We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis Princeville Resort

Save Saved
You added St. Regis Princeville Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Princeville
Winter Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We didn't stay at the St. Regis, but we were advised to stop by and check out the most expensive hotel on the island with the million dollar view. We did and it is! What an incredible view of the northern mountain from the hotel. You can actually see a 1000 foot waterfall on the side of the mountain from the hotel. The hotel itself has an enormous winder to see the entire mountain skyline. All I can say is wow!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Aloha Traveling O,

Thank you for taking the time to stop by and partake in the wondrous views from our Resort. Mother Nature truly took her time when she created the Makana Mountain Range. We hope you will return to Kauai soon and choose to stay at our Resort so you may have the complete experience of the St. Regis Princeville.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,038
    272
    127
    57
    39
See reviews for
319
981
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here the year before the major remodeling (a few years ago). We had an ocean view villa. The view was outstanding. We can see the ocean and the waterfalls. The hotel was nice. You can tell that the remodeling was needed. The pool area was good and offers a good beach area. You need a car for this location...love the grounds area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I just returned from a wedding/vacation at the St. Regis and was so amazed by everything! From the moment we stepped out of our car I was impressed. The valet staff was amazing, the front desk staff was so welcoming and nice....where ever you went you were recognized and greeted by name! Everyone went out of there way to make sure our stay was one of the most memorable vacations ever! I haven't stopped talking about this place since we got home! The only bad thing about our whole stay there was forgetting our seashell leis hanging in our room! :( Just means we will have to try to make it back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Aloha BonnieD1231,

Mahalo for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your most recent stay at our Resort . We are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional and it we hope you will return to us in the near future.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family recently returned from the St Regis and I don’t normally take the time to write a review- but I just have to. My husband and I brought our 3 kids and stayed with you for 5 nights. The property itself is spectacular. However that’s now what struck us the most. The service was impeccable from the minute we pulled our car up to the valet. Everyone greeted us by name, could not have been friendlier or kinder to the kids and just absolutely blew us away. The concierge services were also terrific and they helped us plan many fun excursions.
I absolutely fell in love with the St Regis and we can’t wait to come back someday. We are from MA so it’s quite a trip- but I have already recommended your resort to many friends.
We are avid Starwood members and by far this is our favorite property to date.
Just wanted to pass that along- I too am in a service industry and all too often people only want to talk about what went wrong. You should be commended for setting the standard for what service should be.
Have a great day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

As a platinum SPG member who's been to many many many starwood properties around the world, I can confidently say that this is one of my favorites, if not my favorite. The hotel is gorgeous, the island is amazing, the food is fantastic, the spa is awesome, and the service is second to none. Came here for my wife's babymoon and her 30th birthday. My only regret is that I didn't stay longer. I cannot WAIT to go back.

Room Tip: I upgraded to an ocean front junior suite. Comes with St Regis butler service where they brought us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Aloha Toejanious,

Mahalo for writing such a gracious review. We truly value our SPG Members and we are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional. Our staff takes great pride in being able to provide bespoke service to each and every guests and on behalf of the entire St. Regis Princeville staff we hope your wife thoroughly enjoyed her Birthday getaway and much needed rest before your bundle of joy arrives. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back soon and hopefully with a addition to your Ohana.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Booked our honeymoon at the St. Regis Princeville Resort using Costcotravel.com. Our package included a free upgrade from a Premium Ocean View Room to a Jr. Suite, free daily breakfast buffet, and car rental. One of the main reasons we chose this resort was the location. Our view overlooked the Ocean and Bali Hai (Makana Mountain) which is absolutely breathtaking. The North Side of the Island is the rainy side of Kauai. Fortunately, we went during their lowest rainfall period in the year (July). When we entered our Jr. Suite we were nicely surprised to have a bottle of champagne waiting for us for our honeymoon. The Jr Suite includes a butler service. They brought us coffee every morning in a French Press. We also used the butler service to press our clothes which was complementary. They will also unpack and pack your clothes for you. In the bathroom, there is a window next to the tub, so you will be able to have a nice view while taking a shower or bath. There is a switch in the bathroom that can change the window glass for privacy. Ate at the restaurants Makana Terrace and Kauai Grill at the hotel. The Kauai Grill is a Jean-Georgges Vongerichten restaurant. It's probably the best restaurant on the North Side of Kauai. Tried snorkeling at the resort, but I was not impressed. We drove to Tunnels Beach on the North Side of the island. I read reviews that it's supposed to be the best place to snorkel during the summer months. Ate at a couple of restaurants in Hanalei (neighboring town). I recommend eating at BarAcuda. It's a tapas style restaurant. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I would stay here again if it is over the summer time. Mahalo!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Aloha Windycitytravelguy,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our Resort. We are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional and hope you enjoyed your Honeymoon getaway. Our signature Butler service and Prince Junior Suites are truly a unique experience and being able to take advantage of the services they provide is the best perk of your package! We hope you will return for many years to come and have our Resort be the address for your Anniversaries!

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our family had a very nice stay. The attention to detail was excellent. Our room upgrade was perfect and our butler met us upon checking into the room. The pool is great, a little deep for our young kids. Furthermore, my wife spent two mornings in the spa. Overall great location, room and service.

Room Tip: Closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Aloha Txdelphia,

Thank for you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience while staying at our Hotel. Hearing feedback from our guest is one of the many reasons our staff take great pride in working at our Resort. It would be our pleasure to welcome your entire family back to our Resort in the near future.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2006 AAA Four Diamond Hotel Award winner, Hawaii's St. Regis Princeville Resort offers 23 idyllic acres for rest and play. Luxurious dining, spa, swimming, and golf on the northern shore of Kauai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis Princeville Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.