We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HBR 5202” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Hanalei Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanalei Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
“HBR 5202”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in HBR 5202 for 7 nights in April 2013. Amazing views, very peaceful, and beautiful grounds. The location was great, and the condo was equipped with everything we needed. The salt water pool with waterfalls was very nice. Chuck the owner is quick to answer your emails and is easy to work with. Highly recommend!.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    267
    94
    78
    74
See reviews for
264
486
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunriver, OR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We own a two-week time share here every other year, but I was able to make this reservation two years ago for an additional ten weeks at a reduced rate. It was wonderful to be able to spend most of the "winter" on Kauai instead of my cold climate at home. The resort has a million-dollar view and is beautifully landscaped and colorful with many tropical shrubs and trees, and about fifteen separate buildings with condo units of varying sizes. The resort, with its 134 units, is now completely owned by all the time-share owners of 77 units and the individual owners of the other 57 units. It is now well managed and taken care of by good managers and happy employees, with all profits being used for upgrading and maintenance of the entire resort. A fitness center is currently being rebuilt.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Aloha Mark H,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hanalei Bay Resort. We are thrilled you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the warm weather we are experiencing on the island. Our views are breathtaking and we're so glad you agree. Please make sure to hurry back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, ca
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Hanalei Bay Resort is an older place but has many benefits and is in a great location. The interior is older and needs updating but it is very clean. During the month of April and May they are renovating the clubhouse, lobby and restaurant since they had a fire here last year, no access to these sections of the resort. The town of Princeville is 3 miles away for some great food choices, like Lei Petite Bakery for fresh baked goods and breakfast items, or try the St. Regis hotel down the road. Many have commented on the beach access don't believe it, the resort has a nice long walkway down to the beach and it is a beautiful walk and easy, but it is uphill coming back. Golfing is a few blocks away you are surrounded by greens and tennis courts. The rooms are very roomy and quiet you cannot here the neighbors.

Room Tip: Try for the Guava building they have ocean views, but really all the buildings are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha coosbaygal,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hanalei Bay Resort. We are so glad to hear you had a great time and enjoyed exploring Princeville. There's tons of great places to visit. Our resort is undergoing some renovations, but will hopefully be done in the next upcoming months. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Rented through Aloha Condos. Everything explained on site, room just like they show. Shared beach with Princeville, but not crowded - good snorkelling. Central for North Shore sites. Tennis courts, pool, hot tub great. Use the Cabana to grill while watching the sunset. It's Kauai so early to bed 'cause the roosters will be up at 5 am (anywhere on island).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha TC B,
We're happy to hear of your stay at Hanalei Bay Resort. We hope you had fun snorkeling, playing tennis, and hanging by the pool. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hanalei Bay Resorts was a great condo vacation for us. We stayed in Unit 7202 through Aloha Condo rentals, which is a 1 BR.

The pros:
-washer/dryer in unit
-beautiful view of the bay from the lanai
-grilling stations very close to the unit
-close walk to the beach (about a 10 min hilly but pleasant walk--if you can't do the walk, their golf carts will drop you off/pick you up)
-beautiful saltwater pool and jacuzzi that we unfortunately used more than we would have liked due to the unusually rainy weather while we were there
-friendly staff
-close to a nice running path that we used for our morning runs

The cons:
-The entire resort has a kind of retro-90s charm to it. It didn't bother us at all, but the unit's kitchen and bathroom were pretty dated, and the resort was probably only half full and seemed like its heyday had passed--again, this was a pro for us as it meant fewer crowds.
-while we were there (spring break) there were a LOT of little kids in the jacuzzi. And the parents had very few parenting skills. Still, not the fault of the resort.
-no internet. (maybe going along with the retro 90s theme?)
-there was no door on the bedroom. We were just friends, so it didn't matter, but if you were traveling with couples that could get weird. Why no door on the bedroom?

Either way, the cons were easily overcome. We enjoyed our stay and will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha Marie D,
Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Hanalei Bay Resort. With the beach only a few minutes away, tennis courts, a pool and a hot tub, there's tons of relaxing waiting to happen at our resort. We're glad you had a great time and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Hanalei Bay Resort was a delight! My husband and a couple of friends of ours totally enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in a one bedroom unit with 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, sadly this unit did not have a washer and dryer but there are some on site. The unit was clean, with many amenities included. The bed was comfortable, but if you want room service there is a daily charge, I don't remember how much it was but it was not more than $8-10$ a day. The staff was excellent and very friendly. The resort has 2 pools and a lenghty but breath taking walk to the beach. The resort has free scuba lessons, which we totally enjoyed, and free Mia tia during the week, this made our stay totally worthwhile! I recommend this resort!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our third trip to this spectacular unit was a charm. We also ended up renting 4301 this time around. As always the owners, Janice and Fritz Leutheuser, had their place in spectacular condition. The kitchen was beautiful with granite counter tops and fully stocked with everything needed for cooking. Comes with a stackable washer and dryer. The complex provides two pools and tennis courts. The owners provide tennis rackets, lounge chairs, boogie boards to be used at the adjoining beach at the Princeville Hotel. The units were beautifully decorated. The grounds are fantastic. We were able to BBQ at the wonderful facilities on the grounds and ate our dinner out on the lanai which over looks Hanalei Bay. This place is just so unbelievable we keep coming back. This complex seems to improve with every trip. We look forward to coming back next year when the restaurant reopens.
Thank you Janice and Fritz for another wonderful trip.

Cindy S., family and friends.
Southern California

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha Ceeerae,
We're so happy to welcome you back for a third stay at Hanalei Bay Resort. We're glad to hear how much you enjoyed your yearly unit and its accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year!
mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.