We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds and Gorgeous Views From Some Units” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Hanalei Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanalei Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Sale
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Princeville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maine
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds and Gorgeous Views From Some Units”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Perhaps, the most important thing that must be said about this area for anyone who is doing business while on vacation is that there is no WiFi unless one goes to the upper pool or lobby area. The second thing that must be said that those who work on the grounds of HBR do an incredible job as the outdoor areas are lovely and these guys work hard! The views from some of the buildings are simply some of the best in the world. The upper pool is nice but needs some TLC. Complete adjustment or removal needs to be made to the lower pool. There is a huge difference between the "owner units" and those which are "time share" or owned by the resort.

This resort is for those who are physically adept.... The tennis courts are extremely busy which is new from years in the past.

One can walk to the Pu'a Poa Beach. There is an incline up the hill back to HBR. If needed, one can call for the "cart" from a box located at the intersection of HBR and the St. Regis Hotel. The chaise lounge chairs are only for those staying at the St. Regis.

There is exciting news that the restaurant and all of the areas which were destroyed by a recent fire will again be opened by the Holiday Season of 2013

No doubt, many of the units are very badly outdated....but I think that in time..with all of the issues resolved..this could become such a fantastic location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha DRRIGBY,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hanalei Bay Resort. We're pleased to hear you had a great time. Pu'a Poa Beach is always a wonderful place to relax and one of our resort carts can take you there in just a few minutes. We hope the renovation of our restaurant and bar will be up and running by January 2014. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    504
    261
    90
    78
    74
See reviews for
250
477
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salmon Arm, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place is the pits! We stayed in unit 7108 (Banana) - its a hotel unit (ie bed, bath & TV). It is not renovated, and if I had my way, it should be demolished. It is the dampest, darkest and most depressing place I have ever stayed. The wallpaper is peeling off the walls, and it looked like mold behind it. It took 3 days for my swimsuit to dry and then it was sticky. it's a ground floor unit with no view, no air-flow and no space.
The resort itself is stuck in the 1970's. No wi-fi in the room, and only one public computer up at the front desk. The pool is slimey and the hot tub was extremely cloudy. The restaurant/bar burned down 1.5 yrs ago and is still nowhere near completion, so there is nowhere to eat or hang out with friends. Even the poolside bar is closed.
The golf carts and roosters make it impossible to sleep soundly as they are noisy from 5am to 11pm. I felt sorry for the front desk staff, as it seemed that everyone was complaining about something.
I have no heard anyone say anything good about this place, and I would not stay here again if you paid me. We even moved out to a beachfront studio unit in Kapa'a which cost less!!

Room Tip: Don't bother - I don't think there is a good room, and even then, the resort itself is a dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha bevgosling,
We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Hanalei Bay Resort. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment regarding your unit, the pool, and our amenities. We will pass along your concerns to our management team and thank you again for your shared feedback.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I feel like I need to separate my review into two parts because the room we stayed in did not meet our expectations (and we really aren't the pickiest travellers), however, the location and grounds of the resort exceeded our expectations.

The condo unit (#1105):

We rented from an owner off of VRBO.com and stayed in the building closest to the parking lot. The front entrance is off the parking lot and the back patio opens up onto lush green grounds, with the pool behind the pathway and trees/bushes. The patio view was excellent, large green mountains in the background and flowers and greenery everywhere. We did not have a problem with noise from the parking lot or from the golf carts as some others had complained. There are also roosters everywhere which we found to be hilarious (didn't really hear them at night, although we kept our patio door closed with the AC on).

The unit itself is outdated, which in itself is not an issue for us since we didn't expect it to be updated. However, the condition of the unit was poor. It didn't seem that the owners would ever stay in their own unit as it looked like no one has taken care of it for years. I would imagine it is used strictly for rentals. The carpet felt crunchy (not sure if that was a by-product of steam cleaning or..) and had stains everywhere. The tile floor in the kitchen had chips missing in many places and the baseboards were dirty and peeling away from the wall. The kitchen has what appears to be a new granite countertop (as did the sink unit in the bathroom) but nothing else had been replaced. The appliances were functional and the fridge was clean. However, we weren't able to cook in the oven because oven trays were nowhere to be found. Other basic kitchen utensils were lacking (e.g. scissors, proper cutting boards, etc). There was a blender though, which was great, and a coffee maker.

The patio doors didn't close properly, with gaps running down the middle and sides. This wasn't a problem during the day. However, at night when the bugs want to come in it is. The front door also didn't close properly and left a large gap around the bottom and sides which we had to plug with a towel, again to prevent bugs from entering.

The couch and chairs smelled very stale and over-used. The bed was fine, and clean, and didn't have many complaints about that (it is a murphy bed) but after two weeks we were kind of longing for a better mattress.

The bathrooms were fully functional but needed TLC (gaps around the tub, etc). Not a huge issue for us though.

Nice thing about this unit is that we were able to pick up the internet from the free pool WiFi most days so we didn't need to pay for extra internet service.

There were chairs available for our use which was nice.

As mentioned we aren't picky travellers but the musty smell and lack of attention given to the maintenance of this unit would prevent us from staying here again. We don't really need new, we just want a place to stay that's clean and welcoming, and we did not find that here.

