We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location on Kauai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffs at Princeville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cliffs at Princeville to your Saves list
Cliffs at Princeville
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3811 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel amenities
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location on Kauai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Cliffs Club in Princeville on the island of Kauai, on an RCI exchange. The location of the Cliffs Club is truly spectacular. The view of the ocean from the grounds is incredible! We had a one-bedroom condo with a sleeper-sofa in the living room. We invited another couple to join us at the last minute, and they slept on the sleeper-sofa which they said was quite comfortable. The condo was immaculate, nicely furnished, clean, and the full kitchen had almost everything you would need. We also had a washer/dryer which came in very handy towards the end of the week. We had an ocean view from one lanai, and a mountain view from the other lanai. I'm not sure if all the condo units were as nice as ours, as some are privately owned.

There is a very nice shopping center about 1 mile from the resort with a great supermarket where we were able to buy just about anything we needed, and the prices were good. There is also a Costco and Wal-Mart if you want to travel down to the south end of the island.

The pool was very small and was not heated, and we did not use it at all. There are not many activities on the grounds, but there were families with children there. There is plenty to do in the vicinity, however. There are some spectacular beaches. Our favorite was Annini Beach - about a 3-mile drive from the resort. The water was calm, beautiful, clear, and great for snorkeling. The beach in Hanalei is also quite nice. Our friends ventured out to a hike on the Napali Coast and they said the scenery was spectacular. We went to the Smith's Tropical Luau which was one of the best luaus we have ever been to. The Smith family has beautiful grounds, and does a great job. There was an open bar and plenty of food. The entertainment was "old" Hawaiian and wonderful.

Generally, we stay in Poipu on the south end of the island when visiting Kauai, but Princeville was a nice change for us. Going in November had its drawbacks. The days are very short - dark by 6:00 PM, and we had rain on a couple of days, but that did not spoil our vacation.

This resort is very close to the Princeville Hotel. You must go there to see the spectacular grounds and views of the Napali coast. Hanalei has some nice restaurants - the Hanalei Dolphin was quite good. We also enjoyed Bubba's Burgers for lunch.

I highly recommend the Cliffs Club if you go on an RCI exchange as we did.

  • Liked — The location in Princeville was great. The condo was very clean, modern, and met all our needs.
  • Disliked — Too far from the ocean.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    116
    31
    17
    10
See reviews for
86
159
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

When we stayed at The Cliffs at Princeville for the first time in 2005, we had a wonderful experience. Our stay was in late October and the weather was perfect. The lack of air conditioning wasn't a problem, since we were in Building 4 and had exposure to the ocean breezes. The views were outstanding.

In August 2007 our experience was different. This time we were assigned to Building 3, on the rear of the complex, with our lanai overlooking a construction site rather than the ocean. The August heat made the lack of air conditioning much more of a burden. On the other hand, the unit was clean and up to date, and service was excellent as before.

Kauai is wonderful, and I'll return, but I wouldn't stay at the Cliffs in summer unless I knew I could get an ocean view unit.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — Location overlooking construction site
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

We rented a unit at the Cliffs as it was an excellent price, only $100/day, for a 2br 2bath. These are privately owned condos and since the building is on the older side, you have to be careful to find a condo that is properly maintained.

We hit the jackpot, since the owner had recently remodeled and it was BEAUTIFUL. Straight out of an Expo Center showroom, actually better. I'm very sorry but I don't remember the unit #. We didn't have an ocean view from our room, unless you leaned out over the patio rail or stood in the kitchen, but the Cliffs are not that close to the ocean.

Instead we had a gorgeous view of nothing but lush tropical trees swaying in the ocean breeze as far as the eye could see. Not a single person, building or road in sight. A little red bird perched on our patio rail each morning to say hello. We had our own little piece of paradise all to ourselves for two weeks.

Princeville is set high up on a bluff over the ocean, so it's a short hike to the beach from most areas. From the Cliffs, we actually drove to where the hike began. Not sure if there is a faster way.

There are always ocean breezes so it's never too hot here. There are two excellent golf courses, though one is incredibly difficult though incredibly beautiful (the Prince).

There is a small pool and tennis courts, but we used neither. There is also a chipping area and putting green. Those we did use, and they are very nice.

Like most hotels/condos in Princeville, there were bbq pits outside to share. We had a full kitchen and everything was well stocked.

Our unit was on the third (top) floor, and there are no elevators, so if you're not able to climb stairs book a ground unit. These are very easily accesses form the parking lot however

  • Liked — The views, the golf
  • Disliked — The building itself is not very attractive
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

My husband,myself and 5 year old stayed here late Sept.-early Oct. We traded our 5 star timeshare in Tahoe for the Cliffs. We found the Cliffs to only be o.k. as they were also rated a 5 star resort. We felt that they just don't have enough amenities and the rooms are badly in need of an update.(which they are working on,but it appears to be going slowly)

First I have to say that they not only charge you a $50.00 energy surcharge upon check-in (for a room with NO air conditioning) but they also charge you an extra $3.68 per night for something else that is escaping me now. In Kona a few years back you had the choice of the $50.00 fee if you wanted to use the air. Also, there was a SMALL safe in the room, but if you wanted to use it you had to pay a fee along with internet access. All to say they seem to try to nickel and dime you for most things.

