We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a bit special...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis Princeville Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added St. Regis Princeville Resort to your Saves list
St. Regis Princeville Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More than a bit special...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Nestled on the north shore, this St Regis hotel is a destination in itself. As you'd expect the customer service is flawless and the rooms are stunning. However, what gives this hotel the edge are the breathtaking views of the mountains, sunrises and sea. It's a special, special place.

We tried all the restaurants in the hotel and all were very good - the Kauai Grill was the pick of teh bunch. The only slight negative is that I would have liked a cosier bar area, typical to big American hotels, it's more of a lounge so sitting with a cocktail on a big sofa isn't so intimate.

In summary though, a slice of heaven, I'd be very happy retiring here one day!

Room Tip: Take a sea view to watch the sunrise from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Aloha Joffoutlaw,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent Hawaiian getaway. We are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional and that you would love to retire here one day. Having a captivating view of Hanalei Bay and the North Shore of Kauai is truly Mother Nature at her finest. We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    299
    133
    61
    40
See reviews for
339
1,038
25
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Beautiful hotel from the setting, to the service, to the hotel itself. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were warmly welcomed. We occupied a suite while we were there plus an additional room. Since we went in June, we enjoyed beautiful weather. My friends have told me that during the winter, the north side of the island receives substantial amounts of rain, so probably wouldn't stay here during the winter. Peaceful and quiet. Very romantic.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just returned from an 8 day stay at the St. Regis in Princeville. This was our first time to Hawaii and we are so glad we chose Kauai!! We stayed at the St. Regis the entire time, and really enjoyed our vacation. The resort is beautiful and is set in Hanalei Bay. It is about a 40-45 minute trip from the airport in Lihue, depending on the traffic. Once we arrived, we were greeted by a very friendly staff and very nice rooms. Though we were told we didn't have "ocean view" rooms, we could see the ocean, beach, and the beautiful mountains. Our view was stunning. We ate dinner the first night within the resort, and the food was very good, though very pricy. You are allowed to bring your own wine to restaurants in Kauai, and I would suggest doing so. The Foodland grocery store in Princeville Center had a good selection, and there is also a wine store there, as well. The hotel has two fairly decent exercise rooms, it is a very clean resort, and the staff are amazing. The bar is beautiful and the breakfast buffet is great. We included breakfast in the price of our rooms and glad we did. There are a couple negatives. The lunch served poolside is not great. The menu is limited, and the items are expensive, and not what we would have expected at a St. Regis. The drinks are pricy, and on our last day there we had to return 2 daiquiri's due to the lack of any flavor. The staff agreed and remade them for us. An upgraded menu is much needed for lunch. The beach is also not private. Guests at the Westin are allowed to use the St. Regis beach, along with the chairs, which makes getting chairs and umbrellas somewhat of a challenge. It is first come, first serve, so during busy times, I suggest getting your chairs and umbrellas early. The beach is nice, mostly a coral reef, but pretty. The activities desk has a lot of water activities, though nothing is included in the price of the room.

Unless you have a car, or wish to walk, there is no shuttle for the golf courses. It wasn't too much of an issue for us, but just an FYI.

Dinner suggestions: Monday and Thursday nights at Hannalei Gourmet is Fish Taco night. We ate there twice, tacos were great! Bar a Cuda is great. Ate there twice, as well. Went to The Dolphin and had sushi, and one entree item. Skip their entrees and stick with the sushi. Also dined at Postcards. Cute place, least favorite meal.

We would definitely go back to the St. Regis and we loved Kauai!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Aloha Biggydc,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The St. Regis Princeville Resort. We are disappointed that your stay was anything less than exceptional. Bringing these details to our attention allows us to improve and I have shared your concerns about lunch with our Executive Chef. I am pleased to let you know that our Executive Chef is in the process of creating a broader menu for Lunch and I have informed the bar staff of the challenges you faced with our cocktails. We apologize that you did not receive the utmost attention and availability while beachside as well. Our beach access in the State of Hawaii is public and although Westin guest are allowed to come down to property they are not allowed to sit in our beach chairs or use our pool during the visit. I have shared your feedback with our Pool attendants and security so that we can monitor our areas better. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality as well as a chance to regain your confidence in our dining facilities.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a gorgeous but weird hotel. Pictures make it seem airy which is inaccurate because the structure is built into the side of a cliff.

Plan to travel on 2 elevators (separated by a long hallway traverse) to get from the beach/pool level to the lobby level. We have a terrace room (pool side) which is a bit claustrophobic as you have 9 or 11 floors of heavy structure above you. Because the elevators are so slow (and run down), you feel trapped on the lower levels.

$30/day to park and $15+ drinks simply antagonize guests. I hope they'll let us move tomorrow. Otherwise, I'll continue posting at 2:00am (can't sleep here).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Aloha 1girl3boys,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay at The St. Regis Princeville Resort. We regret to learn of the challenges you experienced during your stay and we apologize. At the St. Regis Princeville we continuously strive to offer exceptional levels of service, which in this case we have failed to deliver. I have shared your comments with our Senior Managment team and we hope you were satisfied with your move to another room. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to regain your confidence in the St. Regis brand.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the St. Regis Princeville Resort on June 3rd through June 9th, 2013. My wife and I were celebrating our 5 year anniversary and we could not have asked for a better resort. The resort sits on the best location directly on Hanalei Bay and you get a perfect view of the sunset every night from the huge windows overlooking the bay at the St. Regis bar. The staff treat you like royalty and they take care of everything you could possibly need. The hotel even gave us a bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary. The room was exquisite and we would have never left the room if there wasn't so much to do on the island. If you want to go somewhere unique and special to celebrate with your significant other, there is no better place. We hated to leave but we will make a return trip to the St. Regis! Mahalo St. Regis Princeville!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms overlook the bay so make sure you stay in an ocean view room so you can wake up an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I've stayed at this property before, but it had been a couple of years since my last stay. I have to say that this place never disappoints. It's simply beautiful, and the service is wonderful! I definitely would request a room facing the water. It's super close to some beautiful snorkeling and diving at Tunnels beach. The town nearby has few cute restaurants. I have to say that the best dining was at the Hotel. Breakfast is really nice, and even the poolside food was great! I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Aloha MiamiBeachPaul,

