We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cliffs Club is awesome - please don't be discouraged” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffs at Princeville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cliffs at Princeville to your Saves list
Cliffs at Princeville
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3811 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
High Desert
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cliffs Club is awesome - please don't be discouraged”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Some of the reviews are so negative that I can't believe they are talking about one of our very favorite places to stay. We have had quite a few trips to this spectacular location and can't wait to return. The staff have always been extremely pleasant and very helpful. The renovations that have been done over the last five years were much needed and although some units may not be completely updated yet, most are. If you check in and have ANY issue, please contact the day staff as they are usually very able to help you. If you are not an owner, still go by the owners meetings and let that staff know of your concerns. Although the units do not have air conditioning, this should be very clear when you make your reservations. The winds normally blow enough to assist with cooling the units down in the evenings. At times, late afternoon till sunset can be a bit uncomfortable but why sit in your unit at this time of the day? There are so many wonderful things to see and do on island that I can't imagine spending much time there until after sunset. As far as bug bites, I doubt those are flea bites - you should use insect repellant on island day and night if you do want mosquito bites. I have learned that the hard way and missed a few days of fun while having massive doses of Benadryl on board due to the quantity of bites I received at a Luau. Please don't let the poor reviews discourage you - look at all of the positive ones as well. Any vacation is what you make of it.

Room Tip: depends on if you want a great mountain or ocean view - call and ask for a request in whichever you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Aloha from the Cliffs!
I was delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay. We have completed our renovations which included a make over of our recreation building. We have added a small fitness center as well.
All of our units have ceiling fans in the living room and bedrooms. With our natural trade winds this usually keeps us very comfortable.
We have a great staff here at the Cliffs. They are ready to assist our guests at any time.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cliffs!

June Sundberg
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    124
    32
    19
    10
See reviews for
94
172
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The 2 bedroom unit was wonderfully functional and modern. The king size bed was so comfortable. There are two good sized balconies to enjoy your morning coffee on.The resort itself had very nice pools and hot tubs. The recreation building was well appointed with lots of additional books to exchange. The staff were great at arranging trips of interest with the local service providers.

  • Liked — the views
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We just returned from a fabulous week at the Cliffs. We traded our timeshare and had a beautiful 2 bedroom unit on the third floor - the second bedroom was a loft, so we had vaulted ceilings, and also a balcony facing the ocean, as well as one facing the mountains and overlooking the pool. It was nicely appointed and had every detail taken care of - beach chairs, plenty of beach towels, cooler, coffee and filters, etc. We loved the North Shore, and found this location convenient to Hanalei, and the the Princeville plaza with grocery, restaurant, shops, etc. Also close to Queen's bath, which is a beautiful spot to hike to. We were in unit 5304, and would love to stay there again - definitely planning to trade here again. When people mentioned no AC I was a bit concerned, but with the cross-ventilation, it was so much nicer to have the breezes coming through. The concierge was wonderful as well!

Room Tip: two bedroom units seem to be on the top floor and have two balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Aloha from the Cliffs,

Mahalo for your kind review. We also feel we have a piece of paradise here at the Cliffs! I will share your kind words with our Concierge team. They are amazing with all the great tips they have to make sure you have lots of things to keep you as busy as you want to be on you vacation.
Yes, you are correct that all our 1 bedroom with loft units are located on the third floor. All of our units have two lanais (balconies). One off the living room and the other off the master bed room.
We thank you for trading into the Cliffs and look forward to welcoming you back one day.

June Sundberg
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The location of The Cliffs is certainly the best thing about this property. We again exchanged our timeshare for a week here and had a really great time; however, wince our stay in May 2010, we've noticed some things with the rooms that could stand to be upgraded.

- We received a few calls at 8 a.m. on a Sunday (or was it Monday?) morning inviting us to a welcome reception. Even though we said we weren't interested, we got another call. This happened a few times - we finally unplugged the phone.

- We were supposed to have our condo cleaned on Tuesday based on our check-in date and length of stay. Someone knocked on our door while we were eating breakfast and asked to drop off cleaning supplies in the bathroom closet. She wasn't there, however, to clean our room. When we asked a housekeeper about cleaning our room she told us we weren't on the schedule. I called the front desk and they told me that because we had checked in on Monday that we weren't scheduled until Thursday. I explained that we checked in on Saturday and I think this really confused them because then we couldn't get housekeeping to leave us alone. The next day we left our room and there was a Hefty bag (of towels and linens?) at our front door. We came back after a day at the beach and the bag was still there. I called the front desk to tell them and to note that our condo still hadn't been cleaned. I said since we were only going to be there another couple of days not to bother. They called back and asked if someone could come tomorrow. I told them yes, but it had to be after 9 a.m. Twenty minutes later a housekeeper was knocking on our door. I asked her to come back in twenty minutes so that we could be gone while she cleaned. When we got back to our room two hours later she was there cleaning. She was a lovely, nice woman and it wasn't her fault, but at that point I was just tired of dealing with housekeeping and wanted some privacy.

