We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 weeks of paradise in a 2 br condo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hanalei Bay Resort to your Saves list
Hanalei Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“2 weeks of paradise in a 2 br condo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Accommodations are newly refurbished, all new high-end appliances, found there was nothing that we needed for comfort, for cooking and sleeping that was not already provided for!

Staff were remarkable, getting us to the right tourist activities, helping us with all our requests, friendly.

Cleanliness was the best. Top tennis resort (in the top 75 in the US....a great pro on location;
Pool fantastic for the family. We are thinking of celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary next year!

Next spring (2014) will even be better with the opening of their new restaurant (previously destroyed by a fire).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    280
    100
    80
    74
See reviews for
276
511
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were delighted with condo 6303 for a four day stay on the North coast of Kauai. With only the two of us, we did not even use the loft but the high ceilings gave a real feeling of spaciousness. This is a very roomy condo which increased the feel of luxury. The views with the sunsets over Hanalei Bay were all we imagined.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have stayed many times at this resort and never get tired of returning. The resort offers all the comforts you can ask for in a most beautiful surrounding of tropical plants, birds, water and mountains that is perfectively maintained. We particularly enjoyed our stay at unit 9123. We found the unit well equipt, spacious, with modern furniture, kitchen appliances and up-to-date TV and DVD player. What was particular appealing to my wife and myself was sitting out on the lanai and enjoying the spectacular view.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Spent a week at this resort in a timeshare exchange. Resort is in a beautiful location with very friendly staff and great amenities. Pool and beach are fantastic. Unfortunately the welcome center and restaurant are STILL under renovation - will they ever be finished?? Our two bedroom two bath unit was very large and had a nice view of the bay and mountains even though it was on the ground floor. It did need renovation and redecorating though as the bathroom and kitchen fixtures were vintage 1980's and some wallpaper was peeling. Town of Hanalei is only a few minutes drive and had several good restaurants and shops. Many good, uncrowded beaches nearby as well. Overall a terrific visit for first time visitors to Hawaii/Kauai.

Room Tip: Make sure unit has been renovated and is on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Aloha JToe2013,
Thank you for your post. We are so happy to know you enjoyed your week vacation with us recently. We are glad our accommodations and location were fantastic. We hope you had a great time checking out some of the restaurants and shops in town during your stay. Come back to visit us again soon!
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Very peaceful, ocean view, pleasant staff, family and seniors friendly. Many amenities and tons of public beaches available. Strongly recommend this property. Will return any time. Easy access to the beach. White sand, clean beach by the resort.

Room Tip: Upper floor, ocean-view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Extremely clean, immediate waste and recycling removal. No cars allowed near the units.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Aloha mica125,
We are thrilled to learn of your recent stay at Hanalei Bay Resort. We are so glad you enjoyed our amenities and the beauty of the beach. Come back again soon!
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, Ca
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Sadly, we just returned from a 10-day visit here, our first time. I can only imagine how great it is when the lobby/bar/restaurant amenities are back in service (reconstruction due to fire) estimated May 2014. It's pretty great even without it!. We loved the property--beautiful grounds and pool, helpful and caring staff, terrific views. We even got a few days of tennis in!
Be aware that this resort has many components: timeshares and privately owned units so make sure you know what you're getting! We rented a wonderful dead on view unit of Bali Hai (Mt Makana) that promised upgrades and "full kitchen." This was not accurate. I like to make meals on vacation so this was a sticking point as the sink was a bar sink, the countertops for prep very limited, appliances older. The bedspread on the king was ripping at the seams, the carpet needed to be changed out many moons ago, etc.The beds were quite comfortable! We got past it, but just not at all what we thought it would be even after several conversations with the owner!
On the other hand, my sister and her husband rented a unit that was just rehabbed beyond measure.Just gorgeous! It had a table to accommodate six so needless to say we shared some of our meals there---and she doesn't even like cooking on vacation!!
We will return but will take greater care in unit choice. If you like to email me, I will tell you the unit we rented.

Room Tip: "Be aware that this resort has many components: timeshares and privately owned units so make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Aloha AvidTraveler48,
Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are so glad you enjoyed our property grounds, accommodations, staff and views. It's great to know you visiting with family and we hope everyone's stay was successful. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future!
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The first time we saw the view we knew this is the place we wanted to return to forever. Overlooking Hanalei Bay this home to the movie "South Pacific" has all the nostalgia at a very affordable price. Many units have been completely remodeled and the rest are in process. The management and staff are here to serve and make your stay "Da Kine". (The Best). Get a two bedroom unit if you can as they all have ocean views. Pick banana's outside your room, coconuts, papaya's, mango's are all for the picking. Right next door you can stay at the St Regis for 3 times more money. We share the same beach with them.

Room Tip: All two bedroom units have an ocean view overlooking Hanalei Bay. I like the third floor as they ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.