We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis Princeville Resort

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com StRegis.com
and 11 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Princeville
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was a bit skeptical this place would be as beauitful as they say, but these views really are stunning. I think the mountains in Kauai are too unstable to build on or something, because there is no development on the hills, and so it views stay SPECTACULAR. We say some amazing sunsets there. We had an oceanfront room on the 11th floor, which was beautiful.

Service was great. Make sure to bring LOTS of ones because everywhere you go there is some service person who you need to tip.

Food is extremely overpriced, so be mentally prepared to spend another few hundred per day per person on food and drinks if you eat at the hotel and drink wine.

Breakfast buffet is $38, plus tax and service. Dinner entrees are $40 at least, and poolside cocktails $16 each (and very weak).

Unlike Koa Kea, these guys know how to monetize your stay.

Room Tip: Our oceanfront room was gorgeous. We used points..I'm not sure at all whether it's really w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    963
    251
    118
    57
    35
See reviews for
297
919
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights in Nov. 2013. They gave us a suite upgrade overlooking the Hanalei Bay on the top floor which was very much appreciated (I have SPG platinum status). The suite, of course, was very very nice (they have a window in the bathroom with a switch that makes it opaque -- some LED technology I heard). Hotel staff here were super nice, and very knowledgeable about stuff to do, where to go, etc. The dining options are somewhat limited in this area, especially when the bridge to Hanalei is closed. But I heard the bridge closes only a few times a year (unfortunately it did when I was there due to rain).

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Aloha e9000.

Thank you for taking time to share your expereince with us after staying at our Resort. We apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional and that the Hanalei Bridge was closed during your stay.Luckily it does only close a couple times during the year, we hope you will return to our island again so that you can experience the North shore and all its wonderful landscape and charm. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and were upgraded to a suite. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Imagine Hawaii at its ultimate finest. Waking up in a luxurious room after a long night's rest. Opening the door to the veranda to see the sun reflecting off the bright blue water that is framed by a lush green lawn and a huge tropical tree. Stepping out onto the patio to watch early morning surfers on the bay in front of jagged mountain edges rising right up out of the water. As you scan the green hill sides you can see water falls flowing down the side of the jungle faces. Later in the day heading out to the hotel beach and lounging all day being served cold drinks and snacks by the attentive staff.

This is just a small taste of what it is like at the St Regis Princeville. My wife and I spent the first part of our 10 year anniversary trip at this gorgeous luxury hotel and will never forget our stay. There is a reason this hotel has been used in so many movies and why it is so popular for the tourist and the stars alike.

The hotel is absolute first class from check-in to check-out, from valet to pool side service. This was a dream come true hotel experience and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Aloha ggainer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent Anniversary getaway at our Resort. We are pleased to hear you choose are Resort as part of your Hawaiian getaway and we would like to congratulate you again on your 10th Anniversary. We appreciate all of your wonderful words and hope you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality and aloha spirit,

With warmest aloha and mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The most beautiful view of the mountains. Pool restaurant had good food can order from the beach. This is 1 of the top hotels on the Island. But the pool bath needs some fixing up. Most of the staff are very friendly. We love the North shore this is the place for the view. The parking is $30.00 a day. Most drinks $16.00 Hotel prices starts at $400.00 and up. The place is just beautiful, way over priced. If you got the bucks it is a beautiful place stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Aloha Alohahappy,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your most recent experience at our Resort. We appreciate hearing feedback from our guests and I have shared your comments with our staff. We are pleased to hear your enjoyed our staff and pool and I have shared your concerned about the bathrooms with our Management. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivia, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

This is our 5th night and we have found a relaxed retreat with exceptional service. Very happy we choose the St Regis as the base for our daily adventures. We like to explore all day and come back to the resort to have a comfortable and relaxing room. The pool, hot tub and beach are perfection. The beach is calm enough to swim when all the others on the north shore are not safe. Walking through the lobby is a treat. This is one of the most beautiful resorts in the world with a spectacular view. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Aloha Travel2livewell,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review while you are still visiting us. Being able to hear your feedback gives our staff a great sense of pride and we are pleased to hear you are enjoying your stay. Our exquisite atmosphere and genuine staff makes us a truly unique destination and we appreciate your acknowledgment. We look forward to welcome you back for many years to come and look forward to hearing from you soon.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

From the drive there and check in, until we reluctantly checked out, our stay was every part of 5 stars. The lobby took our breath away when we walked in. Floor to ceiling windows all around, many times overlooking hazy mountains. Restaurant outside these windows and on lower level. Big resort but easy to find everything once you get directions. Our room overlooked the bay and mountain with a spectacular sunrise and sunset every day. We also had a fridge brought to our room upon arrival within 5 minutes. Staff was friendly and efficient, especially in suites. Air conditioning was great since it is very humid there. Window seats in rooms with wall to wall windows that open up to full screens. Service in lobby bar was a little slow and closed too early. Only place for after hours socializing was in town or around the pool, it was open 24 hours and we did sit out there with friends, no problem (when quiet). Close to casual dining in local town, cute shops, amazing helicopter tours basically at the entrance to hotel. Highly recommend them. Could go on and on. My new favourite Hawaiian Island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Aloha Judecat1961,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us, we are pleased to hear your stay has made an impact on your favorite Hawaiian island choice! Our staff takes great pride in working for the Resort and we are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional. Having captivating view of the green lush North Shore of Kauai is truly mother nature at her finest and you can now see why our island is referred to as the "Garden Island". It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I would definitely go back here again. The hotel standard is excellent, the rooms very fresh and the service immaculate. The view from the breakfast table is something I could live with every day. The poolarea and beachfront is very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Aloha Crummond,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent visit to our recent. We appreciate hearing feedback from our guests and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Hotel
St Regis Princeville Hotel
St Regis Princeville Resort
Princeville Resort
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Princeville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2006 AAA Four Diamond Hotel Award winner, Hawaii's St. Regis Princeville Resort offers 23 idyllic acres for rest and play. Luxurious dining, spa, swimming, and golf on the northern shore of Kauai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis Princeville Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St. Regis Princeville Resort to your Saves list