We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go early, on a cool day.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princeville Botanical Gardens - Private Tours

Princeville Botanical Gardens - Private Tours
3840 Ahonui Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722 (Formerly Ahonui Botanical Gardens)
+1 808-634-5505
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Princeville Botanical Gardens is a family owned and operated garden paradise located in the Princeville area on the magnificent north shore of Kauai. The Robertson Family, with the help of their close gardening friend, Michael, have transformed their 8-acre retirement home into a breathtaking garden with dramatic landscaping in two steep valleys. The Robertsons grow a small cacao (chocolate) grove and process their own gourmet homemade dark chocolate. Part of every tour is a chocolate tasting and lesson on how the family makes their chocolate. Longer tours include samples of delicious tropical fruits. The fun, educational tours of the garden include ethnobotanical and medicinal uses of plants, stories and information about native Hawaiian and "canoe" plants, and much more about a diverse collection of species from around the world. Visits to our garden are by APPOINTMENT ONLY. We host walking tours on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. Tours are not recommended for children under 6 years. We strongly recommend good walking shoes. Please be sure to call us before visiting. Thank you!
portland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Go early, on a cool day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The drive to the gardens is so peaceful, beautiful. Drive to the end of the road, then circle back to the Botantical Gardens. There are tours available that last about 2 hours, bring a sun umbrella or borrow one of theirs. We arrived for a self tour after lunch and it was too too warm for us, we managed to view the exquisite gardens for only half an hour, alas.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    31
    4
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fascinating way to learn about the Garden Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Such a beautiful place, obviously a labor of love by the family/owners - Bill, Lucy & Jason. Samples to taste along the route - fresh honey from their apiary; fruit from trees; paint our lips or body with seeds from the Achiote tree pods. And of course the chocolate tasting! Yum! Like a wine tasting but with chocolate - heaven! Holly, our guide, was excellent and very knowledgable. Tours are by appointment only so don't just show up, you will be disappointed. We will return each time we visit Kauai to see what has been added or changed... and to taste more exquisite chocolate. By the way... fee for the tour is very reasonably priced, also the chocolate to purchase at the end.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Make this a MUST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A facinating educational experience for all your senses. The tourguides are just plain AWESOME! we had Holly, a PhD botanist, who not only knew her stuff, but had fun sharing her extensive knowledge of the myriad of plants in this stunning garden. There are frequent tastes and tests of the fruiting plants, the leaves and the seeds. The chocolate tasting is very educational and interesting. I loved this place so much I came back less than a year later, there's always something new in blooom or in fruit. Bring a well-charged camera, the whole place is a photographer's paradise.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic way to enjoy the garden island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I drove from the south side of the island to the garden during our honeymoon and this tour was worth it! It was so relaxed, open, and delicious (since we ate fruit or chocolate every ten minutes)! Steven was an excellent guide, and it was really nice to meet nice people that by the end of the tour you have bonded with. Such a unique tour and a great way to see the amazing diversity of plants on the island. I had hoped for more native plants but they do seem to be actively trying to increase the number of those which is great. One tip: Bring "real" mosquito repellent (not the natural stuff). I got eaten alive in a couple parts of the garden!
Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk england
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I am no expert...but was gobsmacked at the whole tour Thank-you Holly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Most of my photos from the island were taken here...as a Brit the whole place is a wonderland of delight. A real education in botany ! Holly enthused and never stopped ...a treasure of description ensued from a joyful and highly qualified tour guide. I was surprised to see any negative feedback at all. But then I suppose we all go to places with different expectations. I had none, because I am a novice.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princeville Botanical Gardens - Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Princeville Botanical Gardens - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princeville Botanical Gardens - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.