We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A laid back slice of paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffs at Princeville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cliffs at Princeville to your Saves list
Cliffs at Princeville
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3811 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel amenities
Aurora, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A laid back slice of paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The wife and I just spent a week at The Cliffs, for which we traded a time share week. No beach, but a beautiful view of the ocean from the cliff (get it?) No restaurant, but lots of places to eat in Princeville and Hanalei. We had a first floor room in bldg 4, which, in spite of what other reviewers have noted, did have a sliver of an ocean view. The staff was very friendly and answered our questions freely. The concierge service was accommodating and friendly. We don't spend much time in the unit while on vaca, but we found it large, clean and comfortable. Temps in the high 60s at night so no A/C needed to sleep well in a very comfy king bed, especially with ceiling fans to move the air around. This is our second trip to the area so we know a bit about where to go, what to do and where to eat. I liked the laid-back atmosphere here and wouldn't hesitate to come back. It would be good if they could turn off the roosters and nene until at least 8 AM, but that's Kauai.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Y, General Manager at Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Aloha from The Cliffs,
Mahalo Nui Loa for your kind words. we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to welcoming you back when your travels again include the North Shore of Kauai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    114
    31
    17
    10
See reviews for
85
158
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, NH
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm writing this in the middle of our second week at the Cliffs. I haven't heard about the additional fees others have written about, so I guess we'll find out when we check out. We traded two timeshare weeks and were very pleased when we learned we could stay in the same unit for the entire time. We were in building 4 with a partial view of the ocean. The units are very well appointed with most of what you need, except for a rubber spatula, some kind of food processor (I'm a wannabe chef) and soap dish in the kitchen. My husband called down for a waffle iron one day, and someone brought one right up. The towels are plush, the staff is friendly, the adults only hot tub a nice plus, and they don't push any sales presentation on you. We booked our own trips because you can get them cheaper without the concierge commission, but those folks are really nice. At the Monday night reception, they have really good food and not bad wine, and they raffle off prizes. I won a t-shirt! They have very nice tennis courts and a decent little workout club. You'll quickly find out that there are roosters and chickens everywhere and the former start crowing at 4 a.m. and don't really stop all day. The grounds are lovely and there are Adirondack chairs position near the ocean bluffs for whale watching. We saw two pods!!! Overall, this is a really nice resort. I stopped short of 5 stars, because you can't close the bedroom door and we were in a unit on the second floor where anyone could see in.

Room Tip: Well, ask for an ocean view, of course. And I'd stay off the ground floor. We saw a cockroach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Cliffs as a timeshare trade in and it was a great property. We stayed in building 5 on the first floor, and the units were really comfortable and clean. The kitchen was well equipped and had everything we needed. The patio was great and we had a front-row seat to see the chickens that came running to investigate what we were eating for breakfast (ironically we had eggs every morning). There was also a pool that looked nice, but we never used it. Our timeshare company did make us aware of extra fees, so none of that was a surprise to us, though I don't think we had to pay for parking.

There were some unexpected extras like the outdoor concert on the bluff, the safe in the unit, and the helpful concierge that were very nice. Our unit also had a Coleman cooler that we could take on day-trips, and it was awesome that the fridge had an ice-maker too. Another bonus was the in-suite washer and dryer which came in handy mid-week.

The only thing we would suggest to the property managers is that it would be helpful if stand-up fans were available for the first floor units at night. We were not comfortable leaving our sliding doors open while we slept, so without air conditioning, it got extremely warm at night. We didn't think the units needed air conditioning, but because we couldn't get a cross-breeze going at night it was sometimes unbearably warm. There are ceiling fans, but the placement of the one in our bedroom was a bit useless, I'm sorry to say. I think this wouldn't be an issue if you stay on the higher floors because you could easily keep the sliding doors open at night. We rated our sleep as 'poor' because of the heat, but the bed was quite comfortable.

Princeville itself is a community of resorts, so there's not much in the way of real 'community'. But there is lots to do on the North Shore and the Foodland is a convenient place to pick up groceries for dinner. Make sure to pick up your Foodland discount tag at the front desk! There are also farmers (or 'sunshine') markets within about a 10 minute drive several times a week. However, be aware that there aren't any streetlights so bring a map of the community if you are planning on staying out past dark.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay at the Cliffs again.

Room Tip: The first floor units are very warm at night, unless you're comfortable keeping the sliding door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Aloha from the Cliffs,

Mahalo for you wonderful review of your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your suggestion of having floor fans available for our fist floor units. We can certainly make these available to our guests.

I will look forward to your return one day!

