
159
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

We booked a suite in The Cliffs Resort through RCI points. The suite we got was 7104, a studio with partial kitchen. We were told that there were laundry facilities but because they locked off half of our suite we had no laundry facilities. They were kind enough to let us use another suite to wash our things but had the studio suite been set up better, they could have arranged it so that the laundry was in the smaller studio section of the unit possibly at the end of the hallway and when a large party books the full 4 bedroom suite they'd still have the access. As it is now, the kitchen and laundry isin the locked off section, not much use when they are renting out the studio to couples.

The cliffs is expensive to stay at and had we had a suite that was a little better equipt, we would have enjoyed our stay much more. The suite that they granted us access temporarily to do our laundry in was fabulous and would be a dream to stay in.

The staff were attentive, Liz, the activities ladie is upbeat and took care of our logistics. The room decor was slightly dated but very comfortable and nothing to complain about. The room was very clean and in fine working condition and they gave us a full room clean half way though the week for half the regular cost (since we had such a small suite). Thhe surrounds were quiet despite the lawn mowers/weed wackers half way though the week at 8am, pool still undergoing renovations-they gave us an alternative in another location in Princeville.
We would recommend staying on the North side of Kauai, you can't beat the beauty of the green misty mountains paired with the gorgeous beaches.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

We own at the Cliffs and love going back each year. The units are very large and we feel very at home. The pool was under construction but we had priveledges at the Hanalei Bay Resort whicn has a beuatiful pool. It was a short 5 minute car ride and easy parking. Other years we have taken children and grandchildren and all of us have had a great time. There are amazing sunset views from in front of the 800 and 900 buildings. There are many nice beaches and good restaurants in reasonable driving distance. We also enjoy using the library at the nearby shopping center.

Like: The size of the unit
Didliked: Highspeed internet service. I could not connected at all in one of the two units we had and no one was available to help. We were able to use the computer in the business center for email and to check in fro our flights.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washingotn
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

Rude staff. Laptop was stolen from our room while we were gone. Another room was hit and their laptop taken. Inside job. Assistant manager told me he would post a reward sign and two days later when i asked to see it, he hadn't bothered to put it up. Their suggestion is that a window was broken out and the thief replaced it on his way out. Not likely. Somebody used the key to get in. Completely unsympathetic reaction, almost lilke it's something they're used to seeing happen and we should just get over it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

My husband & I stayed here because I worked for RCI and heard great things about this island. We were getting married. The woman at the front desk hooked us up with the best view I have seen. You can walk across the lawn, sit in a couple of lawn chairs with a bottle of wine & watch this sunset from the top of the cliff. I actually fell asleep only to awake to a full moon.
Liz @ the activies knows the best massage therapists that will come to the room. She planned our whole honeymoon from zodiacs to massages. The views are stunning. The pool area could have been bigger but considering it cost me $159 for the week with my timeshare, I was thrilled. Besides, you have the ocean. There are paths that you can walk down to access the ocean but it is extremely steep. There is a little place for lunch called the Paradice Grill that makes the best grilled tereyaki
chicken & delicious salads. For two people, lunch is about $20-$25. There is a little store around the corner where you can buy leis. Pure Joy !

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Tennessee
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

After arriving at the airport and having a bag missing until a flight an hour later, we were very pleased that check in took less than 5 minutes. We happened to be given a ground floor unit that had been recently renovated, and beautifully so. We didn't even watch either of the 2mflat screen TVs. The unit was well stocked, and with the breakfast costs were happy to eat breakfast there. (There is a nearby Foodland, which is clean and well stocked.) The timeshare reps booked us a helicopter trip and a whale watching ride. (Saw tons of whales and some dolphins)
Restaurants :
Saffron - Princeville - 2 or 3 stars - Excellent appetizer of baby back ribs and mashed potatoes at $26.The shrimp entree was very good. The rib eye was a disappointment at $40. It was very, very thin, hence hard to cook medium rare. There were 3 errors on the bil. We were quoted $22 for the appetizer. Yhe corkage charge was misquoted. The 1/2 price promo for the appetizer was ignored. The gardens and general ambience was very nice. We considered it very overpriced. Would not return.
Kountry Kitchen - Kapaa - 3 star - We opted for breakfast for lunch one day. The loco moco was quite good, as were the banana pancakes. The scrambled eggs were disappointing as thry were chopped up on the grill, and not done in a pan. They were very dry. They had the worst coffee my wife has had in years. Unpalatable. They also charge for soft drink refills. Would not return.

Mediterranean Gourmet Pestaurant - Haena - 5 star - 2 ,eals. Lunch - The lamb burger stuffed with feta came medium well rather than the requested medium rare. My wife had an excellent lamb and hummus in pita. The mai tai was excellent as was the iced tea which was laced with passion fruit.
Dinner - The mediun rare rack of lamb was a delight. Couldn't have been better. The twin lobster tails were great but I didn't take to the stuffing. There was complimentary pita and hummus, also very good. The service at both meals was excellent. We also had a belly dancer that somehow was not terribly obtrusive. Highly recommend.
Hukilau Lanai - Kapaa - 5 star - Wow! - I will start with only a $10 corkage charge, for us a real plus. The medium rare filet was perfect, as were the pork medallions. They have an excellent wine list. We sat looking out to tiki torches in a garden setting. Very romantic. Our server Nicole was so good we asked for and got her on our return visit. The prices are substantially lower than our other dinners that we had. Reservations a must. Overall, easily our favorite.
CJ's - 4 star - Corkage $20. A relaxed atmosphere without much ambience. Good salad bar. Good rolls come with dinner.The 5 chop rack of lamb was excellent, as was the fall off the bone baby back ribs with mashed potatoes.Quite pricey and reservations are recommended.

