We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanstastic stay at 5-308” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffs at Princeville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cliffs at Princeville to your Saves list
Cliffs at Princeville
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3811 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel amenities
Sacramento CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fanstastic stay at 5-308”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A quiet condo community in Princeville, Kauai HI. Some units are rental units, others are permanent residents, others (such as this one) are VRBO. As a result, units vary in amenities and maintenance. Buildings 6, 7, 8 have the best ocean views and most privacy. The resort grounds are well maintained with a great pool including a hot tub for adults only and one family hot tub. Units with 3XX numbers are third floor (top) which makes them quieter and more private. This unit was absolutely beautiful, well equipped and felt like living in luxury in paradise. No air conditioning or heating that we saw and none was needed. Opening windows gives good cross ventilation. The owners are very responsive and have furnished the condo with everything you need. There are public gas grills on the property. The access to the ocean is via a very steep, often muddy, path that is officially "closed." You will need to drive to the beach (very short drive). There was a bit of parking lot noise from this unit, especially the twice weekly garbage truck at 7 am. This was a fabulous "home base" for our 24th wedding anniversary! I highly recommend this unit and the condo resort if you want a quiet romantic retreat.

Room Tip: Buildings 6, 7, 8 best ocean views, units 3XXX are third floor with best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    115
    31
    17
    10
See reviews for
85
159
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just enjoyed a great three night stay at this terrific find up in Princeville. The unit we had was a one bedroom, ground floor which worked just fine for our brief stay while enjoying Hanalei and the north part of the island. The unit was very nicely appointed clean and modern furnishings. The kitchen had excellent kitchen gadgets to use with our bbq dinners. Really helpful was the in suite washer/drier unit with soap/drier sheets included as enjoyed a fun day ziplining! Super views from anywhere on the property, lots of activities (for pay and complimentary), wild life abounds with chickens, chicks and nene on the grounds. The Cliffs are super clean and service was terrific. We would stay here again and glad we had the opportunity to enjoy the few days we had.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Cliffs Resort Ours was a 2BR unit, in which case the 2nd bedroom is the loft. It worked nicely for the two of us, but it would seem a bit awkward for two couples especially since the 2nd bathroom was downstairs. But we thoroughly enjoyed The Cliffs. The suite was quite spacious (loft area is HUGE, with a nice desk area), and the kitchen was very nicely equipped. We didn't have an ocean view, but this wasn't a detraction, as all the grounds are beautifully landscaped and maintained, we had great views from our lanai, and we were only a 4-minute stroll to the actual cliffs. Photo ops everywhere; one of the activities is a botanical tour of the grounds – very worthwhile. The Cliffs is also very nicely located for the northern coast area – easy jaunts into Hanalei, etc. Also, as a guest there, we enjoyed a hugely discounted package at the nearby Prince golf course. We enjoyed it very much and would return there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mckinney, tx
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We are back from a wonderful week at The Cliffs! We had a one bedroom unit on the bottom floor in building 3. The units are older, but are very well maintained and look to be recently renovated. They were very clean and everything was in great condition! We had a small lanai out our master bedroom and a large one outside the living room which we used a ton! We had two small kids with us and this unit was a comfortable size for our family of 4! If we returned, I would try to request a unit with a better view as ours faced a street and parking lot, but that is my only complaint. I would definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Buildings 1, 2, and 3 are not the best location
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Aloha!! Mahalo for your feedback on stay with in December! Glad to read you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. Yes, you are correct our units have been recently renovated.
Thank you for your recommendation! I also hope that you and your family will visit us again one day.

Wishing you a very happy holiday!

June Sundberg
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We traded for a 2 Bdrm (with loft) unit that faced the ocean. We have stayed in quite a few different timeshares, as we always trade (have never been back to our 'home' timeshare) and you start to see some trends, some pros and cons. This particular t/s had some really outstanding pluses: the kitchen was very well stocked with excellent quality cookware/dishes that you could actually cook with (many have such cheap cookware that you can hardly use it) and enjoy using, it had a thoughtful, rather different layout that helped to make the stay comfortable, and everything felt and appeared to be very clean, which also adds to comfort! Also the beds were perfect for us, just the right firmness (not too firm), very nice linens and pillows - it's always nice to get a great sleep right from the get go. There is quite a large lanai, where we ate all our meals with the ocean as a backdrop.

The location is great - close to a shopping centre (you can buy your groceries in Princeville at FoodLand, contrary to some of the advice I had seen earlier, and more importantly close to several beaches - Hanalei Bay (for swimming and surfing), Hideaway Beach, and our favourite Beach - Kee.

The pool is a little on the cold side, but we used it nevertheless. We would stay here again for sure. I gave it 5 stars because we really did like this resort very much, for the great advantages, but it's not fancy - like a star hotel - so not in that sense. If you were comparing it that way I'd give it a 4 star rating, but they deserve a 5 star in general. Hope that makes sense

Room Tip: Building 6 is a nice location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Aloha! Mahalo for your feedback! Delighted to read your comments. We feel we have a special place here and try to provide all the comforts of home. We appreciate your five stars~ Please come back and stay with us again!!

Happy Holidays to you and your family!

June Sundberg
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed in a 4 bedroom the first week with family. It was wonderful and all 8 of us totally loved it. The second week 4 stayed in 1 bedroom with Loft and just loved it as well. The other 4 stayed in a 1 bedroom with sofa pullout and it was just as good, however, in a different building.. The 3rd week, the remaining 4 of us stayed in another 1 bedroom with loft and it was lovely as well. This 3 week stay was an exchange and we were pleasantly surprised. The staff moved us each time we changed condos. It was effortless for us, The pool is awesome..the meeting room is so nice. The staff was great! It was a perfect paradise. We will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Even if you can't get ocean view...it's all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Located in northern part of island. Units are very nice. In unit washer/ dryer, full kitchen, front & back porch, other amenities. Well supplied, and maintained. Service is excellent. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for your kind words. We do hope you will return again!

Mahalo,

June Sundberg
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffs at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffs at Princeville

Address: 3811 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliffs at Princeville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 202 unit property consisting of 9 buildings sitting on the cliffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean, hence our name "The Cliffs at Princeville. We offer one and 2 bedroom units with 900-1200 sq ft of living space. The property finished a $5 million dollar renovation in 2012. Our units boast hardwood floors, granite counter tops, handmade Polynesian hardwood furniture, 2 full bathrooms, Flat Screen HD TV's and complimentary wifi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cliffs at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Cliffs Club
Cliffs At Princeville Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffs at Princeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.