We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princeville Botanical Gardens - Private Tours

Princeville Botanical Gardens - Private Tours
3840 Ahonui Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722 (Formerly Ahonui Botanical Gardens)
+1 808-634-5505
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Princeville Botanical Gardens is a family owned and operated garden paradise located in the Princeville area on the magnificent north shore of Kauai. The Robertson Family, with the help of their close gardening friend, Michael, have transformed their 8-acre retirement home into a breathtaking garden with dramatic landscaping in two steep valleys. The Robertsons grow a small cacao (chocolate) grove and process their own gourmet homemade dark chocolate. Part of every tour is a chocolate tasting and lesson on how the family makes their chocolate. Longer tours include samples of delicious tropical fruits. The fun, educational tours of the garden include ethnobotanical and medicinal uses of plants, stories and information about native Hawaiian and "canoe" plants, and much more about a diverse collection of species from around the world. Visits to our garden are by APPOINTMENT ONLY. We host walking tours on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. Tours are not recommended for children under 6 years. We strongly recommend good walking shoes. Please be sure to call us before visiting. Thank you!
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Chocolate testing was the best part. The gardens are laid out very nicely, we enjoyed all flowers and various trees, lots of them from India like mango trees, Kesudo (African tulip) , Champo, various Orchids, must visit.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    31
    4
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Truly one of the most wonderful experiences I've ever had in Hawaii!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband and I visited the Ahounui Botanical Gardens in Princeville today. This was truly one of the most amazing days I think I've ever had in all of my travels around the world.

The garden is situated on an 8 acre site that was reclaimed from the jungle over the last 10 years by the owner Bill Robertson and his family. It has obviously been a true labor of love. It is a magnificent accomplishment for such a short period of time. The tour we went on was led by his son Jason, a most remarkable young man who spent 3 or 4 hours with a group of perhaps 12 to 15 people of all ages. We saw some of the most beautiful flowers, trees, exotic plants in what is truly a tropical paradise. We would stop along the way for photo ops and to taste many of the various fruits and even edible flowers. About midway through the tour, we stopped for a Chocolate tasting". Cacao trees are grown on the property and we were taught about how the cacao is processed and then the most fun of all - a tasting of various chocolates ranging from those grown on the property to those from Madagascar, Venezuela and other exotic places. It was better than a wine tasting in the Napa Valley and certainly a lot more fun. Learning to begin with the aroma and then to learn the subtle taste differences due to the differences in processing was wonderful! We sampled perhaps 7 or 8 varieties of chocolate and learned to appreciate all of their unusual qualities!

We also had a chance to learn about how ancient people experimented with different plants to treat different illnesses and to see the plants and flowers that were used. The tour was informative, fun and an absolutely fabulous way to spend the day in Kauai. I can't begin to recommend this more highly! I would not recommend this for people in wheelchairs or with strollers. I think the terrain would be quite difficult to manage. A baby in a backpack would probably be fine, but the trails are at times steep and can be slippery. Be sure to wear sneakers or hiking shoes. Sun block is not necessary but bug spray would be good. It is available for the asking if needed.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A real treat for flora lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were unable to go to the three hour morning trip, because all places were booked, so we took the two hour afternoon trip. Our guide was Debbie, whom I guess might not be as knowledgeable as Jason, the morning guide. Nevertheless, this garden is top notch and worth the money. We were told that the morning tour included a garden of fruit trees and a sampling of the fruit which we did not do.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I enjoyed this garden with my daughter. It was a nice relaxing visit.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“New and best garden tour we've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Learned about all the plants of Hawaii and others, beautiful photography opportunites, burbling brook to die for at bottom of garden area, chocolate sampling and tour/explanation of processing done on site, and very very good guide who is son of owners. Less than a mile or so from Princeville Westin Vacation ownership property.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princeville Botanical Gardens - Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Princeville Botanical Gardens - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princeville Botanical Gardens - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.