We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's getting there, slowly but hopefully surely.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Hanalei Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanalei Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Princeville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“It's getting there, slowly but hopefully surely.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed 9/02 - 9/09 in 2311/2 nice little condo with a pretty good view. Probably the most convenient location on the property, right next to the pool, the parking lot, the beach path, the tennis courts, and close to the "lobby". The pool is lovely with the jacuzzi, and throw in the Monday afternoon Mai Tai party. Grounds are lovely and lush. Views are fabulous most everywhere you turn. Sunsets from Pu'u Poa Beach down the path by the St Regis are five star like the neighboring hotel.

The condo itself while not fancy, was clean, had all the things one would expect to find save maybe a cookie sheet or something to put a pizza on. The wall bed is comfy or so I was told... I got the king bed which was great. The wall bed does leave a too small TV next to it though. I wasn't ready to leave the north shore after a full week here, out of our two week visit to the island. There is quite a lot of competition for where to stay, but I'd seriously consider another stay here. Especially once they FINALLY get done with all the construction, since not having a restaurant or lounge or proper lobby, etc. leaves one wanting... condos are being redone as well... even saw new appliances being delivered to one. Potential is there and I hope to find what I'm looking for next trip in a couple years.

Room Tip: Get one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    515
    265
    92
    78
    74
See reviews for
259
482
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hanalei Bay resort is a beautiful Hawaiiana resort overlooking "BALI HAI" and Hanalei Bay - one of the most beautiful views in the world - it is full of heart , soul, wonderful people who work here and absolutely beautiful landscaping - we return here every year and consider it a second home - it has weathered some serious downturns and is well on the road to former glory - once the Bali Hai restaurant and Happy Talk Lounge are completed and re-opened, life will be so fine again - one caveat - an automobile or other transportation is needed on the North Shore.

Green Features: New solar installation, ongoing green efforts, orchid program, recycling efforts
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, GA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here on our honeymoon. The condo is a little older but was nice. The pool is great. It is a hike down to the beach but there are golf carts that will take you down and back. The beach was very nice and I really enjoyed my shade tree on the beach. About the only drawback was they had had a fire and the on site restaurant and sundries shop had burned so you had to go off site for all meals but it wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed in 7201 which is a great little room for a couple wanting to explore kauai and in particular the north shore. Perfect location, walk down to hanalei bay and if you can't be bothered taking the stroll the golf buggy will pick you up and drop you off! We may have been lucky with weather but we're able to snorkel, swim and fish right at the foot of the resort.
Resort staff all friendly and helpful and treated just the same as those who book direct with the resort. This room has an amazing view out to the bay as well as over the property grounds and out to the mountains.
We explored Kauai high and low and everything was super easy and accessible as long as you have a hire car. The only food choices within easy walking distance is the st regis (beautiful but pricey). The little kitchenette is workable for small easy meals as long as you are careful as the area is carpeted and the only sink is in the bathroom.
Would definitely recommend the location and the room in particular.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have better views.
See more room tips
Green Features: The whole resort switched to being solar powered while we were there!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I've been fortunate enough to have stayed at HBR five or six time over the years. My last stay was in early August 2013. There are so many good things that have already been said about HBR and I believe them all to be true. It is really unfortunate that the bar and restaurant have been under repair for the last several years. The word is that it will be done this year (but your to remember that people there are operating on island time (which moves more slowly than everywhere else). The view from the Happy Talk Lounge is one of my favorites anywhere.

If you have never been to HBR and are considering going, then I offer the following:

The staff is great and will offer you lots of help if you need it.

The grounds are beautiful and very well kept up.

The farther in advance you can plan ahead, the better room location you can get. Lots of people staying here have time-shares and book well in advance.

There is one great lagoon/resort pool with waterfalls and a hot tub. There is also a smaller circular pool. Check out the pictures on the HBR website.

The hotel is not beachfront, but has easy access to the beach. You have to walk down a somewhat steep hill. I enjoy the walk, but you can call the front desk anytime and they will send someone in a golf cart to take you down to the beach. There is also a phone at the bottom of the hill where you can call and have someone pick you up.

It will be great when the bar and restaurant re-open. Until then consider getting a unit with a kitchen. Being able to make breakfast and have beverages in you unit makes this place all the more relaxing. The St. Regis, a world class hotel, is located adjacent to the property and can be easily accessed from the same path that takes you to the beach. You can have pool side dining or high end dining at the St. Regis. It's worth checking out, even if you don't eat.

It is also an easy drive from HBR into Hanalei where there are great beaches, fun restaurants and shopping. HBR is also close to the Queen's Baths, a popular tourist attraction. The nice thing about HBR is that they do not charge for parking. You can come and go as many times as you want. But you will want to stay put.

Right in Princeville there is a grocery store, Foodland, that is less than a five minute drive from HBR and can accommodate all of your grocery needs. I recommend that you register for their Makai card and you will save a lot of money. If you are traveling with a family, I also recommend that you stop at Costco in Lihue, after you pick up your rental car to buy bulk items and save more money that way.

If you have never been to Kauai before, then you should know that the north side of the island where Princeville and Hanalei are located is the more rural side compared to Lihue and Poipu. The north side get more rain so it is generally greener and more lush. There are few strip malls and very few national chain establishments. It definitely has a more local feel.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms in the Banana building have the best view. In general, the ground floor units a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My large family group stayed in condominium 5202 with the adjoining room 5201 in late August. We enjoyed our condominium with it's beautiful views of Hanalei Bay, well-equipped kitchen, internet access, 3 televisions with cable, and comfortable beds. The balcony was roomy and allowed us to sit out and relax in the mornings. The air conditioning really did make a difference and kept all of us cool while in the condo. The resort itself was actually quite nice - providing barbeques for which we made hamburgers, 2 pools (one large with a waterfall, spa, etc, the other smaller and circular) tennis courts with $5 rentals for rackets, and access to the beach shared by the St. Regis hotel which was beautiful. The golf carts that whizzed us around were a great idea, and the staff overall was very friendly. The ongoing construction really didn't get in our way at all. Overall, a terrific stay and I'd be happy to return there in future trips to the north of Kauai.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Hanalei Bay Resort and thoroughly enjoyed the resort. There was no hotel on site due to a recent fire, but the St Regis Hotel is right next door and it was like having the best of both worlds. You will definitely need a car to get there and to explore the area. Throw away your alarm clock, the roosters will do the job. The tennis courts are in excellent shape and never a problem to get on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Aloha,
We are very pleased that you had a great stay here at HBR. We are very excited about all the work being completed , especially the return of the bar and restaurant . We look forward to to your return.
mahalo
HBR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.