We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hale Moi 213 B Studio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle at Princeville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Castle at Princeville to your Saves list
Castle at Princeville
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Ka Haku Rd, Suite C, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
Kapaa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Hale Moi 213 B Studio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We stayed here in April for three days. We booked thru Kauaicalls dot com. There are many pros and few cons.
First this is a studio. And sleeps two on very nice queen bed. A studio has no kitchen or kitchenette. I think the couch is a fold out. This would be crowded with four people.
So it is a microwave, toaster oven, small coffee maker, no filter needed and apt. fridge. That translates to no sink but the bathroom to clean dishses and no disposal. There are dishes and cups and corningware. There is a bbq up the walk, very close. The lanai is shared. So if the A side is occupied, you hear it all.
Beach toys, fins, childrens boogie boards and beach towels and chairs are provided.
Hale Moi is two miles in from the road, and you can easily walk to the Saint Regis for dining, though expensive. We went to the Foodmart and bought deli. Seemed the easiest. An easy 15 minutes from Hanalie Village and main beach.
The view from the Lanai is excellent, but it is above the trees so it gives you a treehouse
kind of feel. There is no smoking anywhere on the property. Including the parking lot.
There is a parking permit for one vehicle. Fairly close walk.
All in all we liked it a lot. The owner/manager is very easy to work with, and prompt to reply to your questions or concerns.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Our 41st Anniversary trip to Kauai left us with mixed feelings!

The Pali Ke Kua Village is a nice place in Princeville, Kauai but not quite up to the par of
The Cliffs Club in which we stayed on 3 other stays in the last 2 years!

Obvious maintanence deficiencies compared to 4 or 5 star resorts in the area!
(ie: caulking smeared all around the toilets, chrome angle stops supplying the toilets painted over with traces of mildew, oven dirty and refrigerator dirty and curtains that blew dust when opened!

After we got adjusted to these disappointments we did have a good time because frankly we spent little time there!

The biggest nightmare was finding the place after dark even when we had GPS because you see there are no visable addresses only Village names to look for!

The Pali Ke Kua Village sign had little ambient light to view it by plus the amount of vegetation covering part of it!

GPS didn't help either as it said "you here" we were no way close to the actual complex!

After driving around for more than an hour I Thanked a St. Regis Valet for the knowledge of where the village was and being so helpful!

For you folks who wish to go there the best way to get there is to go all the way to the end of Ka Haku Road to the ST. Regis Resort turn around and go 2 villages up on the left to the village!

When I got to the complex I had to wonder around in the rain, in the dark for 15 minutes and finally stumbling onto the office by accident!

Luckly they were thoughful enough to post information on how to get to your room by a secret code and dialing it but I was just about to blow and had to take a timeout!!!

After settling down I found I could dial the lock and retrieve my keys + map and proceeded to my room when I missed the sidewalk because of the poor lighting!

By the way the office closed a 4PM so no one was there to help me, the Pleasant Hawaiian confirmation showed a phone number to an answering machine that didn't help either!

The office is up around the corner on right but there is no sign showing OFFICE because of HOA rules not allowing signs!!!

You will also find the complex poorly lit because of the rules because of a native bird or something so watch your step!

Now for you folks I wish to say that after the first night everything was 100% tolerable wonderful views of mountains + Bali Hai from our back porch...

Beautiful flora and vistas, wonderful Hanalei Valley, fish tacos at Kylipsos in Hanalei, lots of wonderful shops, flea markets and so much to do here!

Your going to be busy!!!!

Lots of picture taking of vistas and sea scapes from behind the complex above the cliffs here!

There are whales here!!!

Also check out the Showing of SOUTH PACIFIC at the Hyatt Kauai Beach Resort its great fun along with a good buffet!

On the second day at the Pali Ke Kua Village I went to the office to check in and met the General Manager named Jaymi Kaleiohi!

What a huge personality who was loaded with information and truely understood what happened to us!

Explaining that because of the mixed ownership she was very limited on what control or maintanence she could with because of private ownership responsibilities!

She diffused the situation by explaining everything and made us truely one of the family!

Her personality melted our anger in a blink of an eye and lets say now we love her!

Please understand that The Castle Resorts at the Pali Ke Kua Village is only 1/2 half owner approx. of the village the remainder is individually owned condos!

All in all I totally love Princeville and the perceived 4 + 5 star rating of the area but things like I experienced can leave you with a bad taste in your mouth!

