We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Princeville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis Princeville Resort

Save Saved
You added St. Regis Princeville Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
St. Regis Princeville Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Princeville
Sonoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradise in Princeville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Wonderful hotel.Excellent service by all employees at pool.Norsala the bartender was friendly and made awesome drinks!Beautiful views of Hanalei bay from pool.Food we ordered at the pool restraunt was excellent-the pasta of the day.Pool was warm and there were many hot tubs to use.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    964
    252
    119
    57
    35
See reviews for
297
920
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Enjoying sunset at the St. Regis has become a tradition, and an experience that first timers to Princeville must not miss. Arrive early for a seat on the balcony, or at one of a handful of window seats at the bar, to soak up the atmosphere and enjoy a drink or two. A half hour before sunset the bar manager takes great pleasure in opening a bottle of champagne on the viewndeck with a saber to the delight and applause of the crowd. The bar wait staff are excellent sports and great photographers, and will gladly take your photo with the sunset in the background. Don't miss the experience.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My buddies and I literally stumbled into the St Regis impromptu very (very) late one night in April 2013 and we needed a place to sleep and eat. Andrew England, St Regis Manager, set us up perfectly and made us feel welcome. I'll never forget waking up, opening the curtains, and seeing that view across Hanalei Bay...

Highlights: View, pool, grounds, interior, staff (all of them!), excellent service!!!
Rants: Frozen burger patties used for room service cheeseburgers; small room for the price

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Situated in a lush, tropical paradise where they filmed "South Pacific" and Jurassic Park, this hotel could not be built today because of shoreline setbacks and new rules. It has a breathtaking view of the Hanalei mountains and taro patches. We stayed here for four nights after attending a business meeting on the other side of the island. Be prepared for rain at all times -- that's why the entire area is lush.

Service was inspired and excellent. Everyone stops in their tracks (including the staff) to watch spectacular sunsets. The two nearby golf courses, the Makai Course and the Prince Course are world class challenges. Again, be prepared for rain at any time.

Excellence has its price, so expect to pay for it, however the value is in the memories generated by a very special place.

Room Tip: A combination ocean/mountain view room will give you the most inspiration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our stay at the St Regis was one of the best. With a semi suite and a bottle of Champagne waiting in our room for our anniversary started our short stay in a positive light. The room was comfortable with a great view and with a few unique surprises not found in most hotels. All Suites come with a butler, to help you unpack, press your dress or jacket or even have coffee and such waiting for you. Unfortunately, we did not experience the butler service.
The breakfast is something not to miss. It provides one of the best views. Continental breakfast includes pastries for SPG members, while the full breakfast includes everything you need to start your day and is recommended. Champagne is included for their Sunday brunch.
Their customer service and attention to detail is right up there with some of the best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Aloha TravelPort101,

Mahalo for taking the time to write such a gracious review about your most recent stay at our Resort. We are so pleased that we could be part of creating some of the most memorable moments of your time together on your Hawaiian Anniversary getaway. The captivating scenery at the Makana Terrace restaurant holds your mind at repose and allows you to enjoy every moment and a uncompromising sunset. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come and we look forward to celebrating many more of your Anniversaries with you.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

- perfect location

- excellent butler staff. Aynslie was great and very professional

- front desk and concierge staff also great and very consistent

- of all the places we have stayed in our lives this was by far the best experience with valet staff! They were so warm and welcoming and so eager to help however they could. It doesn't matter if one was helping us. If another was available they would come over to help. They always asked the right questions to see what we needed and how they could help. I wish I remembered their names individually so that I could acknowledge each of them. But every single member of that team deserves recognition.

- housekeeping staff was great. One if the things I noticed was that they didn't leave their carts in the hallway and yet the rooms seemed to all be cleaned on time and organized. This was wonderful

- gym could use improvement. Extension gym had brand new equipment but the cardio machines faced the wall. I have to say it was difficult to run for 6.5 miles looking at a wall when behind me is a stunning view. If the cardio equipment can't be turned around I would suggest putting up a mirror so that those on the cardio equipment can see the view.

- the restaurant for breakfast had very poor service overall. The staff replacing the food and making the omlets were not friendly or helpful overall. They would literally hough at the request to have my omlet cooked with cooking spray (which they had) versus butter. They were always bpvery rude about it. They ran out of food consistently and were terrible at replacing items that they were out of - even first thing in the morning!! In my opinion this is a sign of very poor management!

- breakfast selection if fruits and vegetables was very poor and lacking for breakfast as well

- fortunately, on our last day there we had an excellent server for breakfast by the name of Richard. I want to acknowledge him specifically

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha MBFA,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share feedback about your most recent stay at our Resort. We truly value all of our guests and are disappointed that your stay was anything less than exceptional. I have shared your comments with the Director of Food Outlets, Makana Terrace Morning Management and the Executive Chef of our Resort so that we may improve to better assist our guests and provide the level of service that the St. Regis Brand is known for. We do appreciate your acknowledgement of our staff throughout the Resort and will make sure the Butler Aynsley and Waiter Richard receive recognition for the outstanding service. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity in the future to to demonstrate our signature hospitality.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We recently enjoyed a few days at the St Regis Princeville & had a truly wonderful stay.
The staff absolutely make this hotel (along with the amazing location). Everyone was very friendly & warm & couldn't do enough to make our stay a relaxed & happy time.
We were travelling with our 2 young children & they loved it too. It was a very child/family friendly resort & there were some great activities available for the children - lei making, rock pool explorations & bonfires on the beach in the evening.
The views in & around the resort are quite outstanding - there are photo opportunities everywhere you look!
Unfortunately we checked into our room in the evening & it was dark outside so we didn't realise that our room partly looked onto the adjoining wall, which was such a shame when the ocean/pool & mountain views seemed to be enjoyed from most other rooms.
Aside from our particular view the rooms are extremely comfortable & spacious.

We can't wait to go back & enjoy more of what this lovely resort has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha Travelbug070,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our Resort. Our staff truly takes pride in being about to provide bespoke service to all of our guests. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with your family and what better place to create memories of a lifetime then at the address for Life's Celebrations. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Hotel
St Regis Princeville Hotel
St Regis Princeville Resort
Princeville Resort
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Princeville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2006 AAA Four Diamond Hotel Award winner, Hawaii's St. Regis Princeville Resort offers 23 idyllic acres for rest and play. Luxurious dining, spa, swimming, and golf on the northern shore of Kauai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel and Agoda so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis Princeville Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.