We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer Beware” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Castle at Princeville

Save Saved
You added Castle at Princeville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Castle at Princeville
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Ka Haku Rd, Suite C, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Princeville
San Francisco, California
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Buyer Beware”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We have only been here two nights, but I already feel compelled to write this review to let others know what I wish I knew before booking. We are in unit 124.
First the good news: The views are as advertised. We have an ocean view condo and it is really lovely to look out over the grassy lawn and see the sea and mountains. Truly spectacular.
Now for the not so hot news: let me start by saying that I had NO expectations of this being a luxury property. But we have rented condos on Kauai in the past (at LOWER price points) so I did have some expectations of basic accommodations.
1. The place is a bit dirty. I'm talking about small bugs on the counters and the drawers sticking in the kitchen from grease and food build up. I had to scrub all the counters down. It should be said that I am NOT a clean freak. It was dirty.
2. The bathrooms were dirty, too. Weird stains in the toilet, stuck on grime on the doors to the laundry, etc...the kind of generalized yuck that builds up when a place had only been superficially cleaned for YEARS.
3. The outside furniture is filthy. You cannot sit on it. Needs a power washing, badly. We had to put our bath towels down to sit on it. ( Again, we are not fussy people- it takes a lot for me to complain about outdoor furniture.)
4. The windows are filthy. It's a million dollar view, for goodness sake and you are looking out over a layer of filmy grime.
5. The place has NOTHING in it. No beach towels, no wine glasses, no usable kitchen knife. My husband packed his Swiss Army knife- that's what we are using for food prep and passing it back and forth to eat. There is no left over cooking oil, spices, Sudan wrap, foil, not ONE piece of Tupperware. There are some plastic cups, two actual glass drinking glasses, and some silverware. The cooking materials are terrible. I'm talking about a crappy non stuck frying pan that the coating is chipping off of. It's bad. We talked to a local about it and she told us she used to be a housekeeper for a condo rental complex ( NOT this one) and that the housekeepers used to take anything left over. I don't know if this is what's happening, but the last time we rented a condo, it was clear the previous renters left some staples behind, and so did we when we left. This unit felt "cleaned out", but not cleaned up, if you know what I mean.
This unit feels like the owners haven't been here in a long time.
I talked to the woman at the front desk. She brought us some wine glasses, but told me I'd have to pay for laundry detergent so I could wash the bath towels we are using for the beach. Nice.
Anyway, long story short: The view is lovely. But we won't be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pearl City, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The view was fantastic from the lanai. But, that's where it ends. We stayed here for the Memorial Day holiday with my in laws. The sheets smelled bad and the beds were grungy. The carpet was old, the bathroom towels were very rough and "well used." Kitchen was recently remodeled, which was ok. Our first night there yielded little sleep due to the critters making all kinds of interesting sounds.
Staff absent almost all the time. The emergency phone numbers didn't work. No one from Castle seemed to care at all after I finally got in touch with a national number, that we had animals living in the closet. Just our luck that they're nocturnal.
The beach itself (Hideaways) was awesome. This review only reflects the condo itself, not the beach or views. Next time we go to Princeville, we'll be staying in Hanalei.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle at Princeville, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share you experience and we're glad you enjoyed our views of Hanalei Bay. Please be assured that we review all of our units on a regular basis and make upgrades whenever possible. Due to the subtropical climate we do have insects however we do routine maintenance sprays to help minimize this. We also do have a 24 hour emergency phone number which is 742-2200 for any concerns guest may have. We received your message regarding noises you have reported and tried sevaral times to contact you. We completed an inspection of the unit and did not find anything as we discussed on checkout.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

I booked this condo online with a special 1/2 off price and was pleasantly surprised with the accommodations, everything was good. Our unit was on the point overlooking the ocean and received the PERFECT sunset views! Well stocked unit needing nothing else. The furniture is definitely dated but was comfortable. The units were built in the 70's and were updated in 1994 but maintained the 70's look so nothing fancy or modern there.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, Manager at Castle at Princeville, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay while here on Kauai and you got to experience the wonderful views that we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Mahalo
Jaymi Kaleiohi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011 via mobile

Our room had clearly seen better days...bugs everywhere, dated furniture and a tired mattress, grimy carpets and bath towels that were probably about 20 yrs old. But the view over Hanalei bay was stupendous. If it weren't for the mosquitos, my family probably would have been better off sleeping on the lanai (it is, after all, what you're paying for at this place). Even with the view, my husband and I both agreed that for close to $200, this place was a rip-off. Better to call one of the local realty/property managers (like Oceanfront) and negotiate for a condo in Pu'u Poa. That's what we did when we checked out of this place.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAP_Kauai, Manager at Castle at Princeville, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we’re glad you enjoyed our views of Hanalei bay. Please be assured that we review all of our units on a regular basis and make upgrades whenever possible. Due to the subtropical climate we do have insects however we do routine maintenance sprays to help minimize this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at the Hale Moi condos.

