We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valet made it great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis Princeville Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St. Regis Princeville Resort to your Saves list
St. Regis Princeville Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Valet made it great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We arrived at the resort on Thursday December 13, after a very difficult travel day, it was late at night. The Valet staff that night was priceless. Even though it was late, they made our arrival amazing. Their cheerful welcoming attitude made us feel so happy to be at the hotel. It really set the mood for the rest of the week. Without that wonderful greeting that night, our stay would not have been as enjoyable. Please pass our thanks along to your valet staff. Oh and the hotel is amazing too!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    354
    165
    73
    44
See reviews for
396
1,173
28
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Starwood should reconsider rebranding this hotel as Sheraton and not St Regis....this is a 3 star hotel charging 5 star prices because of the location. three major gripes 1) I was horrified to discover that guests at other nearby hotels were using St Regis beds on the beach (allowed by management) and swimming in the pool (not allowed but hard to prevent given bed policy on beach). I strongly object to paying a high price for facilities only to see them being used by people staying nearby at half the cost. THIS IS DISGRACEFUL and left me feeling completely ripped off when I left the hotel. The hotel should consider introducing a guest wristband (know it is tacky) to guard against non guests using this hotels pool and sun beds especially during busy holiday season when beds are at a premium. 2) The Lua was a rip off....USD100 per head for an awful buffet plus OK show. 3) hey met on charging for full breakfast even though I ate continental. bill was corrected but quite annoying have to point out mistake each morning. 4) waited 15 minutes for a breakfast buffet table each morning. Breakfast buffet was 3 star. 5) Ocean view room was small. Now for the positivE......location, location, location. Will come back to the North Shore again but would think twice about staying at this property....you might as well stay at a nearby place for half the price and use this hotels facilities like so many others were doing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Aloha Jegster,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your most recent stay at our Resort. We are disappointed that your stay was anything less and we take all feedback seriously. I have shared your comments with our Management staff so that we may address your concerns and improve and we hope you will change your mind and wish to visit us again. If we may be of further assistance please feel free to contact Noel d’Couto at noel.dcouto@stregis.com.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The food is appalling, with fries drowning in oil, pizzas that taste like just out of the microwave oven and a mediocre menu. The hotel itself, although in an amazing spot is one of the ugliest buildings we've ever seen, and entirely devoid of any charm.
Not enough sunbeds for all the guests on the beach and pool area. The worst experience we had in a long time. Starwood should sell it as a Sheraton, the place is detrimental to the St Regis brand.
I have lots and lots of time spent in St Regis around the world and Princeville certainly doesn't deseve to be among them

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Aloha Marcos M,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your most recent stay at our Resort. We pride ourselves in providing a flawless experience for our guests that surpasses expectations. Clearly from the details you have provided , we fell below standards and we take all comments seriously. I have shared your review with the Executive Chef and Management team, bringing these details to our attention allows us to improve. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality, for which the St. Regis brand is known.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
446 helpful votes 446 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is your best bet for a 5 star experience in Princeville. Other than rain and a lot of it, our stay was perfect. As Platinum SPG members we were upgraded without even requesting it to a Prince Junior Suite, a beautiful room with a gorgeous bathroom and wonderful toiletries. A butler appeared and offered a lot of personal attention and made sure we knew we could request anything we needed help with. The lobby bar had different people performing at night and we enjoyed listening to them either before leaving or returning from dinner. We did not eat at Kauai Grill. They lost Fabrice, the former French chef, the menu is the most expensive on the island and the new executive chef is a gal from down at the very common Sheraton Poipu. We also read reviews where people said they felt hungry and the portions were on the small side, so it was an easy decision to skip. The pool service during the day was prompt and efficient. Pricey, as in $16 cocktails and $20 or so for the entree items during the lunch hour. We noticed a lot of older country club types soaking up the rays and were very entertained by the people watching. There also are a lot of Westin Time Share families that invade. Technically they are to use the beach and not the pool area, as the Westin doesn't have a beach. My thought is if they want to pay Westin prices let them use the Westin. So be cautioned. You will see a Westin time share bus that comes throughout the day dropping off and picking up time share families.
The Makena Terrace breakfast buffet is fine, nothing extraordinary, except for the price. And we did not partake in the Sunday brunch which is even more eye popping. Kauai in general is known for high food prices and not necessarily quality or bang that matches the buck, so I would encourage guests who have never visited before to buckle-up and smile whenever you sign the bill. The St Regis from what we could tell runs a few dollars more for every drink or food item, but that's what comes with staying at a 5 star resort.
The workout facility seems oddly located in a room off the lobby. There are plenty of cardio machines but little in the way of weight training machines. Everything is flawlessly maintained and in good working order, but no views. It feels like you're in a large closet.
Valet was quick and exceedingly pleasant. There are no resort fees at this property, so instead they hit the guest for $30/day parking. Given the room rates, this is absolutely absurd. For great views at sunset, rooms that are flawless, excellent service, this is the place to stay. Just be prepared to pay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This Hotel truly deserves it's 5 star rating. The property and grounds are fabulous and the service is amazing. Every worker makes you feel like Royalty and they provide great customer service. The view of Hanalei Bay and the start of the Napali Coast is beautiful and the hotel is built on a cliff so every room has a spectacular view.
The beach isn't the greatest for swimming but it's quiet and has easy access in certain spots. The pool and lounge area is world class.

Room Tip: You can get a better deal by pre-paying or being a AAA member. I would highly reccomend staying here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I recently spent three nights at the St Regis Princeville. The are world class at welcoming guests and getting them settled. The front desk person was amazing ... and upgraded my room since this was the first time I was at the hotel. The views from the room were amazing. The staff was first rate. The location is beautiful and peaceful. My only disappointment was the fitness center. It was only a slight step up from a Holiday Inn. I have spent time at over 10 resorts in Hawaii and I have to say the St Regis has the poorest fitness center. Recommendation: Move the fitness center to a place where it takes advantage of the location/views rather than put in in the closed off part of the hotel and expand the equipment. With the exception of the fitness center ... this place is the best in Hawaii.

Room Tip: You MUST get a room with a view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We visited St. Regis Princeville for our honeymoon and received an upgrade to the St. Regis Suite (with Butler Service). The entire butler team is incredible and even brought me cough drops when I had a sore throat!

The setting of this hotel is remarkable and you will see THE best sunsets on the entire island.

The quality of the food is outstanding as well and the Mai Tai's from the hotel lobby are an absolute must.

The hotel has a chill vibe so if you want a party this is not the place for you. If you want relaxation and amazing service this is definitely the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2006 AAA Four Diamond Hotel Award winner, Hawaii's St. Regis Princeville Resort offers 23 idyllic acres for rest and play. Luxurious dining, spa, swimming, and golf on the northern shore of Kauai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis Princeville Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.