We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great attention but not very creative” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Grill

Kauai Grill
5520 Ka Haku Road, St. Regis Princeville, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
808-826-0600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kauai Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Princeville
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Comfortable yet elegant hideaway -- signature Jean-Georges sophistication realized far from home. Sweeping views of Hanalei Bay and Bali Hai surround Kauai Grill, the latest in creative dining experiences from Michelin awarded Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten. Kauai Grill combines a curated selection of Jean-Georges’ greatest appetizers, side dishes and accompaniments from his portfolio of domestic and international restaurants around the world with the highest quality of meats and freshest local fish available. Simply grilled preparations accompanied by bold condiments anchor the Kauai Grill experience at The St. Regis Resort Princeville. All under the brilliant execution of Chef Maxime Michaud
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great attention but not very creative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

If you've been to a Jean-George restaurant in New York you'll be pretty disappointed with the Kauai Grill but then the Kauai restaurant just has the Jean-George name and not his attention or invention.
The service staff was excellent, very attentive and they did suggest the specialties to us. The crab cakes were mushy and tasteless and the pepper jelly so overpowered the octopus dish, all we could taste was the pepper. The rest of the meal was OK but no WOW factor. And so I can say, yes, we had a meal at the Kauai Grill and no, we'll probably not go back for another try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    94
    75
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very good Sunday Brunch at the St Regis, would suggest you try it. Large selection of food, Prime Rib, King Crab Legs, Shrimp. Nice Kids Station

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“St Regis Kauai Grill, Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We made reservations for our 30th anniversary over 6 months in advance. I specifically asked for a window seat. 1st negative impression; we did not get our window seat, We were seated in the middle of the room. 2nd negative impression; the noise level was so high that we could not have a conversation unless we were right in each other's ear. 3rd negative impression; I ordered the octopus appetizer, it was overdone and very chewy. My wife's tomato soup was tasty but only on the warm side, not very hot. Why can't restaurants serve warm rolls or buns? It's not that hard. The rolls were not warm. My Ahi Tuna was crusted in pepper, but overly crusted. A slight dusting would have been better. The waiter was attentive, but busy with other tables. For the price, I would recommend someplace else.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best meal in Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Excellent service, excellent view, excellent view - I had a hamachi appetizer that melts in your mouth, a fish special for dinner that was cooked perfectly, my fiancé had the peppered steak, which was a tad bit too seasoned for his preference but delicious

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What a Waste!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

As a retired executive chef, I looked forward to this one. I was sadly disappointed. The Jean-George menu lacked inspiration. We anticipated the menu prices, but expected to be wowed by the pairings menu. I have had much better prix fixe menus for half the price. Do yourself a favor and pass on the grill in favor of the bar. Our evening there was delightful with the same view, terrific sashimi platters and imaginative cocktails. The service was better and more attentive in the bar as well. Sorry J-G, I won't be back to the Kauai Grill.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Grill also viewed

 
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to Kauai Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.