Mahalo for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your most recent stay at our Resort. We truly appreciate your feedback and endorsement of our Resort. Hearing reviews such as yours is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of the St. Regis brand. It would be our sincerest pleasure to welcome you back soon.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is our 4th Kauai vac and 3rd stay at Princeville, clearly we are big fans of Kauai North Shore. Previous 2 stays were during the Luxury Collection brand, and this review includes comparison info. We loved the former (very European & elegant) all dark marble lobby, and were dismayed about the prospect of changing it. We were pleasantly surprised by the new lobby with warm wood columns and blown glass chandelier, and it actually seems quieter/more serene & less echo-y & hectic than the previous lobby. Though there is reduced mega view as one step into the lobby, most of the view is still there. Major points are summarized below:

1. The spa is now prominently & conveniently located in the lobby, its amenities/design and staff were all excellent. We booked massage (& recomm booking well in advance of arrival to get best pick of day & time your choice, there is a 4-hr rqmt wrt cancellation or change), and the spa facility was avail till 7PM day of the service with in & out privilege.
2. Of course the amazing site & views are still the best, and rooms are good as before.
Overall really elegant ambiance throughout the resort.
3. Just as before, service & cleanliness were both excellent (see a few exceptions noted below): friendly, prompt, and courteous from valet, front desk, pool side (they helped us to open a whole coconut!), Bar (for Afternoon Tea), Makana Terrace bkft buffet, housekeeping, Concierge, & maintenance.
And we did not get the feeling (as noted in a few reviews) that staff needed extra tips to perform.
4. There were phone and/or paper msgs to follow up a mtce repair request, or when a Turndown service was not done bec we had the "Do Not Disturb" light on. There were also reminder msg for our spa appointments, or before checking out.
5. There was a nice welcoming gift sent to our room, as well as a gracious invitation to a reception by the General Mgr & staff. We really appreciated these gestures!
6. Breakfast buffet was fantastic, though now without the full Asian bkft items as previously
and we do miss these.
Staff was excellent every day, and none of the slow service or other issues noted in a few TA reviews.
7. Fitness Rooms are greatly improved from before (used to be a small room pool side that was tight on space & no view). Now there are 2 spacious rooms fully stocked with towels (including chilled ones in the 9th floor room), bottled water, apples, and full range of updated equipment & full audio/TV capabilities. The 8th floor Exercise Room has great view too!
8. Business Ctr rooms well designed & supplied, and we printed boarding passes easily.

A few areas of improvement:
1. Check-in after 2PM: after being told that room won't be avail till 4PM,
we asked the young man (stocky build with black hair) for bottled water and he said "these are in the room".
What good would that be if we couldn't be in the room for another 2 hrs?
Then he said "Oh you want water now?", when it should have been obvious
and offered to us w/o asking!
Inexplicably he disappeared for a very long time to procure 2 bottles!
Ditto trying to get a courtesy card so we could use either the Business or Fitness Rooms.
Maybe this is a training issue?
Other Front Desk staff were all very professional & excellent.

2. Upgrade:
For repeat guests there should be better & comp upgrade, but not so at Princeville
even on our 3rd stay.
We are frequent guests at SPG's Le Meridien brand and always get a large suite.
We understand that Princeville is a resort at a coveted locale, but still the upgrade policy
should be more generous & available.

3. Afternoon Tea's spread was much reduced from before (under Luxury Collection days), and current advertised items such as mini quiche were not even provided.
At $35/pp for just pastry & tea bag (not fresh brewed loose tea), it's not a good value.
Though the female French staffer was super nice & efficient.

4. A couple of mtce issues for new features w/o a manual control:
- the above bed tap-on/off reading lights failed to turn off for 1 light.
We tucked it in behind the headboard to minimize overnight glare, as there is no "manual override" of the auto on/off feature!
A nice Mtce staff came promptly in the morning but was not able to repair it and said would replace it.
We said it's OK to just remove it and not cause him more work, since it's not a crucial light for us.
- Ditto for public restrooms' toilets: some were automatic but if failed to flush, there was no manual way to flush it!

Overall it's such a wonderful resort and we appreciate all the hardworking staff & management.
We definitely plan to return!

Room Tip: 1. A helpful previous TripReviewer's tip was that 4th floor is the most efficient wrt elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Aloha FBC001,

Mahalo for taking the time to share feedback about your most recent visit to our new Resort. We are pleased to hear you enjoy our newly renovated facility and I have shared your comments with the Executive Staff so that we may improve in certain areas that you have mentioned. Our guests are the number one priority and we are saddened to hear that you stay was anything less than exceptional. I have shared your feedback about the Front desk service with our Director so that we may address similar issues as this is not typical of our St. Regis Staff. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to gain your confidence and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2006 AAA Four Diamond Hotel Award winner, Hawaii's St. Regis Princeville Resort offers 23 idyllic acres for rest and play. Luxurious dining, spa, swimming, and golf on the northern shore of Kauai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis Princeville Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.