- The bathroom showers were showing signs of age and humidity (natural for the islands). In some places the grout and caulk was turning black. The shower head was a complete joke. It sprayed water everywhere but on you. Our bathroom flooded a couple of times because of water shooting out beyond the capabilities of the flimsy shower curtain.

Minus those three issues, it really was a pleasant stay. The kitchens are well-stocked. The pool is lovely. The grounds are well-kept. The grilling station overlooking the ocean is truly a phenomenal location. Down the road we'll probably stay at The Cliffs again because of our timeshare, but I hope before we do they work out some of the kinks communicating with staff, and do something about those showers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Aloha Becky,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Cliffs during your recent stay. I am sorry that it was less than perfect. I would like to talk with you regarding the early morning calls and the mix up with cleaning. Please feel free to contact me at the Cliff at 808-826-6219.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review.

June Sundberg
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was our first time to Kauai. The Cliffs provided a wonderful experience for us. Though the resort was full, it was very quiet. The buildings and grounds were well maintained. Our unit was lovely; very spacious and comfortable. Having two lanais on either end of the condo provided excellent air flow. This was important since the unit did not have a/c. It made a great home base for treks to any place on the island. Very convenient for activities along the North Shore. Beach towels, beach chairs, and a cooler were provided too. The staff was more than helpful in providing directions and recommendations for activities. We hope to come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha Chris!

Thank you for staying with us! I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your unit.
We do that you will stay with us again should you visit Kauai!

Mahalo,

June Sundberg
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Spent a week in 9105 (ocean view), and we loved it. I was a little concerned about being on the first floor, as it meant that we couldn't leave all the doors wide open at night to catch the breeze. It turned out to not be a problem at all. There are security bars that allow you to leave the doors open a little, and that breeze combined with the ceiling fans made it quite comfortable all the time. The kitchen was well stocked with cookware, and there were plenty of extra towels. The grounds were very neat and well kept, and all the staff we encountered was friendly. Having a washer/dryer in the unit was invaluable. We were actually able to come home with all clean clothes instead of dirty ones!

The pool was great (though we didn't spend a ton of time there), and the hot tub as well. There are communal gas grills, which was really great, and sunset from the edge of the property was beautiful.

The only criticism I have is that the wireless internet signal was especially weak in our unit. The signal was good in the bedroom (closer to the main building), but almost non existent in the living room and kitchen.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Building 8 and 9 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We absolutely loved our one week stay here. The grounds were well kept. The pool area was cute, with little waterfalls. Two small pools and two hot tubs. Basketball, tennis and shuffleboard. Our unit was extremely clean and spacious. We lucked out in Unit 4301 with a very large partial ocean view. We exchanged thru RCI. I feel I should note that when I booked the exchange, the one bedroom unit that I traded for was listed as "1 Bedroom, Privacy (4), Sleeps 6. This gave us a loft which had two queen beds! As our flight was not leaving until 10:00pm Sunday night, we opted to pay some extra money so we could have a place to regroup/shower after a day at the beach. They moved us to what I suspect is a "1 Bedroom, Privacy 2, Sleeps 4 unit. It was still very nice, but there was no loft and no ocean view. If you are trading in and are lucky enough to find a 1 bedroom that sleeps 6, I think it's worth the extra points! Property is lovely, and close to Hanalei & other beaches. Princeville is a very small community with maybe 2 restaurants and 1 (very nice) grocery store. Aloha!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffs at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffs at Princeville

Address: 3811 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliffs at Princeville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 202 unit property consisting of 9 buildings sitting on the cliffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean, hence our name "The Cliffs at Princeville. We offer one and 2 bedroom units with 900-1200 sq ft of living space. The property finished a $5 million dollar renovation in 2012. Our units boast hardwood floors, granite counter tops, handmade Polynesian hardwood furniture, 2 full bathrooms, Flat Screen HD TV's and complimentary wifi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cliffs at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Cliffs Club
Cliffs At Princeville Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffs at Princeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.