We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3105 Yes, it is paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hanalei Bay Resort to your Saves list
Hanalei Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off Entire Stay!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cass City, MI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“3105 Yes, it is paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We traveled far from Michigan to LA and onto the Island, rented our car and knowing we had a kitchen, we stopped to shop before arriving in Princeville at 8:30pm in the dark. Following the owner's clear directions, we did not lose our way once, although in Princeville, the roads twisted through new development and golf courses. We walked into our room and being so tired, I was a little disappointed not to find a dresser to put my clothing, but tumbled onto a comfortable bed and fell asleep. Upon waking in the morning, I opened the curtains to find an incredible view of Hanalei Bay. Surf was up, up, up and as we sipped our coffee, ate our homemade breakfast, we watched surfers paddle far beyond the waves to make their break. I was thrilled to find such beauty! The air was crisp, the breeze blowing and the sunrise over the bay so lovely, it felt like a miracle to be there.
Registration for the week was easy at the desk. There is a check-in fee, a cleaning fee and a daily fee, but these were never hidden. The owner is very responsive and sends a clear, detailed list of expenses. Once payment was arranged, he sent many attachments of directions, attractions, and rules of the condo to make your stay comfortable and easy.The grounds are fabulous and are very well-maintained. The pool, although not heated, has a sand based hot tub that warms you before and after a swim if you arrive in the winter months.
Now, those are just the details of the this resort. Wait until you experience the island. There were a few times I was near tears with the whole experience of luau, snorkeling, walking the beaches, contemplating the albatross at Kilauea Point Lighthouse & Wildlife Refuge. The mountains, canyon, beaches and air offer much for your enjoyment.
Here are my highlights and tips:
* Buy a new travel guide for portable up-to-date information. Read and know what to expect.
* If you like to save a little and make your own meals, this condo has a working kitchen!
* Enjoy the resort. The hot tub is really hot. Yay!!! The pool lovely but chilly. The walk to Hanalei Bay is easy going down and a work-out coming back up. However, snorkeling is really great at the base of the path. Tropical fish abound and there are occasional turtles. It is best to snorkel in the morning. You may want a wet suit, again it was chilly in March! You can rent equipment all over, but Snorkel Bob has the best deal.
* Explore the North Shore. Ke'e Beach and beyond. Since it was winter, we did not attempt Hanakapi'ai Falls (next time?)
* Stop at Kilauea Point and visit the lighthouse. Occasional whales are spotted there, too.The lookout is awesome! There are nice places to shop in Kong Lung Center.
* Luau Kalamaku was a theatrical experience. Nicely done for visitors to the island.
* Kauai Sea Tours: What an adventure!!!! We saw NaPali Coast on the sunset tour, with whales breeching, turtles swimming and dolphins literally dancing through the waves. The captain and crew were fantastic. A nice dinner and drinks. Be mindful of the weather. If it is rough, take some medication or reschedule for another day.
* Across the street from the tour boats is Kauai's only brew pub. Some really good beers there!
* Waimea Canyon: Oh my, what a view! There are places for short walks, or long hikes. Definately check it out!
Have a great time!!!! And please leave this room for me, when I need it!

Room Tip: This room was great! I found it by browsing Pacific Summit. The owner was wonderful to work with. Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    319
    110
    83
    77
See reviews for
332
590
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Rented this unit as a two bedroom, two bath unit. King in one bedroom, two queens in the other. Each have a master bedroom. Well equipped large unit, clean, with an awesome view.
Rent from the owners. Restaurant-bar on site is not open and will likely be a year before it is. Large resort but it does not feel crowded. No cars allowed inside the resort so its quiet. Golf cart to check you in and out, or to bring you up from the beach. Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful. Beautiful grounds, well maintained. Even with construction on the restaurant is not noise.

Room Tip: Look at the resort map and pick a unit that has ocean views, also third floor seems to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

First off, the view is unbelievable. You can spend a lot of time just sitting on the balcony and taking it all in.

This place is great value with a really underated beach and amazing pool.

We were really surprised how good the fish were just snorkeling off the beach also.

This unit has many little extra's from cooking to sports equipment that make it a great place to stay, including nice and quick wifi access.

Don't be surprised when the restaurant and gym aren't open due to a fire, but that took nothing away from our enjoyment of 4302.

We had a great week and would recommend 4302 to anyone.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
169 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is probably our 5th stay at Hanalei Bay Resort...also the first time time we've stayed 2 weeks at a time. From now on, we plan to return yearly and stay 2-4 weeks...how could you want to stay anywhere else?! The staff go above and beyond to meet your needs and it is truly like coming home for us! Yes, the resort has had a few problems over the years but there is nowhere on the island that you'll have the view and truly feel the Aloha spirit, than at HBR! They are in the process of renovating the rooms and rebuilding the lobby, bar and restaurant after a fire last year. If you stay near the pool area, you'll have free wifi but if you don't, there is a nominal charge and the internet connection does work and fairly quickly. It's nice to be able to grill out around the small pool area (there is a larger pool). We don't leave the North Shore too often...we're quite content to stay in our unit (2 bedroom) as much as possible...falling asleep listening to the surf, the roosters and the birds. We had very little rain...we just returned today. Only one day was there even a hint of rain and it didn't last long at all and the rainbow it produced was so beautiful!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Even with the restaurant and bar missing (under construction during our stay) HBR is an amazing place to stay! I hadn't been back in several years as the previous trip we stayed in a unit that was not very well maintained, but with Kristen Greene's (Vacation Realty Hawaii) help found a wonderful unit that met our needs and THE VIEW was spectacular! We enjoyed all our "eat in" meals on our little patio looking out at Hanalei Bay. The pools and hot tub area are so tropical in feel and pool time was a must after a day shopping in Hanalei. We never left the the North Shore. The furthest we venture was Kileaua to the Kong Lung shop (like a miniture Gump's) and the bakery and other little shops. You might run into Pierce Brosnan, who apparently lives in the area. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

