We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hale Moi #213 makes you feel like you already live here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle at Princeville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Castle at Princeville to your Saves list
Castle at Princeville
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Ka Haku Rd, Suite C, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
Chino, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hale Moi #213 makes you feel like you already live here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

We went through Kauai Calls to get Hale Moi #213 unit and had a great experience. It was our honeymoon and this place was a pleasant welcome to Kauai. The location is great, the north shore area, if you love beaches, watersports, laid-back country lifestyle, and want to get in on some serious hiking, sightseeing, and save money. With a full kitchen and plenty of beach accessories. You are set up to enjoy exploring the coast and save money on dining. There is a foodland right down the road (with excellent steaks!) open until 11pm which is way late out here. We ate home every night except the last night and saved cash! Also, making lunchs and using the coolers we were able to save on lunchtime as well. The owner Candace was extremely friendly and helpful with things to do and helping you out with any questions or concerns. The place is decorated well and lively (not for the sterile and plain tastes). The queen bed felt like a cloud, we collapsed into it every night and woke up in the same position!

The only issues we had was the King bed up on the loft gets hot at night if you don't get the fans going and the coffee maker wasn't nailing the kona coffee just right. Minor complaints for a memorable stay at an exquisite location. We definitely want to come back and bring more people with us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Montana
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed for 2 weeks early April at "Sweet Dreams", the larger side of Hale Moi #213 condo.This condo is a very good value and well managed by Kauai Calls. Comfortable, well appointed with full kitchen, laundry and beach toys. Bed is comfortable with top grade bedding. Quiet vacation and residential area and beautiful lanai view of a lush ravine. No looking into some one else's unit !

There are endless snorkel opportunities within a few miles of this location and great food nearby.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Stayed in a one bedroom oceanfront for two nights in March. Views were incredible, and we loved the wandering nenes. The steep walk down to the beach is an easy one--not a great swimming beach in the winter though. Washer and dryer was a huge bonus. We were on the bottom floor and didn't hear much noise from the people above us. Enjoyed eating our dinners on the patio as the sun set. We were in Hawaii for three weeks, and this was the most expensive place we stayed--it is overpriced. Still, the view was fabulous and we had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

Upon first glance, I found the unit (#211) to be clean enough, spacious, with a nice enough view of the mountainside. It was not long before I realized the MAJOR ISSUES with this rental. For starters, the bed (a double) was at least 15 years old, hard as a rock and crawling with bedbugs. GROSS. We opted to sleep on the futon mattress on the floor, which was not much better. The shower screams the entire time. Earpiercing fire drill style. Not kidding. The patio is actually shared with the neighbors, so if you open the door, they can walk on in, not that they did. The last straw was when I tried to boil noodles and instead ended up cooking the COCKROACH that had crawled into the stovetop. GROSS!!! The property managers response was that "she hates those roaches too". Nice. I felt uncomfortable and skeeved out the entire time I was in the unit.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2006

We stayed at the Hale Moi condos in Princeville, specifically unit #213. Excellent value, and beautiful accomodations. The units (sides A+B) have been profesionally decorated and provide great amenities. (Snorkle gear, boogie boards, tons of local info) The unit (213) is owned/managed by a local woman that lives in Kapaa. The website is [-].
If you go through Marc Resorts, you will probably pay a ton more, for a more run down unit. My advice is to rent from the above mentioned site.

  • Liked — Decor, Comfort, Amenities, Location
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle at Princeville

Address: 5300 Ka Haku Rd, Suite C, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle at Princeville 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle at Princeville is set amid the beauty of Kauai's North Shore with scenic mountains streaming with waterfalls and spectacular views of Hanalei Bay. The resort offers a wide variety of moderate condominium units in three complexes. Each spacious suite features spectacular views overlooking Princeville's famous golf courses or coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Castle at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Castle At Princeville Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle at Princeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.