We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HiddenGem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tavern

The Tavern
5-3900 Kuhio Hwy, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
(808) 826-8700
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Princeville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HiddenGem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

After a busy day we were looking for a quick bite and found this gem. The short ribs and fried chicken were fabulous as were the banana crepes. You must try their Mai Tia's, not too sweet with a muddle of basil, excellent. Wait staff was quick, efficient and very friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    164
    59
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“TOTALY ENJOYABLE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

What an amazing setting and meal. Not an extensive menu, but what the Tavern has is very well prepared and presented. Very good service and you can't beat the view.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great mahi, service, surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Needed a place close so went here. We had been eating in hanalei and wanted something a little more upscale. No trouble with seating. Wait staff attentive and knowledgable about menu. Menu is short but they seemed to do an excellent job in the kitchen. Cocktails very good. Had the mahi special and it was the best fish I had so far. Seemed a bit noisy with their acoustics but not too bad. Prices comparable to lesser restaraunts in hanalei. Would go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Tavern at the the The Prince golf course is surprisingly affordable on the north shore of Kauai. This does not mean its cheap by any means but you can pay the same price for food cooked in a bars kitchen, served under a shaky overhang, and get half wet in the process.

Since it is attached to The Prince golf course I would have expected to pay much more comparatively, however when our Princeville Ranch tour operator told us that The Tavern could be affordable and also had great food we tried it that night.

The Mahi fish special, buttermilk fried chicken and the ribs were all quality choices. The calamari appetizer was very crispy, well prepared and plentiful - which is uncommon for an appetizer especially on the North shore.

With shared appetizer, and drinks you are looking at $40- $50 a person , but it is possible to eat for less (or more)

The views especially at sunset are amazing looking out across the golf course with the ocean and a view of the mountains beyond, this by itself is worth it. Eat in comfort with great service and views for the same price as some much less worthy options (like Bar Acuda) in Hanalei .

With Love from MN

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Food w/ a View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Tavern by Roy's at the Prince Golf Course Clubhouse can be a bit noisy, but the view and the food more than make up for it. My favorite dish is the Shrimp and Grits. I order that and a salad and that is more than enough for lunch or dinner. The only thing that might be better is the meatloaf special served once a week, I think. Call to find out when. But the burger is also a good choice. Just about everything on the menu is good, if not great. Their "house wine" is very good and their deserts are the best, especially the coconut cake. With such great food it is hard to look up and enjoy the view, especially at sunset. Wow!! One cannot help but get up and go to the window or go outside and take a picture! We try to go a few times while we are in Princeville.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern also viewed

 
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to The Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.