We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis Princeville Resort

Save Saved
You added St. Regis Princeville Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
St. Regis Princeville Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Princeville
Draper, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

If your desire is to spend a perfect vacation in Hawaii, then you must travel to Kauai and treat yourself to an incredible experience by staying at the St. Regis Princeville Resort. From the breathtaking views, magnificent accommodations, outstanding food to the professional - very friendly - staff, there is no finer experience in the world. The St. Regis is simply a little piece of heaven here on Earth.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha Craig F,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our Resort. We truly appreciate your endorsement and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    964
    252
    119
    57
    35
See reviews for
297
920
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Point Reyes Station, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We just returned from our honeymoon in Kauai. We spent the first five days at the St. Regis and four days at the Grand Hyatt in Poipu (separate review there). Hands down St. Regis was the best vacation we have had at any hotel or resort. The location is perfect, the view of Hanalei Bay is mesmerizing, magical and serene. The hotel has a near 360 degree view from the lobby and various terraces that is breathtaking. The North Shore of Kauai is so beautiful, special, magical and the St. Regis is the perfect compliment. Personally, I've only stayed in condos in Kauai in the past but after this stay, we will return to the St. Regis.

We had a room on the 7th floor with a view of the bay. The upper floors (6th, 7th, 8th, 9th and 10th) are the best particularly those on the west side of the floors which face the ocean) but its hard to think that there is a bad room in the place. Aside from the location and the views, what makes the St. Regis so incredibly special and memorable is the service. Wow. From the moment we checked in to our departure, the service was superb. Everyone greets you, everyone looks out for you, everyone is polite, everyone asks if they can help you with anything and mean it, and you will be able to tell instantly. It feels so good to feel at ease and relaxed. No stress no struggle no tension at dinner or with reservations or your room. The service alone is worth it. And not only are they attentive and polite, but everyone there knows the Island. Most of their staff struck me as locals (people who grew up there) or people who lived on Kauai for at least 10 years. They all have great rec. for beaches, food, tips on weather, the people at the pool warned us about rough weather and not to go out snorkeling the day before. They are all trained to inform guests for the best spots and also to look out for their welfare.

Each morning you get an update on the weather. The Starwood Desk next to the concierge called us the day we arrived and welcomed us. They had a sweet little gift for us and gave us a bunch of info on restaurants, boating tour info, helicopter tour info which we asked for. Their tips were great and very direct. That's one of the things I truly appreciated. They speak from experience and tell you what they experienced and what you may like or dislike. I never felt pushed. They were always honest and for that reason, we trusted them and will return. One ex. is I asked about different Napali boat tours and the person I spoke on the phone with gave me a head's up about one company that included a visit near the privately owned island of Niihau. She said it took 2.5 hrs. to cross the channel there and that is was rough. I was so grateful - had I booked that trip I would have been very seasick. I have them to thank for the additional info. They go the extra step. If you've stayed at a hotel that had poor service (particularly one you have paid a lot for) you will appreciate what I mean.

Every morning we had our included breakfast on their restaurant terrace. Morning rainbows were typical. Birds singing, surfers in the distance, sweet warm air. Its just perfect. And romantic. The pool area is so nice, the chairs, the towel service, drinks if you want them. Its all perfect. The hotel was quite full so when we wanted a late check out they did their best to accommodate us with a spa pass so that we could hang out at the pool (at our request) and grab a shower before we left. With all the sightseeing we did we wanted a little pool time!) and they were understanding of that. Our room was well-appointed, clean, elegant with a nice sized bathroom with large bathtub that looked into the bedroom (there is a switch that you can hit that makes the glass opaque).

They give you towels and water each time you leave for the day. If you are looking for a special time to treat yourself, for a romantic getaway or celebration or you are just someone with great taste who can afford it, the St. Regis is THE place to stay in Kauai. We did not have dinner in any of the restaurants or order room service only because we found some great restaurants to eat at in Hanalei (Bar Acuda and the Dolphin for sushi - order the yellowtail) and a great lunch spot in Kilauea (Kilauea Fish Market) not to mention Banana Joe's for fresh fruit smoothies and fruit. If we had stayed even one extra day, we would have made it to their restaurant and/or had room service. How could it not be terrific?

