We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Even Better View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Grill

Kauai Grill
5520 Ka Haku Road, St. Regis Princeville, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
808-826-0600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kauai Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Princeville
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Comfortable yet elegant hideaway -- signature Jean-Georges sophistication realized far from home. Sweeping views of Hanalei Bay and Bali Hai surround Kauai Grill, the latest in creative dining experiences from Michelin awarded Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten. Kauai Grill combines a curated selection of Jean-Georges’ greatest appetizers, side dishes and accompaniments from his portfolio of domestic and international restaurants around the world with the highest quality of meats and freshest local fish available. Simply grilled preparations accompanied by bold condiments anchor the Kauai Grill experience at The St. Regis Resort Princeville. All under the brilliant execution of Chef Maxime Michaud
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Even Better View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Amazing food and great service. The Mahi Mahi is a must try. We booked our reservation around 6pm and we were able to watch the sunset over Hanalei.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    94
    75
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Kauai - 5- O”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Staying on the north shore of Kauai has usually meant cooking at home - Hanalei has a number of restaurants that are OK, but never seem to rise to any great level.

So we tried the Kauai Grill in the St Regis - first impressions not so flash, decore is dated and lots of hard surfaces, so noise bounces around a bit. Try and sit along the windows and away from the centre of the restaurant.

But the biggest surprise was the food - grilled octopus and salmon sashimi were solid starters and the veal chop (about 350grams) was excellent as was the mahi mahi special.

Small but solid wine list, with wine by the glass as well.

At $255 for three, including wine it is certainly not cheap, but the service was excellent and the food very good. On my return list next year!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great evening but no "Wow"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We very much enjoyed celebrating our 40th anniversary in this fine resturant. We splurged on the tasting menu with wine pairings. Each course was very good and a couple of the pairings were outstanding. The service was attentive and well paced. But with this reputation and price point, there need to be some "Wows" in order to earn an outstanding. Just no wows.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negombo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“save your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

horribly over priced. Agree with the review that the servers don't have the training you would expect at such a high-priced restaurant. A $50 bottle of wine could have been had from Foodland for under $10. The decor is more like a Denny's than a 5 star hotel. The salad was so-so however the main dish (mora and salmon) were delicious. We remember the days when we had fantastic experiences eating the fish buffet at this hotel. Those days gone. Our general experience with restaurants on the North Shore is that you pay alot for mediocre food. Best to buy fish at a local fish market and cook in the condo.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My kids and I went to Kauai Grill only to eat dessert.
We ordered the Chocolate Cake with Vanilla ice cream, JG Cheesecake with Sweet Bread ice cream and the Passionfruit Souffle with Ginger ice cream. We waited what seemed a long time, and ate bread while people watching.
The manager, Antonio, (eye candy ) showed up suddenly with complimentary dessert of White Chocolate Pavlova with Yuzu sorbet. I dont know why we were given that, but our desserts arrived soon after and they were AWESOME, AMAZING, WONDERFUL.

Everyone there was super nice and friendly. It was a most wonderful experience for us.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Grill also viewed

 
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to Kauai Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.