We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views with food to match” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tavern

The Tavern
5-3900 Kuhio Hwy, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
(808) 826-8700
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Princeville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great views with food to match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stopped for lunch on a trip from the south to Ke'e beach. The staff were attentive and the views across the golf course are very serene and relaxing. We both had fresh fish from the days catch ono and another white fish. Both were fantastic and the price reasonable considering the setting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    164
    59
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views, good food, excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We ate at The Tavern in Princeville one evening this week, and were impressed with the staff and the beautiful view! We didn't realize that it was part of the golf course; as non-golfers this wasn't a selling feature for us but we decided to try it anyway. We did make reservations, but only called the afternoon before we wanted to go. We arrived at 6:30 to a fairly empty place and left around 8:00 to a full house. The food was good--nothing outstanding, but a nice break from cooking on our own. Certainly not inexpensive, but it was a fun night out. Our waitress was fantastic--very personable and attentive. When the restaurant was slow, she chatted with us about some of her favorite spots to check out on the North Shore. I would definitely recommend, but just be ready for a bigger bill. :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl, Mississippi, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with a good sunset view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The view at this restaurant is stunning-if there aren't a million people blocking it. As the sun was setting, it was hard to get a good view unless you had a camera (which I did, but preferred to sit and watch). The glass exterior walls were lined with people trying to get the best shot...I wish they would have just sat still and experienced the beauty as it was instead of through a glass lens!

Negatives aside, the food was really good (love the seasoned popcorn appetizer) and the service was pretty decent. The mai tai was very different...infused with basil and herbs. Surprisingly fresh, but extremely stout!

I would not highly recommend this place, but would definitely recommend it. Just make sure you sit right by the wall for an unobstructed view. :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great people and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I wanted to go out for dinner instead of cooking at our rental. We had read reviews on line and we headed into town. The first place we went asked if we had reservations, we did not, even though there were plenty of tables available, they sent us away. The Tavern was our next stop. Again we were asked if we had reservations, we answered no. However, this time the wonderful employee that was seating people told us she would fit us in regardless! The Tavern only had a few empty tables and were booked with reservations but they went out of their way to accommodate us. I read reviews about their fried Chicken and decided to try it...WOW! If you go and you like Chicken, try this! Excellent food, Excellent service. The only recommendation I would have is to add a few more blinds on the windows as the sunsets and will blind you if you are in the wrong seat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting but you pay for the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The food was very good and the portions were large (I took home half of my entree). The view from the restaurant is of the golf course and distant shore--spectacular, especially at sunset. You do pay a premium price for drinks and entrees, but the appetizers and desserts seemed more reasonable. We dressed nicely, but there were plenty of people in beach-y clothes and several screaming children which kind of ruined the ambience of the view. It was also very warm in the restaurant throughout the meal, and we weren't even by the window. I can't imagine how hot the people were that were seated where the sunlight streamed in--maybe that's why the kids were screaming? Overall, good food and lovely scenery, but they need to turn down the thermostat or lower the prices. For a family of 4 it came to $225 (and no wine, just 2 cocktails).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern also viewed

 
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to The Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.