We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth! Cannot wait to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Hanalei Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanalei Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Sale
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Princeville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth! Cannot wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed in Hanalei Bay Resort #6203 in August for a week-long getaway to clear my mind and relax. I could not have chosen a better place to stay, and think this may be the best unit in the entire resort. (Contemplated writing that because I'm worried it will be sold out when I return -- but I couldn't in good conscience not give glowing remarks to the owners and property manager!)

The condo itself is gorgeous, and has an amazing balcony with view of the ocean, mountains, grounds and pool (but not too close to the pool, for noise concerns, and is the smaller of the two resort pools). It also has a full kitchen with everything you'll need to make meals, a dishwasher, blender, toaster, microwave, washer/dryer... They also have gear for the pool and beach! Beware of roosters who will start crowing around 4am... I guess it's all part of the experience though!

The resort is absolutely wonderful, with two pools, a hot tub, 6 tennis courts, daily activities, concierge, and the beach and St. Regis is less than ten minutes away.

I cannot wait to return to this place, aka heaven on earth!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    504
    260
    90
    78
    74
See reviews for
250
476
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We recently spent 6 nights at HBR. We booked privately through the owners which I found via summit pacific.the process was easy. the apartment was exactly as pictured and really lovely. In fact i would even say the view was better than pictures! it was truly stunning. we stayed with 2 adults and 2 kids in a hotel type room and had plenty of storage and space. the pool is lovely and the beach that you walk to from HBR is really beautiful. we took down chairs and a picnic and really enjoyed the sunset, the walk is easy. the resort will pick you up if you like. Hanalei is a great village with top restaurants. especially bar acuda. the beach there is also wonderful. this whole place really is special. HBR is a drive though and as the restaurant is being built you have to go out for everything. although the room did have a decent sized fridge and crockery and cutlery so we could have cereal every morning and make coffee. would definatly recommend.

Room Tip: this was really well located in the resort. close to pool and beach path!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long beach California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We found Hanalei Bay Resort to be stunningly beautiful, unit 9123 has an epic view, is quite comfortable, clean, and welcoming, and the staff are friendly, genuine, and extremely accommodating. The only thing preventing five stars is the restaurant/bar was lost to fire, and has yet to be rebuilt. The staff are happy to give you a lift in a golf cart down to the beach (1/3-1/2 mile down a paved path) and from there it's perhaps 100 yards to the beautiful and expensive St. Regis where you can dine and drink to your heart's content and wallet's capacity. We did that one night, took advantage of the unit's complete kitchen on numerous occasions, and grilled dinners on the top-of-the-line Weber grills next to the lower of two amazing swimming pools. As soon as the restaurant is back, this is easily a five star experience, and even without it was one of the most memorable trips of our lives. BTW this is an owner operated unit, and said owners are just as warm and friendly as their properties.

Room Tip: The Oehm's properties are in a great location, the prices are good, and the owners are super fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The surroundings are gorgeous but the condition of HBR ranges from outdated, 70's decor, broken mini-fridges, malfounctioning TV's, geese-ridden lanais to more pleasant, updated units closer to the action of the resort. Our first assigned room was down a steep walkway overlooking a drained swimming pool in a nook of the cliff on which HBR was built. After our requests to replace the broken mini-fridge & twice to correct the 1980's TV (both requests pleasantly accomodated by staff) the resulting geese poop on the lanai did it for us! The next day we requested a room change.
Our second location on the 3rd floor of a building at the top of the development was much improved and larger than "hotel room" #1 even though both rooms are classified the same. We learned from an owner of one of the condos that she & her family had originally been placed in a "disaster room" as we had but later moved on request to better surroundings. We were told on arrival that Time Share persons get first priority on better rooms & condos and that what is leftover is given to short term guests. We stayed for 3 nights through an Expedia package. Fortunately for us, an understanding desk clerk on the second day reassigned us to the better room.
On the positive side, the large saltwater freeform pool is beautiful & the employees are universally pleasant & accomodating. Parking is limited, located at the upper level of the resort, making it necessary for employees in golf carts to transfer luggage (there are no elevators in the buildings) & to drive guests to the beach at the bottom of the cliff. As the main restaurant at HBR burned down a year ago, there is no dining available on the premises. The closest restaurants & shopping are 2 miles away at Princeville Center.