The condo was nice, had a gorgeous mountain view. You could watch the waterfalls multiply after the rain swept through and was amazing. The condo was clean and a reasonalbe price for the area. It was very quiet and in great walking distance to Queens Bath and hidden beaches, both of which was amazingly beautiful. The location was very quiet, except for the roosters on the island which seem to be unavoidable.

Two problems with the hotel:
1. There is no sign anywhere for Castle at Princeville and the office closes at 4:30pm. The office is in a separate sub-division. Mapquest does not show the location properly. We drove up and down the main strip about 5 times, since the office was closed, talking on the phone to someone on another island who had never been there. We kept being told it was next to a restaraunt called 'Saffron' that was either out of business or without signage at all. After spending 5 days in Kauai, it was the first frustrating experience. While signage is minimal in general in Kauai, they should really give better directions on how to check in. We booked through AAA and were not given good information. If we did not have a cell phone and a pen to write down the after hour number when we called the office number on the confirmation sheet, we would have never figured it out. Once we found the office and figured out the drop box code, it was fine. We checked out during office hours and the staff was very nice at that time.

2. There was evidence of bugs, although the roaches were dead so extermination seemed to be ongoing and acceptable. After living in Texas and Florida, it seemed fine to me, but my girlfriend was a little freaked out. There are bugs in HI so it must be a constant struggle to keep them under control. Letting guests know to keep all food in sealed containers (which were provided in the condo) or the fridge would have been great advice, and I recommend that to people who stay here.

Now that I know where to check in, I would stay there again. The scenery and beauty of the north shore is stunning.

Room Tip: The mountain views are really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

Beautiful ocean view. Clean at first glance but after a second look, this place has been seriously neglected. Louvered doors in the bedroom were disgustingly grimy. Kitchen cabinets needed a thorough cleaning. Upholstered furniture was threadbare. Needed a paint job several years ago. Patio furniture was equally beat up. Lots of potential due to fabulous location but definitely needs work.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAP_Kauai, Manager at Castle at Princeville, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Pleas be assured that we review all of our units on a regular basis and make upgrades whenever possible.

The cleanliness you experienced is not up to our usual standard and for this I apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our housekeeping staff to ensure this doesn't happen again.

Thanks again and we hope we have the pleasure of your company again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We stayed here in April for three days. We booked thru Kauaicalls dot com. There are many pros and few cons.
First this is a studio. And sleeps two on very nice queen bed. A studio has no kitchen or kitchenette. I think the couch is a fold out. This would be crowded with four people.
So it is a microwave, toaster oven, small coffee maker, no filter needed and apt. fridge. That translates to no sink but the bathroom to clean dishses and no disposal. There are dishes and cups and corningware. There is a bbq up the walk, very close. The lanai is shared. So if the A side is occupied, you hear it all.
Beach toys, fins, childrens boogie boards and beach towels and chairs are provided.
Hale Moi is two miles in from the road, and you can easily walk to the Saint Regis for dining, though expensive. We went to the Foodmart and bought deli. Seemed the easiest. An easy 15 minutes from Hanalie Village and main beach.
The view from the Lanai is excellent, but it is above the trees so it gives you a treehouse
kind of feel. There is no smoking anywhere on the property. Including the parking lot.
There is a parking permit for one vehicle. Fairly close walk.
All in all we liked it a lot. The owner/manager is very easy to work with, and prompt to reply to your questions or concerns.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle at Princeville

Also Known As:
Castle At Princeville Hotel
Castle At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Castle At Princeville Kauai
Address: 5300 Ka Haku Rd, Suite C, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Princeville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle at Princeville 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle at Princeville is set amid the beauty of Kauai's North Shore with scenic mountains streaming with waterfalls and spectacular views of Hanalei Bay. The resort offers a wide variety of moderate condominium units in three complexes. Each spacious suite features spectacular views overlooking Princeville's famous golf courses or coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Castle at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle at Princeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.