We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality and great value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Federico's Fresh Mex Cuisine

Federico's Fresh Mex Cuisine
5-4280 Kuhio Hwy, C-102, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
808-826-7177
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 19 restaurants in Princeville
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Good quality and great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We are Texans and have high expectations for Mexican.

This was unexpectedly good. Very good.

Even better--the cost is moderate and the portions large on an expensive island.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    69
    86
    21
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kilauea, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“save your receipt”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I live on Kauai and have eaten here quite a few times, however a few months ago I got a burrito and the price I paid at the counter, inculding tip with my cc and the price that was on my cc statement were a few dollars more. But I just ignored it as a small error on thier behalf. However I was just there recently again and just ordered a side of beans for $2.50 and my cc statment shows a charge for $5.60. I did not get a receipt and perhaps that is when they see an opportunity to add in a few more dollars. Overall food is good but staff is sneaky! I will not be eating here again as I feel ripped off by having this happen twice to me.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food in Princeville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Loved the food, it was fresh and delicious! Located in the Princeville shopping center with seating outdoors or you can take your food back to your hotel. Try the different salsas they are amazing!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very solid burritos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

A solid burrito after a long day of traveling is more than enough to make me happy, and Federico's managed to make it happen. I got a carne asada burrito which exceeded expectations.

Downsides? They were out of salsa, silverware and horchada. Having those three things is nice when consuming a burrito, but any of them, let alone all of them, are by no means essential to one's enjoyment of such rolled sustenance, so I let it slide. Chips were stale; everything else seemed fresh.

There was live music performed by a very talented individual in the pavilion outside of the restaurant, which added some nice charm to the evening burrito-eating.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great choice for Mexican food withdrawal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Loved the fresh use of cilantro,onions, avocados. Good tortillas. Nice break to take back to condo and relax. Price wasn't bad either.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Federico's Fresh Mex Cuisine also viewed

Princeville, Kauai
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to Federico's Fresh Mex Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federico's Fresh Mex Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.