We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luggage Theft at the Cliffs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffs at Princeville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cliffs at Princeville to your Saves list
Cliffs at Princeville
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3811 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel amenities
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Luggage Theft at the Cliffs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent 1 weeks at the Cliffs resort, went to the orientation and signed up for yoga on the bluffs with Dianne, who said she had 16 years of expertise. She was horrible, had newcomers to the activity hyperventilating, holding poses until they cramped, and had a poor overall understanding of her supposed craft. Those who smoke are relegated to dedicated smoking areas away from the condos ... which is not a problem, until the smoker in our group deposited her suitcase at the car at 4:30 in the morning, and while having her cigarette 60 feet away, watched with horror as the paper delivery man stole her suitcase on his way through the parking lot, thinking nobody had seen him. Immediate contact with security resulted in them admitting this is not the first time theft of this nature has happened. The management at the Cliffs washed their hands, stating the bag was unattended, the police, although cooperative and understanding, assured our group there was really nothing they could do, as the management had waited so long before contacting them. The only high spots of the trip were the incredible staff at the Makai Golf Course and the beautiful scenery on the course. The NaPali coast by helicopter and catamaran were incredible. Gabriela provided a 90 minute facial to all the ladies, complete with massage for $99 .... and the ladies absolutely loved her service.

Room Tip: Security is very visible on this resort for a reason ... they have a high amount of theft and crime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Y, Manager at Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Aloha ‘Captain Bill’
I was sorry to hear that you had some disappointing situations while at our resort. Diane, who leads our yoga program generally receives very positive reviews and is quick to point out to all her clients to “know your limitations and only do the positions and timing within your personal capabilities”.

Regarding your luggage issue, I was surprised to read your statements in this review which contradict your statements made to our staff, management and the police report I have on my desk.

I feel it is only fair to point out the fact that the police were contacted, they did make a report, and your statement that “the smoker in our group deposited her suitcase at the car at 4:30 in the morning, and while having her cigarette 60 feet away, watched with horror as the paper delivery man stole her suitcase on his way through the parking lot, thinking nobody had seen him” Was never reported to our staff, management or the police.

In fact, this Trip Advisor report is the first time any of us are hearing this story. The additional statement that “The management at the Cliffs washed their hands, stating the bag was unattended, the police, although cooperative and understanding, assured our group there was really nothing they could do, as the management had waited so long before contacting them” is also untrue. The police recently contact me regarding a question from an incident in October of 2012.

Additionally, to set the record straight, your statement “Immediate contact with security resulted in them admitting this is not the first time theft of this nature has happened” Is also untrue. This is in fact the first time anything like this has happened at this resort.

While we are not perfect, and unfortunately situations do arise even in paradise in today’s society, we enjoy a very high satisfaction rating, as evidenced by Trip Advisor reviews and reviews from other companies. I remain sorry about what happened to your group, but felt it only fair to state the facts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    116
    31
    17
    10
See reviews for
86
159
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Cliffs is beautifully located on the North shore, cooler in summer, very pleasant in winter. We have been here numerous times and keep coming back for the view, the rooms, amenities and location. Condos are nicely appointed and spacious, much more than some, and easily accessible. One third are on the ground level of three levels. The pool and hot tub area is a lovely place to soak up sun or sit in shade. Tennis players will appreciate two courts recently resurfaced. A beach is in walking distance for serious walkers but there are so many nearby beaches to visit via car as well. Two beach chairs and a cooler are provided in the condos.

Room Tip: Buildings 4, 6,7,8 and 9 have ocean views. We have stayed in all the different buildings and have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Cliffs at Princeville has captured the ultimate location on the island of Kauai. The views of the mountains and the ocean are jawdropping. The condos themselves are modern, spacious,updated and immaculately clean. The staff goes above and beyond to ensure that every guest has the best vacation possible by helping to plan activites, and respond to ones requests. We have returned here many times over the years and each time the experience gets better.

Room Tip: Room numbers which begin with 9,8,6,4 have the most interesting views of mountains and ocean. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Cliffs for 7 nights, and found the units to be spacious and well appointed with all the items we need to be self sufficient if we wanted too. We have two teenage kids and found the space in the units more than adequate, in addition the onsite activities program welcomed all and was comprehensive. We booked our activities through Susan, she was excellent, this was the firs time we used a concierge service to this capacity. Susan organised our whole week, and fitted in everything we wanted to do (which was a lot). She provided us with colour coded maps and comprehensive directions. Thanks Susan it is because of you we had such a wonderful time. All the staff at the Cliffs where lovely, the views from our unit located in building 7 was awesome. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Buildings 6, 7, 8 have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

my wife and I stayed at the cliffs for six days in unit 8205 (through oceanfront realty). the unit was very well equipped and comfortable. the view was outstanding from this unit, by far one of the best. however, there is no access to the beach, and you cannot see the sunset. the bbq's on the property were close by and exceptionally clean. the staff was very welcoming and helpful, we did not have any issues when we were there. the location is excellent for hikers (as we are) but it was very quiet for any night life. there are not many restaurants to choose from, and if you are looking for night life, this is not the place to go. however, the grocery store is so close by, and the kitchen is so well equipped along with the BBQs on site, it is easy to be self sufficient. if you are looking for a peaceful vacation, in a very comfortable, scenic place, this is it! there are two trails very close by, and of course not a far drive (30 mins) to many more trails including the kalalau trail. the weather does tend to be wetter and cooler in this part of the island, so be prepared as it is much different from the south part of the island, however a long as you have wifi (which you do at the cliffs) you can keep up with where on the island to go for some drier weather.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veneto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 10 days in this beautiful place for Christmas and NewYear. We had a very comfortable condo with one bedroom and two bathroom and wonderful views of the ocean and the green around. The condo is really nice and well maintained and the position is perfect. From the big windows you could see the whales in the ocean! Really a great experience to repeat.

Room Tip: The condo with the ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A quiet condo community in Princeville, Kauai HI. Some units are rental units, others are permanent residents, others (such as this one) are VRBO. As a result, units vary in amenities and maintenance. Buildings 6, 7, 8 have the best ocean views and most privacy. The resort grounds are well maintained with a great pool including a hot tub for adults only and one family hot tub. Units with 3XX numbers are third floor (top) which makes them quieter and more private. This unit was absolutely beautiful, well equipped and felt like living in luxury in paradise. No air conditioning or heating that we saw and none was needed. Opening windows gives good cross ventilation. The owners are very responsive and have furnished the condo with everything you need. There are public gas grills on the property. The access to the ocean is via a very steep, often muddy, path that is officially "closed." You will need to drive to the beach (very short drive). There was a bit of parking lot noise from this unit, especially the twice weekly garbage truck at 7 am. This was a fabulous "home base" for our 24th wedding anniversary! I highly recommend this unit and the condo resort if you want a quiet romantic retreat.

Room Tip: Buildings 6, 7, 8 best ocean views, units 3XXX are third floor with best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffs at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffs at Princeville

Address: 3811 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliffs at Princeville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 202 unit property consisting of 9 buildings sitting on the cliffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean, hence our name "The Cliffs at Princeville. We offer one and 2 bedroom units with 900-1200 sq ft of living space. The property finished a $5 million dollar renovation in 2012. Our units boast hardwood floors, granite counter tops, handmade Polynesian hardwood furniture, 2 full bathrooms, Flat Screen HD TV's and complimentary wifi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cliffs at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Cliffs Club
Cliffs At Princeville Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffs at Princeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.