As for the room, we had a one bedroom that was quite large in size. My son did not want to sleep by himself in the living room (he's five) so we put the matress from the sofa bed on the floor in the master bedroom and still had PLENTY of room. The kitchen was good in size and stocked pretty well. It was nice to have a compact washer/dryer in the room as we used it every night to wash swimsuits and beachtowels. As for cleanliness, it wasn't so bad that you felt gross, but it could have been cleaner. I do have to say that at least the carpet wasn't as bad as another reviewer had in their unit. But I did kill two gigantic roaches one night in the middle of the night. One in the bathroom by the living room and one in the entryway. (these two spaces are in close proximity to one another) Those were the only two that I saw and I don't even want to think about it.

A couple of tips: The "cute" little grocery store that another reviewer talked about was the closest to the resort but their prices were outragous! You will save alot of money by shopping at the Safeway in Lihue and if you have a Vons card you get their member discounts which we found to bring the prices to almost Mainland prices. Also, for any trips or luaus you may be going to, we found that by booking online before we left we saved quite a bit of money. Go! Have Fun! The island is quite beautiful and you can literally go to a different beautiful beach everyday. I have to say that I loved the quaint little town of Hanalei. The setting was BEAUTIFUL and while there, see if the Wishing Well Shave Ice truck is open it was delicious!

  • Liked — It was large
  • Disliked — needs updating, more amentities
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

We had a great stay at #1206. The Cliffs isn't that amazing of a resort, but we wanted a place to "call home". We stayed a week and thought it was great. Full loaded kitchen, nice furnishings, coolers and beach supplies, etc. They also had a small pool, nice looking tennis courts, etc. We liked it because it was very comfortable, relatively quiet (aside from the roosters and a little construction) and close to everything the North shore had to offer.

While there, we hit up numerous beaches (our faves were Tunnels for snorkeling, Anini for privacy and the burrito stand and Pavillions for Surfing Lessons via Learn to Surf).

We spent a lot of time in Hanalei eating, which is only a ten minute drive. Wake Up Cafe has a great breakfast, Bubba's Burgers, Kalypso for drinks, Bar Acuda, etc. All very good. Favorite dinner views were
from Bali Hai. Good food at La Cascata at Princeville Hotel, but very pricey.

Took a helicopter ride with Air Kauia and felt it was very good. Pilot was great. Went out of Lihue, which is a bit of a drive, but turned it into a day trip and visited Poipu as well.

Skip Pizzetta in either location on the isle as they both were super slow...super slow.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

We just spent a week at The Cliffs and overall it was good. Our first
week on Kauai was spent at a brand new resort on the Poipu Beach and we knew that the Cliffs was older and needed updating. The ocean view
is breathtaking - we saw many whales as we sat on the chairs overlooking the cliffs. The new recreation area (playground, basketball and volleyball courts and tennis courts) is very nice. The pool could use a facelift. The grounds are kept neat. I really liked the easy going atmosphere. Lots of bbq's. As for the units, I understand they are going to be renovated this spring. I certainly hope so! They are very roomy, but the carpet in our unit was atrocious. I was particulary concerned because we were travelling with our crawling twin babies - I'm still trying to remove the stains
on the knees of their sleepers from crawling around on the gross carpet. The kitchens are very well stocked and other than the carpets, the unit was very clean. They do charge a $50 "energy" fee/
week which I didn't know about before arriving. Maybe this is typical
of time share resorts? As you approach Princeville, the scenery is absolutely breathtaking. There is a cute grocery store within minutes of the Cliffs (ran into Jodie Foster there!) I would definitely recommend hiking up to the lookout on the NaPali coast. Beautiful!! I would stay at the Cliff's again if the carpets were replaced. We enjoyed our week there. Kauai is the most beautiful place. Enjoy your trip!!

  • Liked — views, well equipped kitchens, location
  • Disliked — nasty carpet in the unit, pool needs updating
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2007

We were in Kauai the week of March 18-25, 2007. The weather was perfect & our stay at The Cliffs was great. We stayed in Unit 1205. It was a one bedroom unit with two full bathrooms. We had two balconies, one in the living room & the other in the bedroom. Although we did not have an ocean view, we had lush green gardens to look at and a wonderful breeze. The room was very clean & nicely decorated and grounds were kept clean and beautifully landscaped. The pool & jacuzzi's were never over-crowded. We used them 4 times during our week stay and pretty much had them to ourselves each time.

The service at The Cliffs was great. The room is cleaned up one time during your stay (if it's booked through a timeshare), but you pretty much have everything you'll need during your stay. There's a washer & dryer in the room, which was very convenient. Parking was not a problem.

We highly recommend The Robinson Family ATV Tour. It was absolutely wonderful!! The guides were very patient with beginners and riding through the 58,000 acre jungle was awesome! We stopped for a swim in a natural spring " jungle pool" and then continued our ride. You'll see a side of Kauai that most natives never see! The attached pictures were taken during the tour.

Have fun!!

  • Liked — spacious & private
  • Disliked — cigarette smoke from neighbors
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffs at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffs at Princeville

Address: 3811 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliffs at Princeville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 202 unit property consisting of 9 buildings sitting on the cliffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean, hence our name "The Cliffs at Princeville. We offer one and 2 bedroom units with 900-1200 sq ft of living space. The property finished a $5 million dollar renovation in 2012. Our units boast hardwood floors, granite counter tops, handmade Polynesian hardwood furniture, 2 full bathrooms, Flat Screen HD TV's and complimentary wifi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cliffs at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Cliffs Club
Cliffs At Princeville Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffs at Princeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.