We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Grill

Kauai Grill
5520 Ka Haku Road, St. Regis Princeville, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
808-826-0600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kauai Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 19 restaurants in Princeville
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Comfortable yet elegant hideaway -- signature Jean-Georges sophistication realized far from home. Sweeping views of Hanalei Bay and Bali Hai surround Kauai Grill, the latest in creative dining experiences from Michelin awarded Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten. Kauai Grill combines a curated selection of Jean-Georges’ greatest appetizers, side dishes and accompaniments from his portfolio of domestic and international restaurants around the world with the highest quality of meats and freshest local fish available. Simply grilled preparations accompanied by bold condiments anchor the Kauai Grill experience at The St. Regis Resort Princeville. All under the brilliant execution of Chef Maxime Michaud
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The only place we went back to a second time for dinner. Great food. Great service. Good wine list. The wagyu beef is absolutely incredible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    186
    86
    67
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Phenomenal views and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I went there while staying at the St. Regis and could not find a better spot to watch the sunset. We were given a table along with the windows which was fantastic for the view. We decided to try the tasting menu and the meal started off great. The butternut squash soup was great and the salmon sashimi was fresh. The only main courses (fish and short ribs) were a bit disappointing however. They certainly tasted good but not to the level of the appetizers. Service was very good and in a great resort. Tip: Make reservations for about an hour before sunset.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Outstanding steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Pricey? Yes, very, but we had a truly 5 star dinner. Outstanding filet mignon. Excellent dining experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
“Worst high end dining experience ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I celebrated Valentine's day here and could not have been more disappointed. Service was perfunctory at best. At one point we joked that we thought the young server was a robot. Three course price fix $125 plus $60 for wine pairings per person. My scallop 1st course was fair at best, deconstructed lobster bland and the wine pairings were just plain bad. My wife had fois gras that was ok but not great and a veal dish that again was bland and not close to what I grill at home.

They wold not honor our Westin 15 percent doining discount card because it was a holiday. No offer for coffee and a final bill of $390. My wife and I eat in many fine restaurants and do not mind paying top dollar for great food and outstanding service. The Kuaui Grill provided neither.

This restaurant is the culinary ripoff of the century. Avoid at all cost.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb food...average service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The food at the Kauai Grill was fantastic. We both had the waygu beef...a fillet and a strip steak. Both were cooked to perfection. My wife was rapturous about the two sauces with her fillet. My strip steak was excellent. The sides of fresh asparagus w/lemon and the balsamic Brussels sprouts w/almonds were terrific. The service was spotty. We had to ask for our bread and we waited so long for our server to return after she orally reviewed the dessert options, we decided to skip dessert. The quality of the food was equal or better than the finest restaurant in our home town of Chicago, but the average service stops me from giving the Kauai Grill the highest rating. We plan on returning to this part of Hawaii in the future and the excellence of the food would spur us to go back to the Kauai Grill

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Grill also viewed

Princeville, Kauai
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to Kauai Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.