We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Setting, Good, But Not Great, Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Grill

Kauai Grill
5520 Ka Haku Road, St. Regis Princeville, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
808-826-0600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kauai Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 19 restaurants in Princeville
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Comfortable yet elegant hideaway -- signature Jean-Georges sophistication realized far from home. Sweeping views of Hanalei Bay and Bali Hai surround Kauai Grill, the latest in creative dining experiences from Michelin awarded Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten. Kauai Grill combines a curated selection of Jean-Georges’ greatest appetizers, side dishes and accompaniments from his portfolio of domestic and international restaurants around the world with the highest quality of meats and freshest local fish available. Simply grilled preparations accompanied by bold condiments anchor the Kauai Grill experience at The St. Regis Resort Princeville. All under the brilliant execution of Chef Maxime Michaud
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Setting, Good, But Not Great, Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is another place to make sure you take your wallet, and the wallets of your 10 best friends; as well as take out a second mortgage and sell your car... OK, I'm sort of joking, but it is the most expensive place we dined in a trip to Hawaii that included Ko Olina, Wailea, and almost all of Kauai. Now, having said that, the food was good, but not great - at least not what one would expect for the setting, service, and cost. My wife and I decided that you come here for the view and ambiance rather than any other reason. The service was impeccable though.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    186
    86
    67
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best high end restaurant in islands of Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Food preparation, service, ambience all make this a top rated restaurant worthy of a special occasion. I would rate 29-29-29 on Zagat's.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“St. Regis Kauai Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

UNBELIEVABLE!!! The service was excellent, as you'd expect at a St. Regis. But - the meal was absolutely amazing. The best meal I had in Kauai, hands down. Maybe the best ever! Go there for sure, but bring your wallet...it's expensive. The views of Hanalei Bay are incredible. Make reservations and ask for a table on the glass.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, great service, lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I went to Kauai Grill with friends who had come to visit Kauai. FIrst of all, the view overlooking Hanalei Bay at sunset was wonderful. Our wait staff was very attentive, always keeping water refilled. I started with an appetizer that was caviar on crunchy poached eggs. Very interesting textures: the poached egg was coated in something an deep friend, hense the crunchiness. When I cut into it, the poached egg yolk spread around, and bites of poached egg with crunchiness and caviar and creme fraiche was a fabulous combination. For the main course I had peppercorn seared ahi. It was great, and just seared -- the way I like it -- and very tender. Everything is a la carte, so I also ordered a side of mashed potatoes. OMG! The mashed potatoes were served is something that looked almost like an ice cream dish, and they were exquisite. I am certain they were made with Yukon Gold potatoes, because they were golden yellow, and I am equally certain they were made with butter and cream: yum! I skipped dinner because there was no way I could fit anything else in.

All in all, a lovely experience; highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Was good, not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Felt like the service was a little slow. Felt like the food was not consistent with the other JG restaurants i've visited. It's not that its bad. I did enjoy the pea soup and steak but it just wasn't what you would expect from one of these restaurants. They did acknowledge the slow service and sent dessert up to our room complimentary. For that I gave a higher rating than I normally would have.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Grill also viewed

Princeville, Kauai
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to Kauai Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.