The resort:

Tennis courts everywhere with awesome views and you can rent two rackets for $10 and just goof around on a cloudy day. Tennis staff were very friendly.

The pools were gorgeous, with rockwork and waterfalls everywhere and even a hottub. Unfortunately, we stayed during spring break and the pool (and hot tub, sigh) were often filled with screaming kids. That doesn't reflect on my opinion of this resort (just maybe my opinion of other people's parenting skills :) ). I recommend a night dip if you're interested in a quiet time near the pool. There is a free towel exchange service there too.

The beach was a 5 minute or so walk away. The hill is a bit steep but unless you have issues walking, it's no problem. They have phones everywhere that you can call for a ride up the hill if you're feeling particularly lazy but it was totally fine and convenient to have a little beach so close. The best beach in our opinion though was Hanalei beach (for surfing) and that was a 10 minute drive away.

Every Monday is "Mai Tai" Monday so you can hit up the pool between 4-5pm for a free Mai Tai. The staff all seemed pretty nice. Laundry is pay-as-you-go and for a wash or dry it'll run you about $1.50 in quarters.

And like other reviewers have mentioned there are roosters EVERYWHERE (as well as other birds). Get used to it, bring earplugs if you think it's going to irritate you at night.

There is still no restaurant here. Would have been nice to order some drinks by the pool but at the end of the day, you can always walk back to your room and pull out an ice cold beer from the fridge for half the cost. They are in the process of rebuilding it but it doesn't look like it will be done anytime soon.

If you stay here you will need to rent a car, FYI. Transit is not the greatest and beaches/shopping are not within walking distance.

We would definitely come back to Kauai and probably to this resort, just not this unit unless it is given an overhaul. I recommend this place to families or people looking to have a relaxing time, but not party-goers or couples looking for an especially romantic stay. Sorry for the long-winded review but I hope it is helpful.

Room Tip: Look at the resort map before deciding on a unit. Being close to the parking lot is very convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha pretty_in_punk,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hanalei Bay Resort. We are sorry to hear about the disappointment regarding your unit. While some of our resort is being renovated due to a fire, we will certainly pass along your concerns to our maintenance team. On the other hand we hope you had a good time checking out the pool and enjoying Mai Tai Mondays. We hope you come back to visit paradise again soon! TOLC - Hanalei Bay Resort - Positive Mention
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I lived in Hanalei many years ago, living & working at the Club Med! I visit often and always stay at the Hanalei Bay Resort.One can feel the spirit of Aloha, peace and tranquillity. The views are unsurpassed~rainbows, waterfalls, the river and ocean. Amazing! The hotel grounds are tropical and just a short walk to the huge pool and the beach. I have recently stayed in 6304 and 1206. Both were perfect! Kristen Greene with Aloha Condos handles my reservations without a hitch. Both condo owners keep their rentals in excellent condition. Mahalo ~and I'll be back!

Room Tip: 6304 had a king bed, 1206 had two queens. Both offered incredible views. Both were quiet and sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha Jeanie1951,
We're thrilled we can continue welcoming you back to Hanalei Bay Resort. The rainbows, waterfalls, river and ocean are some pretty amazing views to witness. We're happy to hear you enjoy the peace and tranquility of our resort as well. We look forward to your future return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The resort was very quiet and a great place to relax, swim, and explore from. The grounds are well kept, pool was beautiful, beach was nice and safe, (although too many people are ignoring the signs and walking on the reef rather than staying on the sand). Comfortable stay. Wish we had known that the building with the fitness facility and dining were not there now. Looking forward to coming back when they are rebuilt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in unit 3106 found on VRBO through a lovely private owner. I would say this is the way to go. The owner (Dale) has this studio unit and an attached 1br for lease. Dale was a pleasure to work with. The pictures were everything and more. His unit is near the pool, and parking lot although there are golf carts to catch rides with upon asking. The studio had a beautiful shower (2 person) with a view of the bay through the shower window which could be made opaque with a switch. The resort staff (everyone from the barbecue propane exchanger to the desk clerk and pool attendant) were top notch people eager to help. The grounds are beautiful and well tended to. A restaurant (damaged in a fire) is in process of being built. This was an excellent selection for our 9 day stay on the North Shore. I honestly have not one complaint, and I have had the good fortune of visiting Hawaii many times staying in a variety of places. This one will not disappoint you. Comfy bed also!!

Room Tip: 3106 is on the first floor near the parking lot and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

HBR 5202 was a beautiful condo and exactly what we needed to make our kauai experience complete. I ended up going with Chuck because of how well he handled communication, helpful hints and just all around knowing what we needed and making it happen. The condo was beautiful, location was wonderful and view.....you couldn't ask for more. The photo's don't do it justice because it is BETTER than that. It has everything you need to cook or just bring in and enjoy. The patio is awesome too and we loved sitting there and watching the birds. The only negative was the roosters that continually crow starting around 4am. It became funny after the second night and then really didn't mind after that as I think we got used to it. Working with Chuck was the best part though and some of his hints were right on for our experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Charming, Room...
Show More
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
Romantic, Mid-r...
Show More
Kauai Beach Resort
Fitness center...
Show More
Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
Aston Islander on the Beach
Room Service, B...
Show More
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Fitness center...
Show More
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.