Despite the size of the hotel you are made to feel very special and it all feels so intimate. We were sad to leave! We will be back again. By the way, a tip to all: we booked through Costco. The advantage is that for the price (which is not much different than booking directly), there are a few extras that are included which you would otherwise have to pay additionally for like valet parking ($30 per day), continental breakfast (juice, toast, cereal, coffee) and an ocean view room). We are just so pleased. St. Regis is fabulous at what they do and we cannot wait to return. Best wishes to everyone out there planning a trip to Kauai! Thank you St. Regis Kauai and staff, you made our trip an amazing one.

THANK YOU ST. REGIS FOR A BEAUTIFUL HONEYMOON

Room Tip: Rooms on 6,7,8,9 and 10th floors have best view, especially rooms towards west side of hotel (closes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha Honeymoon Traveler 201,

Mahalo for writing such a gracious review about your recent stay at our Resort. On behalf of the St. Regis Princeville Staff we would to congratulate you on your recent celebration and we are pleased to hear you chose to spend part of your Honeymoon getaway at our Resort. Our staff has a commitment to each and every guest to create a discreet experience of bespoke service. Hearing feedback such as yours is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of the St. Regis. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future or possibly for your Anniversary.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Let me first start of by saying, we checked in 2 days ago, and still have 2 nights to go here. Now, this place is not crawling with bugs, no mold on food or walls that would warrant such a low rating. Now we felt so strongly about our experience so far that we decided to already write a review. We are on our honeymoon and both in our early 30's. We have both traveled many beautiful places in their own regards such as beaches of Thailand, Central and South American along with the Mediterranean...so we aren't strangers to real beauty and real luxury. We started our honeymoon in Napa at the Vintage Inn at $530 a night..so again, we have certain expectations. Also did not help that we ate at both Bouchon and Auberge in Napa before we came to this location. In any case, here are some reasons for why the rating is what it is:

1. Regis is marketed far more of a couples paradise than a romper hotel. I would almost bet there are just as many little loud children as there are their parents who don't know how to control them. In fact, I think it's worse here than general everyday bad manners, it's as if the parents want a get away, bring their little misbehaving children and let then go wild around the pool. I'm sorry, but screaming children in both the pool area and the dining locations is not relaxation.

2. The rooms are...blah. Even the ocean front king size room...well, I would just say that they are on par with a Holiday Inn or Farfield level of quality. The room rate you are paying for..is simply a somewhat obstructed ocean view and a desolate location. The wine opener was even rusted. There are no refrigerators or form of amenities that way, so if you find that you want to just hit the market and bring food back, good luck finding a place to store it. Genius really, it's like the Regis saying, we will force people to eat here. And that leads me to number 3.

3. Prices of food. Now, like I previously said, we have no issues dropping a couple hundred on a meal from a great place by a great chef like Bouchon. But the Regis is not only severely overpriced, the food sucks. It's TGI Fridays level of quality, sure it's nice presented, but nothing special about it and we have dined at many fine places. So yeah...$16 for a watered down margarita, $9 for a tiny side salad that was only lettuce and 2 little cherry tomatoes. Not to mention, I ordered the filet at $68 Medium cooked and they brought it rare and the service was HORRIBLE!!

4. Valet parking is $30 and you have no option otherwise.

In summary, as I could go on and on about this place, my recommendation to you would be if you are looking for a nice romantic and relaxing hotel, this is not the place. Now if they only charged you $200 or less a night, well then, go for it - but this place is NOT worth even close what it costs. And my recommendation to the hotel - stupid decision to put all you money into your lobby when you really should have put some of that money into room improvements and really assess your prices for the quality. I would only stay here again if I got a room for $200 at most which is really what it's worth - otherwise, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: My advice, find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the St. Regis Princeville for five nights at the beginning of November. We had an amazing time at this beautiful property! The views of Hanalei Bay are incredible and the hotel uses its vantage point beautifully. Our room was very nice, quiet and clean with a really comfy bed. We loved the turndown service and St. Regis slippers.