It is very important to know which actual unit your renting and don't expect a restaurant, bar, free Internet, public bathrooms, or maid service. Both the time share units and privately owned units have some shabby condos. Our privately owned unit was threadbare. I also spoke to a time share owner who said she was very dissatisfied with the condition of her unit on this trip. The positives are the views, the north shore location, and plenty of tennis.

We booked a last minute vacation in February. When we arrived our whole building was having asbestos removal work done except our privately owned unit. We had to remove the yellow caution tape to use the stairs. We were walking past hanging plastic, warning signs, tools, respirators, workmen, & dust on all three floors. Inside our unit we could hear banging. They were spraying something strong smelling in the hallway. It was not paradise. Our condo had peeling paint (asbestos....lead?), buckled carpet and it was damp smelling.

The assistant manager at Hanelai Bay, John Mahoney, was NO HELP and fairly unpleasant to chat with. He wanted to educate me about how safe current asbestos removal procedures are and how he was following all legal procedures. Did i mention all the dust we were walking thru? He was also eager to explain this wasnt' his problem because the unit we rented was privately owned. I have heard that many professionals relocate to Kuaii and are underemployed for the privilege of living in paradise. Since the talent pool is so deep on the island, Hanelai Bay Resort might be wise to address their current dirth of professional customer focused management onsite. Why book asbestos removal work for Feb break when the whole resort is booked solid? and why did no-one notify us? We certainly would not have stayed there. We only booked it a week earlier so this Asbestos work was definitely already scheduled.

Thankfully Gloria from the rental agency we used to book the unit was compassionate and totally understood our concerns. She worked diligently to get us moved to the bamboo building away from the asbestos removal project. Gloria saved our trip! Bamboo 9204 is privately owned, gorgeous, and fully updated with a fantastic view of the ocean and the mountains. Must be the nicest condo in the resort I think.


Hanelai Bay resort has very nice views of the ocean and/or mountains from the condos. The restaurant is still not open since the fire they had years ago so there is no food on site. Why is it taking so long??? Cant be the weather is bad. Luckily, there is a grocery store 5 minutes away. There is also no bar on the property. Mondays are Mai tai mixers at the pool, otherwise it's byob at the resort.

There is no water or soft drinks near the pool. We had to walk up to the front desk to get water when We swam. So pack your own water bottle. There is a coke machine near the laundry facilities.
The pool is nice BUT freezing. The ocean was warmer so we swam there. The pool has a swim up bar that was never open since they don't have a bar on site. The swim up bar would have been great to enjoy. But at least put a water cooler near the pool. It's 80 degrees out.

There is a dive shop at the pool, Deep Down under Diving i believe. We used them to do a shore dive on the southern coast. Justin was our dive instructor. He is very nice and did a Great job. Ask for him! The other 2 instructors at the site that day were unfriendly and cocky. AGAIN, lots of talent in paradise, get good help!


Plenty of tennis courts to use at the resort. The pro shop was closed early 2 days, thankfully one day they left rackets at the front desk to be rented. The pro shop also does a great job of keeping water available at all the tennis courts!

There are golf carts to help you get luggage to and from your car or get you to the beach. But they only have one employee operating them 5 days out of the week. So expect delays. Another review mentioned lots of golf cart noise. That isn't an issue in the units far away from the front desk.

The beach was great! Snorkeling was fun and the water in the ocean was warm for swimming. The town of Hanelai Bay is great to visit. The view from the resort is breathtakingand your right next door to the st regis princeville. They have fixed the ant problem I read about in another review. I noticed the ant traps everywhere.

This could be an amazing resort but it feels more like a condo you live in rather than a resort. There is very limted services to speak of. We stayed at a condo on the big island for the same price that had maid service daily, they replaced the laundry soap for you, internet was free, there was a public bathroom, a cabana bar during happy hour at the pool, shuttle survive, AND access to a fancy hotel in the area for shopping, dining,etc. At HBR There is Not enough staff at the desk or manning the golf carts. You are charged for laundry soap. There are two outhouses if you need a bathroom at the pool!! Internet was $50 per week and no maid to tidy up.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed at Hanalei Bay Resort a couple of years ago...

As someone interested in movies that have been made Island of Kauai. It was very nice to stay at a place very near the sight that was used as Emile De Becque's home....

The rooms were very nice....I stayed in both the pool view and also the mountain view rooms...

I liked that fact that we actually had beach access from the site....

The rooms of course depend on who the owners actually are....As for me..as long as it was clean and the bed was comfortable...I didn't care if it was not modernized...

I recommend the resort to everyone who I know traveling to the island.....

Room Tip: You just need to know if you want a mountain view or a pool view....and what floor you would like to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.