We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis Princeville Resort

Save Saved
You added St. Regis Princeville Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Princeville
Clovis, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a really beautiful property with excellent service. We had a partial ocean view room on the 4th level and we enjoyed the windows that opened to our beautiful view. The room had a marble tiled bathroom and amenities that showed they paid attention do detail. We have stayed at some Four Seasons properties and felt this easily rivaled those amenities and services. We especially enjoyed the pool area where there was plenty of room. We also didn't realize the property has its own small beach. Since our stay here was to celebrate an anniversary, a birthday, and the completion of grad school, we treated ourselves to a dinner at the Kauai Grille. We were not disappointed. Great service and wonderful food with larger portions than we expected. Lastly, we were surprised with a bottle of champagne in our room and a note of congratulations. No, it is not inexpensive but if you want to splurge you will not be disappointed. We plan to return and stay longer as soon as we can! What a great place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,030
    268
    127
    57
    37
See reviews for
315
973
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

While staying at the St Regis Princeville on our honeymoon we were offered a complimentary photo session with Pacific Dream Photography. We wanted to thank them for making our honeymoon so memorable. We will now have our beautiful photos to forever remember our time in Kauai. We had such a great experience working with the photographer Michael. He was very professional, but also funny and made us feel very comfortable. We reviewed the finished products with Jorge, who was so nice and let us have as much time as we needed to make the difficult decision of narrowing down our choices. We ended up ordering the digital files so we could share on Instagram/Facebook and then also be able to order prints to frame. Overall, we highly recommend using Pacific Dream Photography for any occasion because of the high quality of the photographs and the environment in which they create to take the photos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are rather old and not modern at all...
Not as big as it looked on website.
Does not feel luxurious as one would expect from a 5star st Regis.

Location is pretty good with princeville shopping mall just beside.

Hanalei bay is 10mins drive away where you can find a very decent Spanish restaurant and Japanese restaurant (blue dolphin).

Told hotel it's our anniversary trip but hotel did nothing special for us...

Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is outstanding! This hotel is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in for a number of different reasons. The service is outstanding and the views are some of the best in the world.

The check-in process is quick and easy. As platinum guests, we were provided an upgrade to an ocean view room for the first few nights. For the second half of the stay, we were upgraded to a junior suite. After seeing both rooms, I cannot imagine having a bad room/view in this hotel.

In the junior suite, the bathroom has an awesome view. The shower wall is glass and you can see the water and the mountains from the shower. The shower glass has a privacy switch that allows you to close the window for privacy.

The pool is fantastic. There are plenty of pool chairs and you have the option of sitting by the pool or on the beach. There are plenty of umbrellas so you don’t have to worry about finding the few chairs in the shade. The pool is heated. The water is very comfortable and is kept at a perfect temperature. The hot tub is very hot!

The pool service is great. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. I recommend talking with them about your activity interests and restaurant recommendations. Kaipo, Noah, Gina, Michelle and Rachel are some of the best staff at the pool.

Finally, the views are just amazing. You can watch the sunset from your pool or beach chair. There are beautiful flowers everywhere and the hotel property is very well maintained.

The valet is quick, easy and also very friendly. Edie, who works the valet, is one of the nicest staff members at the hotel. The valet provides directions, towel service and bottled water service.

The food and drinks at the pool are very good but really expensive. The breakfast buffet at the terrace is good, but also very expensive. Mililani is one of the friendly hostesses at the restaurant. If you are looking for some off property restaurants close to the hotel, I would recommend the Dolphin or Bouchons for sushi.

Thank you to all of the wonderful St. Regis staff for providing an incredible experience. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our St. Regis Princeville Resort experience was quite pleasant. As recent newlyweds, my wife and I were wowed by the attentive and friendly service from all staff. Upon arrival, the guest services staff greeted us with beaded necklaces. The arrival process was seamless as we never handled our luggage. The Front Office Staff- Sean and Chantel (trainee) registered us and repeatedly thanked us for booking through American Express Platinum. They even enrolled us into the Spg loyalty program. Although we were not offered a room upgrade, we were overall satisfied with our room accommodation. The Front office staff graciously welcomed us with a personalized note and a champagne amenity.

Our seven night stay was thoroughly enjoyable as the concierge staff (Ryan Watkins, Scott Bacon, and David) assisted us in booking ziplining and snorkeling activities. We dined at all food and beverage outlets and felt that the food was good, but not great. Dining at Kaua'i Grill is highly recommended. I ordered the Parmesan-crusted Chicken with duck fat fried confit and my wife ordered the Onaga and were quite pleased with the preparation and flavor. Our server Dusty was professional and polite.

The pool attendants stood out as going above and beyond in delivering service. Although it may seem over-the-top to escort each guest to their preferred chaise lounge, there is a real purpose. Special thanks to Rommel, Rocky, Roddy, Scott, and Kaipo for their service.

I highly recommend staying at St. Regis Princeville particularly if you book through American Express Platinum. The benefits included breakfast buffet for two daily at Makana Terrace, a $100 resort credit, and a complimentary 4pm late checkout. My wife and I took advantage of these perks. Be sure to ask for a room upgrade and ask for a room above the fourth floor. Also take into consideration the lunchtime dining options on property are limited to poolside dining at Nalu Kai Grill.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the fourth floor overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife & I plus another couple chose this resort recently for a 1 week stay in Kauai, Hawaii. Although quite expensive, we found the rooms, food, location & activities quite to our liking. While not in the middle of the hustle & bustle,this property is in a great area for plenty of outdoor activities including Kayaking, swimming, hiking ,surfing,golf, sight seeing, etc. The views of the ocean & mountains were expansive and the property atmosphere was conducive to a great trip. 1st class all the way!!!

Room Tip: Ocean views are super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha WFN10,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at our Resort. The captivating view holds your mind at repose and allow you to enjoy every moment that the quaint North Shore has to offer. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and it would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My trophy Bride and I just spent 3 magnificent days at the St. Regis Princeville resort. The views are breathtaking and the service makes you think you have won the lottery. Their 5 star restaurant Kauai Grill gave us one of the best meals of our life, that included excellent service. Our room was fantastic with a great view and their pool area is luxury personified. The stay though expensive was worth every penny. So if you are making a Bucket List for places to be sure to visit before you go the Heaven come to the St. Regis Princeville Resort and get some of that Heaven on Earth!

Room Tip: Try to get an Ocean View on the 4th floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha Wetsu64,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your most recent experience at our Resort. We are truly pleased to hear your stay was exceptional and we appreciate your acknowledgment. Hearing feedback such as yours is one of the many reasons our staff takes great pride in working for the St. Regis brand. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2006 AAA Four Diamond Hotel Award winner, Hawaii's St. Regis Princeville Resort offers 23 idyllic acres for rest and play. Luxurious dining, spa, swimming, and golf on the northern shore of Kauai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis Princeville Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.