Room Tip: On arrival ASK to see the room or condo assigned to you BEFORE transferring luggage & moving in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The resort has an outstanding location and good amenities (except for the fact that there is no on-sight restaurant or pool bar after a fire last year). There are two pools - one big with extensive landscaping, and a small round pool with beautiful views over Hanalei Bay and the mountains beyond. When we were there in early August there was almost no crowd - one day we had the small pool all for ourselves. We stayed in unit #4221 (owned by Joan Bettencourt), which has a balcony with stunning views over Hanalei Bay and Bali Hai (you can actually see Bali Hai from the bed). A lot of useful stuff was provided in the apartment - e.g. beach chairs, boogie board, snorkel equipment, tennis equipment - which was really useful during our stay on the north shore. Also note that the HBR share their beach (which requires a 3-5 minute walk to get to) with the St Regis Princeville. The beach has a stunning location with what is probably one of the best beach views in the world (Hanalei Bay and north shore mountains beyond), but note that there are other beaches on the north shore that you really don't want to miss (in particular Tunnels Beach, but also Ke'e Beach). So if you don't have an enormous budget, stay at the HBR instead of St Regis and just snap some pictures at the HBR/St Regis Beach (Pu'u Poa Beach) - you are gonna want to go on a lot of half day/day trips anyway. Unit 4221 is highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jebett, Owner at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and loved the North Shore of Kauai as much as we do. There should be big changes with the rebuilding of the restaurant and bar in 2013 and I look forward to your return to Kauai and enjoying a mai tai by the pool.
Tack så mycket,
Joan and Bill Bettencourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I have been to the Hawaiian Islands about 20 times staying in both top tier hotels and privately owned condos. In other words, we are experienced and discriminate about where we stay with our limited vacation time. We just spent 9 nights/10 days in Units 4105/6 at the Hanalei Bay Resort and we both give it our highest recommendation. The location, the owners, the resort, the town of Hanalei: it was one wonderful package. Oh, and before I forget, I've already re-booked for next August in the same units.

Please, do yourself a favor before you read any more here. Go online (google “Hanalei Bay Resort”) and find these units and drink in the beautiful pictures of the unit and the resort posted by the owners. Nice, eh? That pic with the two wine glasses? Yeah, the real deal and believe me, it is so much more incredible in person. The rainbow pic? We saw 4 from the main lanai at these units during our stay. It sounds like boasting, but being there I can say that the pics are so inadequate. Let's just say that these units are so perfectly situated with gorgeous views of the bay and mountains right on your patio. Make yourself a cup of coffee (or pour yourself a glass of wine) and just be astounded by Kauai's north shore beauty.

Make a mental note of one other important thing as you review your other choices. These units are the owner's units, i.e. this is the place where they stay with their extended family when they come in from colder climes. So the extra details/amenities just jump out. Which means, of course, flat panel TVs in every room (not that you'll ever turn it on), wif-fi, wonderful king sized beds in both bedrooms, solid, tasteful furniture and decorations, a modern, well-appointed kitchen, and large bathrooms with tremendous counter areas and drawers. Just a ton of non-standard upgrades throughout. Huge top end refrigerator and range. All the critical pots, pans, and accessories. Dishware, glassware and silverware are exceptional. BTW, who has a full size electric griddle in their rental unit? These units do.

These units are air conditioned (I believe most of the units in Hanalei Bay Resort have this amenity), but this was important to us in the summer months so keep this in mind if you are coming in the summer and want this feature.

For us, the location (just outside the town of Hanalei and above the St. Regis Resort) was perfect. So many wonderful beaches (and including the one below the resort which is the St. Regis main beach), good basic stores (Ace Hardware and the best grocery store on the north shore are 5 mins away) and truly unique/fun stores (in Princeville and Hanalei). Honestly, we hated leaving to go to the south shore for a couple of sightseeing trips out of Port Allen.

The resort is very pretty and well run, but the truth is my wife and I are beach bums (not pool people) so we didn't take full advantage of the pool and multiple, well maintained, tennis courts. The little run around carts are wonderful and a nice bonus (they are free!). They will pick you up and take you anywhere on the resort anytime. We used them several times when we were at the beach below the condos or visiting the St. Regis restaurants. Be thoughtful and give the very nice and friendly drivers (well, that's our experience) a small tip.

The owners (Jane and Ken) are easy going and will patiently take as much time as you need to answer your questions either by phone or online. Believe me, they want you to enjoy their condos as much as they do when they are in residence.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed at this unit in late August for 3 nights. The unit is well maintained and clean. There is a good view of the bay and mountains but not "Bali Hai". There is a building to the right which blocks some of the view. We did use the A/C as the cross ventilation did not feel sufficient for us. This unit has the refrigerator in the bathroom, and closet has the coffee pot and few utensils. Microwave is under the TV. There is only one sink in the bathroom to rinse dishes. Other studio pictures show the "mini-kitchen" in more logical placement. The grounds are beautiful with nice pools and tennis courts. As other have noted, there is no restaurant. The path to the beach is a good workout but you can call for the gold cart if needed. The beach was calm and had clear waters. You can walk out to waist high water in some areas without running into rocks or reefs. If you walk west under the trees, around the bend you can see Hanalei Bay. We drove to Princeville Center and Hanalei for meals. There is free wifi at the checkin area. There is also a PC there but the printer did not work the night I needed to print boarding passes

Room Tip: Read reviews and Princeville forums on advice about which unit to rent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.