We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If not for a sore back, it would've been amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princeville Makai Golf Club

Princeville Makai Golf Club
4080 Lei O Papa Rd, Princeville at Hanalei, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-3040
+1 808-826-1912
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Activities in Princeville
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Top Golf Experience on Kauai; Our 27-hole Golf Facility was designed by Mr. Robert Trent Jones Jr.-in the late 1960s. We recently went through an extensive renovation to 18 (Oceans & Lakes Nines) of our 27 holes (Woods Is Still Open But Was Not Renovated). The new 18 was opened in January of 2010 and is now know as the Makai Course. The new and improved championship Makai course is a breath taking par-72 at over 7,200 yards. We proudly boast some of the most epic ocean/mountain views Hawaii golf has to offer.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If not for a sore back, it would've been amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

great resort course, very wide open for the most part but still challenging, as most of the bunkers seemed to be placed in the typical range of my drives. Would be nicer if there was a bit more variety in teh character of the holes, they started to feel like variations of the same theme on the back 9, and the bunkers seemed to all have been designed from the same stamp of a shape.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    34
    6
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St Eustache, Quebec
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing club course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Quality of that course is exellent, some holes close to ocean, mountains, flowers, vegetation, wow.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Newly re-furbished course with great views and challanging layout

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“WOW, sea course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

What a course. Not difficult but the scenery was absolutely amazing. There are 3-4 holes following the coast and with sea views. The course was in very good shape. 200$ was a bit expensive but we were blessed with a 100$ special rate on ezlinks.com. We rented clubs, 55$, good price, excellent Calloway clubs; they gave us a satchel with 6 brand new Calloway balls. Cool.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Troon: Get it together--Staff needs training and supervision”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Yes, golf can be an expensive sport. My husband and I recently decided to treat ourselves to a round of golf at the Makai Course, Princeville. The course is decent but not worth $190-$140 per round.

Why?
1. Signage for club drop doesn't exist--what looks like a cart staging area is also the golf club drop area. The road in/out is narrow and unmarked.
2. Staff will bring a golf cart to your car--eventually. We had cart attendants drive empty carts past us three times. No hello, we'll be back to assist. No information.
3. The golf shop staff--with the exception of a lady that did have her act together--appeared to be more interested in chatting than taking $$$$ for greens fees. However, we did learn Pierce Brosnan's shoe size.
4. The starter, Steve, seemed confused and disorganized. Perhaps it was his first day on the job.
5. While on the course we never saw a marshall. We finished about 40 minutes off pace--it was a slow day.

Summary: The Makai course is nice, but if you're going to spend $$$$ for golf, go to Poipu Bay. It's a better course, the staff is professional and helpful. Overall, it's a much better experience.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princeville Makai Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Princeville Makai Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princeville Makai Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.