We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HBR 7203” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Hanalei Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanalei Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Sale
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Princeville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“HBR 7203”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the HBR in unit 7203 in June 2013.

First of all, the unit itself- beautifully renovated and well-appointed. The view of the bay was amazing and unobstructed by other condos. The bed was very comfortable. The closet was full of beach gear (everything you could think of- snorkel gear, beach towels, cooler, chairs, umbrella, beach mats, boogie boards, etc). The kitchen is wonderful and well-stocked (bring your own spices). My only complaint is that the 7000 building is a looooong walk from the parking area, and up a steep hill. We didn't mind the walk but others might.

As far as the grounds- you could not ask for a better location for the value. The view of hanalei bay is astounding, and sunsets are amazing from the lanais. The pool is wonderful. Loved the sand bottom hot tub. The grounds are beautiful and well-kept. The beach is a 10-15 minute hike down the bluff but you can call for a golf cart if you don't want to walk. The only drawback is that the restaurant is currently undergoing renovation, so you have to drive into princeville or hanalei to grab food.

We had a group of 20 people stay here for our wedding (each family had a different unit), and everyone was so happy with the location and the value. From what we saw of other units, all were very nice. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the bay. Also you can leave your doors open all night and enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Aloha MooseJackMeg,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Hanalei Bay Resort. First and foremost, we'd like to congratulate you on your special day! We're honored that you chose our property to celebrate with your friends and family. It's great to know that you enjoyed your newly renovated unit and the view of the bay. We love watching the sunset from the lanais as well. There's no better view in the area than here at Hanalei Bay! We hope all of your guests were just as happy as you were and look forward to welcoming you all back again sometime in the future!
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    504
    260
    91
    78
    74
See reviews for
250
477
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
santa barbara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife, three year old son and I stayed the week here. We booked an owner operated unit, 2311&12
http://www.summitpacificinc.com/2311-2312.html#floorplan

The place was wonderful. Two bathrooms and nice kitchen made life easy compared to a hotel room. While we were not starring at the breathtaking view we enjoyed the pool and tennis courts. Both were in great shape. The pool was huge and was a blast for our little guy.

Another great thing about this place, it shares the same beach, literally with the next door Princeville Resort without having to pay $1000.00 a night. As the restaurant is closed on the property we did use the St. Regis dinning facilities some of the time.

Wonderful accommodations in a wonderful place, memories for a lifetime

Room Tip: We stayed in 2312 which was on the top of the three floors, on the corner and was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Aloha charlie l,
It's great to know that you and your family had such a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed relaxing by the pool. The beach is beautiful and a great place for the entire family to have fun. We hope you were able to check out much of what Princeville has to offer while you were here. Come back to visit us again soon!
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

HBR is a beautiful resort. We were amazed how uncrowded it seemed. From other visitors there, we concluded that renting from an owner was definitely the way to go. I did research and found the most beautiful unit, 6303-6304 to rent from an owner. It was absolutely perfect. Other people were not pleased when they rented from HBR. They said that they were old and worn out. Pros and cons. Pros- the pool and hot tub were beautiful. The grilling "station" was awesome. We were expecting little, dirty grills (when you think of community grills.) What we got was huge, heavy duty gas grills that seemed to be cleaned daily. We sat down there almost every evening with a glass of wine while we grilled and looked at the most beautiful scenery you will probably ever see! The cons were few. Long trek to most of the units. They had a few golf carts, but the guys driving never stopped to ask if you needed a ride. More than 4 times, we were struggling with hands full of groceries and they would drive by with an empty cart like they didn't even see you. I would suggest to HBR to maybe ask their visitors if they needed a ride. They said that you could request rides, but I would think that it would be a nice touch for the drivers to ask guests along the way. All in all, I would stay in this resort again! The view alone was amazing and worth staying here!

Room Tip: 6303-6304 seemed a perfect fit for us. Average walk from the parking lot, but close to both pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Aloha Keekmeister65,
We're so glad to learn you enjoyed your unit and the gas grills we provide to all of our guests. It's a great resource for those that wish to cook some of their own meals. We're sorry to hear that some of our staff failed to ask if you needed help when arriving to the resort with groceries. We thank you for pointing this out and will be sure to share it with our management team. We hope to welcome you back in the future for an even better stay!
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I absolutely loved Hanelei Bay Resort. The location is perfect with stunning views of the mountains and beaches. The staff were exceptional and very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, I especially enjoyed the hot tub and the hot coffee in the morning was a nice touch. Kauai is certainly one of the most beautiful islands in the world and our stay at Haneli Bay one we will never forget. Five nights was not nearly enough time, I would recommend at least 10 days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Aloha,
So glad you had a great stay at the resort, and you are correct, a longer stay at the resort is the way to go. The Hot tub with the heated waterfall and sand bottom are a big amenity for all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you next time, only longer this time.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Hanalei Bay Resort 13 years ago. Loved it then, love it now. We are happy to see they are doing some remodeling. The grounds are gorgeous, the views are spectacular. We enjoyed the natural look of the pool area and there were always chairs and lounges available. The hike down to the beach is steep but Hanalei Bay is truly paradise and the well-protected reef offers decent snorkeling. Then resort provides rides up and down the beach for those who don't want to hike it. Can't wait to return when the restaurant is completed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Aloha Kristin V,
We're so glad you could welcome you back to Hanalei Bay Resort after your last visit 13 years ago. We are renovating the resort in hopes that it should be finished momentarily. We're glad you were able to relax for a week in paradise. We look forward to welcoming you back one all renovations are complete. See you then!
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Pros:
*Beautiful view of garden/flowers, green hills with white clouds hanging, like a picture!
*Big room/patio. Washer/dryer is convenient.

Cons:
*Saw a 2" long cockroach in the kitchen crawling on paper towel, scarry!
*Room service every 4 days. With cocoroach problem, we took trash out every night to the street per front desk's instruction.
*Check out time is 10 am, too early if you go snorkeling and need a shower etc.
*Parking lot is very far from the unit. We had to drag all the luggage uphill several times. The golf carts are too busy to come by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Aloha bobolee55,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hanalei Bay Resort. We're glad you enjoyed the view from your room and relaxing on the patio. However, we understand there were some concerns during your stay as well. We greatly apologize for any unwelcomed guests you may have seen in your kitchen. We'll be sure to do a full sweep of the room. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future for an even better stay!
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hanalei Bay Resort is wonderful. We stayed in unit 3106. Close to the parking lot, close to the pool, totally amazing view!! All this yet very private. Very comfortable bed. The owner was great to work with too. This was my first time in Kauai. We also spent some time on the south shore. Love the north way better, but we did have perfect weather, no real rain to speak of. Easy walk down to a great beach & they bring you back up the hill if you want. Only negative is the restaurant not being open because of a fire. Other then that I totally recommend the HBR & unit 3106.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Aloha,
Unit 3106 is a great unit, and very close to just about everything you would need for a good vacation. We hope to have the restaurant and bar completed sometime in early 2014 , and look forward to your return trip back to our little slice of paradise.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.