We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tour for the Senses” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princeville Botanical Gardens - Private Tours

Princeville Botanical Gardens - Private Tours
3840 Ahonui Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722 (Formerly Ahonui Botanical Gardens)
+1 808-634-5505
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Princeville Botanical Gardens is a family owned and operated garden paradise located in the Princeville area on the magnificent north shore of Kauai. The Robertson Family, with the help of their close gardening friend, Michael, have transformed their 8-acre retirement home into a breathtaking garden with dramatic landscaping in two steep valleys. The Robertsons grow a small cacao (chocolate) grove and process their own gourmet homemade dark chocolate. Part of every tour is a chocolate tasting and lesson on how the family makes their chocolate. Longer tours include samples of delicious tropical fruits. The fun, educational tours of the garden include ethnobotanical and medicinal uses of plants, stories and information about native Hawaiian and "canoe" plants, and much more about a diverse collection of species from around the world. Visits to our garden are by APPOINTMENT ONLY. We host walking tours on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. Tours are not recommended for children under 6 years. We strongly recommend good walking shoes. Please be sure to call us before visiting. Thank you!
Pacific Palisades
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Tour for the Senses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Ahonui Botanical Gardens is a tour for the senses. It’s a treasure hunt of discovery of the history of these islands by way of plants and their uses - food, fruit, fragrance and beauty. Lucinda and Bill Robertson lead you on a conversational journey through their vast and meandering gardens with treats along the way; fruits to taste from the trees, spice leaves and exotic blooms so fragrant you can swoon with delight, sweet honey from their farm… They also grow cacao, and a favorite part of the tour was learning all about chocolate and how it’s produced – with delicious samples! I came away with such a full appreciation. This is an experience not to be missed.

Sharon Weil
Pacific Palisades, CA

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    27
    4
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dracut, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful and tasty tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This was an awesome experience! My husband and I have never been to a botanical garden so we didn't really know what to expect, but I could see that it was more than your average tour. They have fresh fruit to try along the way while you walk amongst the beautiful gardens. Halfway through the tour, you stop to learn about the process of chocolate making and get to sample chocolate. There was so much to see and taste and the couple that created this oasis is so sweet to share their beautiful land with us! LOVED IT!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Beautiful Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The last time we were in Kauai we were so confused about which garden to tour that we ended up touring none of them. We are more interested in lovely tropical plants and flowers than we are in sculpture or design. I saw this garden listed in some of the literature at our condo and thought it looked more our style. Was I ever right about this one! Our tour was led by the owners and we enjoyed every minute. Not only did we see the beautiful plantings but learned how the garden was lovingly created over the last ten years. Lots of tasting directly from the trees and bushes - guava, strawberry guava, lychee... The 30 minutes sit-down tasting of various chocolates was also quite interesting. There were several fairly steep (but paved or gravelled) slopes so expect to be challenged physically just a little bit. But walking sticks were offered (and used!).

This garden is less than 10 minutes from Princeville center to their driveway. If you're confused by the others, try this one. You won't be sorry you did!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and interesting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Bill and Lucy provided a wonderful two hour tour. Fascinating visit to the gardens and an enjoyable and tasty chocolate tasting.

This tour is worth every penny. A hidden gem!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great time in gorgeous surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Very close to the resort hub of Princeville, this family run operation is really a joy. The grounds are beautiful and the product of years of commitment and passion. And it shows.

Jason was a tremendous tour guide, offering tons of information and answering questions from everyone. A highlight was the chocolate tasting. An in-depth discussion on the ancient and modern chocolate making process led to a chocolate tasting in the garden. Delicious and informative.

Highly recommended as a low key activity with plenty of photo ops. We loved it and it was a great way to get out and about for my wife who is 6 months pregnant.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princeville Botanical Gardens - Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Princeville Botanical Gardens - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princeville Botanical Gardens - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Princeville Botanical Gardens - Private Tours to your Saves list