Best regards,

June Sundberg
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms were clean with nice furniture, but they do not have air conditioning, so you have to leave your doors opened. When there is a breeze it is fine, but if it is hot with no breeze it is not comfortable. Also, upon arrival I was informed that there was a registration fee of $75.00 and a daily parking fee of $5.00. I had to pay a total of $115.46 extra for my 7 day stay.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Y, Manager at Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Aloha from The Cliffs,
Mahalo for your comments, we appreciate the time you took to post your views. I'm sorry you felt blindsided by some of the charges you incurred. As your reservation came through RCI, our rates and fees are posted on the travel documents you receive prior to departure and we check on these on an annual basis. We do not charge a registration fee. there is a Resort Fee charged to our guests trading in to the resort of $75/week which covers all the amenities and wi-fi on the property. we do not charge a parking fee, so I'm not sure what you have there. The only other items you paid were the taxes on your vacation, which as you know, are state and federal charges and not associated with the resort. We hope you enjoyed your time on the North Shore of Kauai and hope to see you again in the future.
Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've been here 2 days and are finding the resort quite pleasant. Our initial irritation at being placed in building 2 dissipated when we discovered how nice the room is, with a spacious, private, and open atmosphere.
Pros:
The units have a patio (with large doors) on each side, so the breeze flows through
Clean (very) and new room carpet & furnishings
Spacious grounds
Bed and linens are comfortable
Pool is nice, but small
View from cliffs gorgeous
Staff friendly and helpful
Shuttle to many north shore spots stops here
Games and activities available (but not in great shape)
Very few children (the season?)
Cons:
This is not an elegant or sophisticated resort but is low-key and quiet (not many people around)
NO beach!!
Only a few buildings have view units (and they are great!)
Can be noisy in the morning, especially if bedroom is on a parking lot
Bathrooms are small with no windows - WIMPY showers
No bar or restaurant
No walking paths
Pool is teensy
1st floor units seem subterranean
Mosquitos and other biting insects (all over North Shore)
TVs are not HD and no premium channels
** Do not expect a view unit if you are trading in through II or RCI. **



Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Aloha from the Cliffs,

Mahalo for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be happy to know that with our upcoming renovation (scheduled to begin in 2015) we will be updating our bathrooms and changing our showers! I think you will like the upgrades!
Yes, it is true, we are located on a cliff with no beach access, there are many beautiful, outstanding beaches located with in 10 minutes of the property. The new North Shore shuttle service can take you to many of them.

Thank you again for your detailed review. We do hope to see you back here at the Cliffs again one day.

Best regards,

June Sundberg
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My first trip to Kauai and it was amazing! Came here with a few friends to explore Hawaii and this was a great choice! It is literally on a cliff! The views were breathtaking and we even saw whales a few times! Though the rooms could have been bigger, it didn't really bother us because we didn't spend too much time in the room!

Room Tip: If you want a beach, this might not be the place for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing you stay from last January. You will be happy to know that the Humpback whales have started to return. We do enjoy seeing the, from our bluff as they mate and give birth during the winter months.

I am not sure how many people were in your party or what size unit you were in, but our one bedroom units have 1132 sq feet of living space including the lanais. Loft units are a bit bigger.

Please do come back and see us again one day.

Best regards,

June Sundberg
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Nothing bad to say about the facility itself or the staff, all that was great. I gave them 4/5 so that it would not detract from their overall score. Stayed there for a week earlier this month.

My issue is just the location and if you're like me and love the beach, you won't like it either. This can be said for most of Princeville, but if you're not familiar with the area and you plan on going there and experiencing nice Hawaii beaches this is NOT the place to go. There are very few beaches near Princeville, and those that are there are very difficult to get to.

No beaches really in walking distance from the Cliffs. Good for sitting on the grass lawn or using the pool. If you want to stay on the North Shore of Kauai and want to be close to the beach either pony up for the St. Regis or stay in a bungalow in Hanalei.

Room Tip: Some have Ocean Views over the cliff, most are Garden view only
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Y, Manager at Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for your kind words about our property. I'm sorry the fact that we don't sit on the beach was a disappointment for you. However some of the best beaches in Hawaii are just minutes from our property. Kalihiwai beach for instance is 10 minutes at most from our resort and is a 3 mile stretch of beach with something for everyone. There are multiple beaches within minutes of our resort and our concierge, who has lived here all her life will be happy to assist with lots of great island information. We look forward to your next visit and setting you up with your own "secret beach"
Mahalo and Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffs at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffs at Princeville

Address: 3811 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliffs at Princeville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 202 unit property consisting of 9 buildings sitting on the cliffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean, hence our name "The Cliffs at Princeville. We offer one and 2 bedroom units with 900-1200 sq ft of living space. The property finished a $5 million dollar renovation in 2012. Our units boast hardwood floors, granite counter tops, handmade Polynesian hardwood furniture, 2 full bathrooms, Flat Screen HD TV's and complimentary wifi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cliffs at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Cliffs Club
Cliffs At Princeville Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffs at Princeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.