We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Vacation at the St. Regis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis Princeville Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added St. Regis Princeville Resort to your Saves list
St. Regis Princeville Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Vacation at the St. Regis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the St. Regis for our 1 year anniversary. The hotel is fabulous; make sure to catch sunset from their bar- the people watching is also great. We really enjoyed the pool area, and the beach is excellent (make sure to get up early to get the best lounge chairs). The hotel restaurants are delicious, and the service was fantastic. Additionally, we saw many families at the hotel, and it was clearly a very family friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,163
    314
    144
    65
    42
See reviews for
353
1,100
26
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our 3rd time staying at the St Regis in Princeville, and we were once again delighted with the resort, the area and the resort staff. Everything about this hotel is first class. The rooms are great, every single employee is attentive, friendly and outgoing, the pool and beach are phenonmenal and the restaurants are fantastic. We look forward to returning again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at the St. Regis for the first part of our stay on Kauai to celebrate our five year anniversary. We are Starwood members and used cash and points for our stay. The hotel is very nice, but I would agree with others who say it doesn't really embrace the Hawaiian style. It's really just an upscale hotel situated in a gorgeous area. Our room was a garden view and had nice views of the mountains. We didn't have a balcony, but you can open the windows wide open and sit in the bay window. It's very nice in the morning with a cup of coffee or whatever you want. The views from the bar and restaurant are really spectacular. Speaking of which, yes, drinks and food are expensive, but it's an expensive hotel, and that's how it goes. You're never going to find an expensive resort with super cheap food and drinks. The best way around this is don't eat all (or any) of your meals there, especially breakfast, which I'm sure is pricey. Instead, go into Hanalei to the Wake Up Cafe, where you can get breakfast for two for about $30. Also in Hanalei, there's Tropical Taco for lunch, and of course Tahiti Nui which is an awesome historic restaurant in Hanalei. All of these places are way cheaper than eating (and drinking) at the St. Regis. Hanalei is a little more than a five minute drive from the St. Regis. We wished the St. Regis supplied a shuttle there, like the Westin Maui does into Lahaina. On that same note, we weren't really into the mandatory valet service. Seemed kinda unnecessary. We could have parked and walked just as easy.

As for the service, we had very few complaints. Again, I would agree that the appearance of most of the staff is not very Hawaiian (the beige/black getups the wait staff wears: really?), and the hostesses at the Makena Grill were not particularly enthused about...anything. Our room was always clean when we got back from the day (something that doesn't always happen at other hotels), and they were very prompt with any requests we had. The concierge was great and helped us organize all our activities.

Lastly, I would say if you're paying with Starwood points, or points and cash, go for it. However, would I pay $500-$1000 for a room here? If I were a zillionaire and could throw around thousands without blinking, sure. Otherwise, it seems like a ton of money to spend on a hotel. Check out the Westin Princeville first. Those are condos, so you could save quite a bit buying your own food for a few meals.

Room Tip: If you read "Kauai Revealed" or go to wizardpub.com you can see labeled aerials of the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC area
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I wanted 5 star and discovered 3 star - ho hum... it is a nice 3 star, almost 4 star at a 5 star price. Stars get dropped when mold, mildew and ants seem to be attacking the resort like some silly sy-fi movie, lights and other items need maintenance in the room, hallways have dirty cobwebs, surfaces inside and out are touched up with mismatching white paint, and every guest room front door is badly scratched in need of paint...
The restaurants and local staff are great and fulfill your service needs the best they can if management doesn't get in the way.
The original Princeville resort fell apart due to poor maintenance against the 'elements' and unfortunately the recent St. Regis multi-million dollar renovations are already showing severe signs of disrepair and lack of attention to maintenance. This will only get worse if management continues to not invest in maintaining the property and oversee the quality of what is done. So, I recommend you rush to see the 5 star elements left at this beautiful location, before all of it is completely ruined, again.
The daily events for guests, especially children, are wonderful and make this a great place for families. We loved the sunset tide pooling and s'mores made with a fire on the beach. The views are wonderful on the terrace and the hula and music in the lounge are always special vacation moments shared with friends, family or just your sweetheart.
The spa services are wonderful, but again the facility is not being maintained properly. Loads of used glasses and snack dishes sit around for an hour in the relaxation lounge, areas with obvious water damage appear to have needed attention for at least a year, ...again, ho hum. So much amazing potential... Come enjoy, but leave your 5 star expectations behind and don't bring your glasses or look too closely... the Emperor has no clothes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This place oozes pretentiousness. Views are amazing, but people were not overwhelmingly inviting and helpful here like they are everywhere else on the island. With that said, the views are unreal and the beach (public access) provides incredible opportunities for snorkeling, "supping," and even a little surfing for beginners. Would not recommend staying at the hotel, but spending a day on the grounds is highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is an immaculate hotel with what may be the best view on earth. Great, friendly staff, great food and lovely rooms. Beautiful pool and mostly private beach. The hotel is located in a resort community in the gorgeous north end of the island with a glorious view of Hanalei bay and the verdant mountains of Kauai.

Not inexpensive by any means but the most heavenly place I have ever been.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week stay at the St. Regis in Kauai. We were very impressed with hotel and staff in every way. Our room was comfortable and the staff was friendly and very helpful. We use the butler and valet service frequently. Each time our request was answered within minutes. Maid service was also AWESOME!! We appreciated the great service.
Celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary at the St. Regis in Kauai was a wonderful event that will never be forgotten.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2006 AAA Four Diamond Hotel Award winner, Hawaii's St. Regis Princeville Resort offers 23 idyllic acres for rest and play. Luxurious dining, spa, swimming, and golf on the northern shore of Kauai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis Princeville Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.