We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area, but HBR’s a Big Disappointment!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hanalei Bay Resort to your Saves list
Hanalei Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful area, but HBR’s a Big Disappointment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2005

If I hadn't written ahead asking for an ocean view-- or at least very, very nice room and offered to pay extra-- I might not have been so frustrated. We were in room 1525/6 - - the furthest building from the ocean, bordering the rear of the restaurant and the maintenance area. A spacious unit, but very old and very worn with rusting appliances archaic bathrooms and ants on the floors and in the drawers. It had a nice view of trees-- not what you come to Kauai for.
Apparently, there are nicer units and others being remodeled (another noise to put up with). We asked to change rooms and were told none were available so we rented a condo down the street toward the Princeville Resort, on a bluff overlooking the water. 3-4 days after checking in, another room was offered, but we passed.
Perhaps the "non-time-share exchange" units are remodeled or have better views. Regardless, this is an old resort in an expensive tourism market and certainly, better accomodations abound.
Try the Hanalei Dolphin restaurant for dinner and Capt. Bob's Sundowner sailboat cruise . . . the Paradise Grill is a complete misnomer and CJ's is marginal at best.
The incredible views and environment compensate for the disappointing resort -- but just barely.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    280
    100
    80
    74
See reviews for
275
511
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2005

My boyfriend and I have just returned from Hanalei Bay in Kauai. We loved every minute of our 11 day stay.

We stayed the first 3 nights in Unit 4221 - it was clean, well-equipped and very spacious for a "hotel room" type unit. It even had a microwave & small fridge! The door separating us from the rest of the unit could be a little better sound proofed, but piling up the cushions from the couch against deadened the TV noise from next door. If you're on a budget, or can't get into your main condo for a day or two like us, this makes a *great* base for a few days. I'm sure that with the adjoining unit, this would be a palatial suite with a great view from the main room - our view of the ocean and Bali Hai was blocked by the tree you see in the photo, which is growing fast!!!

We then spent a week in the palatial Unit 1557/1558. WOW! The owner has gone to great lengths to make this condo feel like home, right down to a welcome basket on our arrival, beach chairs, kitchen gadgets & gizmos, a video library, guidebooks, you name it. For a couple, this was truly a palatial base for the week, a family of 4 wouldn't have any issues staying here. The view from the lanai was amazing and the unit was so private and secluded we felt like we were the only ones on the island. a 2 minute walk to the pool, parking and reception area. Perfect.

We had breakfast on the lanais every morning, the beds were super comfortable. The pool and beach were OK, but there are better beaches a short drive away. Avoid the Food Land in Princeville, their prices are aimed at the tourist market. Do your food shopping in Hanalei, they have much better selection and prices that don't make you choke. Buy your favorite cocktail ingredients here, mix them up using the blender at Unit 1557/58 and sip by the pool or on the beach for $1/drink instead of $8 or $9 each. Dinner at Bali Hai around sunset is a must. Good food and not as expensive as you'd expect. Hanalei Gourmet for Thursday night fish tacos is a must, as is their fish & chips, as is Zelos's fish special (we had ahi), Postcards for at least one dinner, Hanalei Mixed Plate for takeout (their kalua pig rocks!) and Lappert's for sinfully good ice-cream. CJ's Steak & Seafood was excellent also.

We voted Hanalei Gourmet as the best Mai Tai on the island - doing the quality control was a lot of fun ;)

HBR does seem to be full of honeymooners; almost every couple we met had just got married. We even got some strange looks when we said "no, we're just here on vacation." Go figure.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2005

My stay at HBR #1557/58 through Aloha Condos was a terrific experience. I felt so comfortable in this beautiful home and could relax as soon as I got there. The owner was so accomodating and professional and made me feel like a special guest in his home. Since I traveled alone, I was concerned about safety and security, but I felt very safe at this complex and condo. The grounds were absolutely beautiful, even though it rained a lot. I thoroughly enjoyed my week. I could only request that the resort have a more thorough sundries shop and be open longer hours - had to go to the Princeville Resort's shop for some personal items, since the resort couldn't help me out. Other than that, I had a great time and look forward to visiting other islands and using Aloha Condos to hook me up.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2005

We stayed at the Hanalei bay in the bungalow bldg condo: three bedrooms three bathrooms = the best on the property. It has amazing views of the bay and mountain waterfalls, the sunsets will take your breath away.........if it's not raining and too cloudy. This condo had rockin' multi-head showers, plush beds, large couch and dining table, comfortable patio furniture - all the comforts of home. We had a blast w/ two other couples.....plenty of room. If it's raining the golf cart "trolly" made an otherwise long trek tolerable when traveling to and from your parked car, etc.
My only complaint is the restaurant. Food was ok - service was grumpy and a buzz kill. My advise - Fill the kitchen in your condo and cook there or head down to hanalei bay or kapa'a for great food and much friendler servers.
the town of Hanalie bay is amazing and exactly what we wanted. friendly surf village, slowpaced,plenty of parking, great food, great vibe.....i'll be back for sure....and i'll stay in the same place. Stay here for at least a week if you can swing it!!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2005

From the moment you arrive at Hanalei Bay Resort it is clear that your time will be very relaxing at a property that is beautifully maintained. The lobby, the pool, and the restaurants are nicely decorated and staffed with friendly wait staff and attendants.

This was our third visit to Hanalei Bay, and our first staying in Units #4221 & 4222. The unit is a spacious 2 Bedroom and 2 bath condo (easily divided if you only need a studio or a one bedroom unit). It was well stocked with all the essentials and more. The price was a good value for the amenities offered. No doubt we'll visit again to enjoy the lovely bay view, the nicely furnished, clean and conveniently located condo. Of the many properties on Kauai's North Shore I would highly recommend Hanalei Bay Resort's Unit #4221 &/or 4222. Aloha and Mahalo to the owners!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2005

We stayed in Unit 1557-1558 and it far exceeded our demanding expectations. Because it was so well furnished and in a very private area, the condo made our visit to the Hanalei Bay Resort one of the most enjoyable weeks of vacation we have had. The Resort itself was delightful in that even though it was sold out all week, we never felt it was crowded. The location was great. Their restaurant was good. We truly recommend the Resort and would recommend that you try and get in touch with Aloha Condos and book the same Unit of 1557-1558 that we stayed in.
Don & Andrea Kaiser
Seal Beach, Ca. 90740

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2005

We had a wonderful stay in condo 4221, and our only regret was that we didn't have more time to just hang out at the resort. Having never been to Kauai we wanted to see as much of the island as possible, and only had 4 days. From the front desk and very helpful concierge to the very friendly people who drove the carts and transported us when necessary, we found no flaws in the service. Our condo was terrific. It was clean and nicely decorated and comfortable. We loved the view of the mountains and waterfall from our balcony! When we return to the island, this will be where we stay.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.