  • Liked — Service, cleanliness, beauty of area
  • Disliked — Sliding glass door very heavy
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

We have finished staying here at The Cliffs for a 2 week period. We rented first through a real estate agent we have rented from before, and then we used a timeshare week exchange through RCI.

I can speak in this review about the private condo as well as their timeshare rentals/exchange experience.

The first week we were in the private rental for Condo 9203. It is a four bedroom unit that you can choose whether to book only the number of bedrooms you need. We booked 3 bedrooms. We had a lovely ocean bluff view and the grounds are nice and quiet (yes even with the wild roosters/chickens which you don't really notice after a while).

This unit was well laid out and had all the amenities we were looking for to keep us well taken care of.

The pool was closed for renovations, yes, but that's no worry. They had maps and pool passes for the Hanalei Bay pool which is just lovely and a mere 10-12 minute walk away with beach access too or you could drive for 4 minutes (free parking).

The Cliffs pool was nothing last year compared to what it's going to look like in another 5 weeks when they are done (Feb 2008). It's going to be gorgeous and the hot tub outside will be just as lovely (lava rock layot etc.)

They have activities to keep you busy too (if you want that) or you can just laze on your lanai. If there's construction on one side (the pool stuff) then you go to your lanai on the other side. There are barbeques all around and we used them. There was NO pressure to see a timeshare at all. If you want to save money (200 bucks or so) then you know you are doing a timeshare presentation in exchange for that savings. But it's pretty much you who decides if that's what you want to do. They have an orientation/meet the guests day there on Monday's and they offer free food/drinks. It's a great way to meet other guests. Even if you are so lazed/busy that you never see them again.

Outside of that, we then switched over to their 1 bedroom with loft unit in their timeshare/interval owner's buildings. We were in unit 3305 and it was a renovated unit. They were fine with making sure we were in a renovated unit too. We didn't have the ocean bluff view we had of past, but regarldess of seeing the housekeeping building for a bit in our (we can still see a bit of the ocean view), there's no bad view when you are in Kauai. Seriously. The other lanai was more relaxing for us because it really was overlooking a part of the street that only people driving to/from the resort would use. It was and is pretty darn quiet in Kauai.

This was our second year here at The Cliffs and we had heard and read some pretty awful things. True, it's a tropical island so there will may be cockroaches but they do pesticide spraying and notifiy you of when this is being done and they have housekeeping that can come in and help if you think you've got some problems. They have cans of bug spray and really, I didn't see an issue at all.

Having the washer and dryer was great. Having the tradewinds (lanais on both sides that open to let the breeze in is perfect...no A/C missed at all). Having the fans in the rooms so we could lock our lanai up at night was just fine too. I didn't feel hot/muggy or whatnot and I love my A/C...so I truly think the experience was just lovely.

You can't be in Kauai (shouldn't be) without a car. So, the fact that you could go to the pool at the Hanalei Bay Resort was great. They don't treat you any differently and the views are astounding so you should really take advantage and go. However, the Cliffs pool reopens in February.

The only negative thing I could say is that you do have to check under and behind your bedroom furniture just to make sure that you don't have anything thrown under there that housekeeping could have missed. If you notice something, they can take care of it or you have a broom/vacuum to do it yourself.

The only other negative thing I could say is that most housekeepers don't wash the blankets as well as the sheets (on a regular weekly basis). So, I chose to wash mine because there was the smell of a woman's perfume that was a bit strong for me. Mind you, this was pretty easy to fix and I'm a bit of a neat freak so again having the washer/dryer was perfect to do this and I didn't feel like I was doing housekeeping because I had the lanai to retreat to.

The warning note I would make is that if you travel before February 2009, then you'll have some construction noise in building 1 or 2 (unit would be 1XXX or 2XXX). Ask for something in building 3 or 4 or 8 instead. If they don't have anything, just sit on the lanai on the other side away from the pool and you'll have the peace and quiet quite easily.

Do go to the town of Hanalei and eat at Java Kai (breakie/lunch), the Hanalei Gourmet (dinner/entertainment some nights?/desserts) and then do get Kauai Beef from the Chevron station (they have a deli/bakery/cafe too) and try their grain fed beef (will be a bit more gamey...but yummy and not easily available any where else).

Again, we will be back next December for our third visit and may fit in one more in the summer just to experience the new pool a bit earlier.

Enjoy The Cliffs like we did.

Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffs at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffs at Princeville

Address: 3811 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliffs at Princeville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 202 unit property consisting of 9 buildings sitting on the cliffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean, hence our name "The Cliffs at Princeville. We offer one and 2 bedroom units with 900-1200 sq ft of living space. The property finished a $5 million dollar renovation in 2012. Our units boast hardwood floors, granite counter tops, handmade Polynesian hardwood furniture, 2 full bathrooms, Flat Screen HD TV's and complimentary wifi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cliffs at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Cliffs Club
Cliffs At Princeville Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffs at Princeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.