We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Grill

Kauai Grill
5520 Ka Haku Road, St. Regis Princeville, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
+1 808-826-0600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kauai Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Kauai Grill is a comfortable yet elegant hideaway with sweeping views of Hanalei Bay and Bali Hai. The seasonal menu is composed of a wide selection of hand-crafted dishes created from flavors found here on the Garden Island of Kauai with the highest quality of meats and freshest local fish available. Simply grilled preparations accompanied by bold condiments anchor the Kauai Grill experience at The St. Regis Resort Princeville.
Maine
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Mahi Mahi was amazing, salsa was perfect and the grilled asparagus was cooked to perfection. The cheese cake was also amazing. We had a special meal here, not an everyday place for us blue collar workers. Thanks

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon P, General Manager at Kauai Grill, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear 35yearsMaine,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post you review and for honoring us with your visit, we were very happy to have you! Thank you also for your comments about the food, the Mahi is one of Jean-Georges signature dish and Chef Maxime Michaud executes it brilliantly with the freshest products available.

We hope to have the pleasure to have you again sometime in the future.

Mahalo,
Leon Pellicer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    107
    86
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Order the ahi tuna crusted in crackers and the fish in broth. A must in Princeville.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Being a JG restaurant your really cant go wrong. The pinneapple mojitos are to die for and the food is out of this world.
Cons: Shrimp wrapped in bacon... so so

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon P, General Manager at Kauai Grill, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Aloha RonBoss,

Thank you really, for taking the time to post your review; we are very grateful for your visit. Being from Chicago and having many fine options in your city, you clearly know when you are exposed to a memorable dining experience and your insight is extremely valuable for us.

Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement; this is the fuel that keeps us striving for perfection when delivering food, beverages and service to our distinguished clientele. We are very glad to know that you particularly enjoyed the Tuna (Chef is very particular when it comes down to the freshest catch available) and the Pineapple Mojito, one of our signature cocktails here!

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future and thank you again!

Mahalo,
Leon Pellicer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Do not miss eating here during your stay. The food is amazing!
Fantastic steaks and wonderful drinks . Everything was delish!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon P, General Manager at Kauai Grill, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Aloha DanaK792,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and for your kind words; comments like yours keep us motivated and focus to continue the journey towards perfection in serving our distinguished clientele. We hope to have you back some time in the near future, Cheers!

Mahalo,
Leon Pellicer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii, United States
1 review
“Haute cuisine on Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I chose to have our anniversary dinner at the Kauai Grill in the St. Regis Princeville, and were treated to excellent food, and of course, a grand view. Having lived on Kauai for the past 12 years, and dined at many of the island's restaurants, I would have to say the the Kauai Grill is perhaps the best place on island for a special dinner. We had a mixed green salad that was fresh, excelled onaga with mushrooms and salmon with red cabbage, and a wonderful white chocolate dessert.
This is not to say that the food comes cheap. Expect to pay from $35 to $70 per entree for the experience. But when you consider that the hotel is about as remote as you can get, and the view of Hanalei bay and Mt. Makana are a fantastic backdrop, it's worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon P, General Manager at Kauai Grill, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Aoha William B,

Thank you so very much for visiting us during such special occasion, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Anniversary dining experience at Kauai Grill and we are so pleased and humbled to read your review since we do make it a very strong point to embrace our local community and clientele in order to exceed your expectations, so coming from you it means a lot!

As you are well aware we are extremely lucky and grateful to live in paradise and to have many fantastic options for produce, seafood, etc to include in our menu; almost 70% of our offerings are proudly local, supporting our motto: “local in content, global in reach”.

Once again, thank you so much and we hope to see you soon at Kauai Grill!

Mahalo,
Leon Pellicer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place For A Wedding Reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

In September 2012 we went to Kauai for our Destination Wedding. We had our reception dinner at the Kauai Grill. Our party consisted of 2 tables with a total of 21 people. All of us were really impressed with the service and the food which was absolutely fabulous. Because we had a larger group, we were asked to select a customized group menu. We went with the following 5 course tasting menu:

Starter: Spiced Chicken Samosas, Cilantro Yogurt
First Course: Hamachi with Avocado, Soy Yuzu Dressing
Second Course: Sauteed Kauai Shrimp, Lime, Yogurt and Radish
Main Course: Roasted Kona Lobster. Potatoes, Lemon, Smoked Butter Or Wagyu Beef Tenderloin, Creamed Basil, Chili lime Dressing
Dessert: White Chocolate and Yuzu Pavlova, Thai Basil Syrup

The samosas, hamachi and shrimp were perfect. I was a bit worried about the Kona Lobster since I’ve never had it before but it ended up being fantastic. My husband picked the Wagyu beef so we were able to share our main courses. Both of us preferred the Lobster over the Wagyu beef. The pavlova, I have to say was my absolute favorite item of the menu and I’m not normally a dessert person.

I also requested that our tables be decorated for our special occasion and Leon arranged all of this for us.

If your looking for a restaurant for a wedding reception/dinner I highly recommend this place. Leon and the staff are a great group of people. The view is outstanding. We timed it so we were able to wander around the St. Regis grounds to see the sunset before having dinner. We married on Anini beach and stayed in a condo up North so the Kauai grill was conveniently located for us.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon P, General Manager at Kauai Grill, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Sharon and Gary,

First and foremost please allow me to thank you one more time for choosing Kauai Grill to celebrate your very special occasion, we were extremely flattered to host you and your wonderful guests that night.

Secondly, I would like to also thank you for such a detailed, positive and uplifting review, WOW! Comments like yours is what keeps us motivated and focused in pursuing perfection every night when we open the doors for dinner; we are very humbled to read your words and proud to have such a fantastic staff that delivers both, great service and food with the most genuine Aloha spirit, we are very lucky to have each and every individual in the culinary and the service team with us.

Kauai Grill wishes you and Gary a wonderful life together and we hope to host you sometime again (probably celebrating your anniversary?) in the near future!

Mahalo,
Leon Pellicer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Grill also viewed

Princeville, Kauai
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to Kauai Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.