Maybe you would more like using a Resort that would be more available to clients needs to save yourself great amounts of pain!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I read about almost every accommodation on Kauai, as I was really trying to make it the best vacation ever for my husband. We had decided to stay in the North as it is more lush and less touristy. After reading several internet reviews and The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook, I wasn't sure about staying at Pali Ke Kua as it got mixed reviews. I called their office and spoke with Jaymi who had INCREDIBLE patience with me. I asked her about every doubt we had: would it be a good location?, are the rooms clean?,...the list truly goes on as I was sooo worried to make a mistake and ruin our one week we finally had to vacation! With that said, Jaymi was phenomenal and found the absolutely perfect room for us. Our one stipulation was that we wanted an ocean view. We weren't willing/able to pay the St Regis price, though, for a view. Well, we ended up getting St Regis views with the added bonus of having all the amenities of a condo which were so helppul, esp. the washer and dryer as we certainly dirtied our clothes on all the adventures we went on! It was so nice having a full kitchen as well! Because we came in a night early, we ended up staying at Pu'u Poa which completely filled and exceeded our expectations and was sooo peaceful. We were hoping to be near a beach which also worked out beautifully as we had Hideaways, a phenomenal beach, within walking distance as well as Queen's Bath, a true joy to see...especially when the local keiki (children) are swimming in it! Words cannot convey how indebted we are to God for sending us Jaymi who knew exactly where to place us. We were able to finally get a little rest, be near the best snorkeling and hiking areas as well as have peaceful, clean and up-to-date accommodations. The guide book truly has missed out on this condo, but that's fine with us, as it will hopefully continue to be the hidden treasure that it is!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

We went through Kauai Calls to get Hale Moi #213 unit and had a great experience. It was our honeymoon and this place was a pleasant welcome to Kauai. The location is great, the north shore area, if you love beaches, watersports, laid-back country lifestyle, and want to get in on some serious hiking, sightseeing, and save money. With a full kitchen and plenty of beach accessories. You are set up to enjoy exploring the coast and save money on dining. There is a foodland right down the road (with excellent steaks!) open until 11pm which is way late out here. We ate home every night except the last night and saved cash! Also, making lunchs and using the coolers we were able to save on lunchtime as well. The owner Candace was extremely friendly and helpful with things to do and helping you out with any questions or concerns. The place is decorated well and lively (not for the sterile and plain tastes). The queen bed felt like a cloud, we collapsed into it every night and woke up in the same position!

The only issues we had was the King bed up on the loft gets hot at night if you don't get the fans going and the coffee maker wasn't nailing the kona coffee just right. Minor complaints for a memorable stay at an exquisite location. We definitely want to come back and bring more people with us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Montana
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed for 2 weeks early April at "Sweet Dreams", the larger side of Hale Moi #213 condo.This condo is a very good value and well managed by Kauai Calls. Comfortable, well appointed with full kitchen, laundry and beach toys. Bed is comfortable with top grade bedding. Quiet vacation and residential area and beautiful lanai view of a lush ravine. No looking into some one else's unit !

There are endless snorkel opportunities within a few miles of this location and great food nearby.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Stayed in a one bedroom oceanfront for two nights in March. Views were incredible, and we loved the wandering nenes. The steep walk down to the beach is an easy one--not a great swimming beach in the winter though. Washer and dryer was a huge bonus. We were on the bottom floor and didn't hear much noise from the people above us. Enjoyed eating our dinners on the patio as the sun set. We were in Hawaii for three weeks, and this was the most expensive place we stayed--it is overpriced. Still, the view was fabulous and we had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

Upon first glance, I found the unit (#211) to be clean enough, spacious, with a nice enough view of the mountainside. It was not long before I realized the MAJOR ISSUES with this rental. For starters, the bed (a double) was at least 15 years old, hard as a rock and crawling with bedbugs. GROSS. We opted to sleep on the futon mattress on the floor, which was not much better. The shower screams the entire time. Earpiercing fire drill style. Not kidding. The patio is actually shared with the neighbors, so if you open the door, they can walk on in, not that they did. The last straw was when I tried to boil noodles and instead ended up cooking the COCKROACH that had crawled into the stovetop. GROSS!!! The property managers response was that "she hates those roaches too". Nice. I felt uncomfortable and skeeved out the entire time I was in the unit.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle at Princeville

Address: 5300 Ka Haku Rd, Suite C, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle at Princeville 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle at Princeville is set amid the beauty of Kauai's North Shore with scenic mountains streaming with waterfalls and spectacular views of Hanalei Bay. The resort offers a wide variety of moderate condominium units in three complexes. Each spacious suite features spectacular views overlooking Princeville's famous golf courses or coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castle at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Castle At Princeville Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle at Princeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.