The pool also has a great view (shocking!) and plenty of open chairs -- at least when we were there. The staff at the pool will set you up St. Regis style (what we took to calling it) -- with three towels per chair and the umbrella just where you like it :) They'll also move your umbrella throughout the day as the sun shifts and drop off more towels. Makes for a great day!

We were a bit underwhelmed by the beach (lots of reefs and pretty course sand), but there was high surf for most of our trip so we didn't do much swimming in the ocean. The pool and hot tubs are also open all day and night so you can take a dip before bed if you like.

We knew going in that things were going to be expensive (at the St. Regis and Hawaii in general) and we weren't disappointed. We had breakfast at the Makana Terrace a few of the days - it was delicious and not too pricey. Our favorite meal (by far) was at the St. Regis Bar. We ate there three times -- showed up just before sunset (do this at least once), waited for the crowds to clear out, and then sat outside and had drinks and appetizers (the sushi is really awesome). Eventually, the hotel has to put down its shades to avoid confusing local water fowl. If you're sitting outside, you're essentially left sitting under more stars than you've ever seen. It's an incredibly romantic way to spend an evening and not too expensive.

If you're looking to do excursions, I'd recommend talking to January at the Concierge Desk soon after your arrival. She set us up with a Catamaran Cruise that was awesome, a zip line adventure and good tips for visiting Waimea Canyon and the Kauai Coffee Company. She also pointed out other helpful things like the nearest Starbucks and Walmart.

If you have a rental car, keep in mind that valet parking is mandatory. They're pretty fast, but there can be a bit of a backup when pulling into the hotel and people are unloading their stuff.

Tips/tricks:
- There is a nice shopping center at the end of the road leading to the St. Regis where you can stock up on some groceries if you want to be a bit more economical. There's also a few restaurants in there that offer cheap pub food.
- Sunset at the St. Regis Bar is an event and the seats fill up pretty quickly. Also, at this time of the year the sun is setting over the mountains, so it actually sets around 5:45. Get there early!
- The pool starts getting busy around 10, but people do seem to come and go quite a bit. We showed up at a variety of different times throughout our trip and never had trouble getting ourselves some seats. This might vary at different times of the year.
- The restaurant dress code is a bit more upscale than other Hawaiian resorts. I know my husband wished he had brought some nicer pants and more collared shirts, but we had been told that we wouldn't need them so we packed light.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fourth floor of the hotel. We had reserved a mountain view room, so we were expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha Deebee16384,

Thank you for taking to the time write a review about your most recent stay at the St. Regis Princeville Resort. The combination of elegant decor, uncompromising views and exquisite dining creates an atmosphere perfect for stargazing couples seeking a restful and captivating getaway. We truly appreciate your acknowledgment and will be sure that January in Concierge receives recognition. We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

But that's what we are talking about. I read a number of reviews that complained about the cost of various things at the St Regis, but seriously...it's the St Regis. If you don't want to spend the money, there are other options. Our experience started with a warm and heartfelt reception. We were upgraded to a suite for the first two nights - the butler service was impeccable. The rest of the stay was in an ocean view room, with equally impressive reviews. I am a Plat 75 SPG member, which I know helped with the upgrade, but the service of the resort was what we and all that we met, were impressed by. We fell in love with the resort...and while it's not everyday affordable...it's perfect for that special occasion - and without compromise. Make sure to visit Makana Grill and Kaua'i Grill - both were wonderful (try the tasting menu at KG). Just sitting at the bar, watching the sunset and listening to music while working through some fantastic dishes and a nice bottle of wine (order from the main restaurant wine list) was magical. If I were to recommend a single area of improvement it would be in the wines per glass at the bar - they were limited and mediocre (I understand the up-charge - $20/glass for a $18/bottle wine)...but the quality of wine (by the glass) was low (for a wine lover)...lesson learned...order by the bottle :-). For those that do venture, take advantage of Pacific Dream Photography (on the way to the pool) - they were great (and VERY reasonable).

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha rcorrao,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our Resort. We truly value of SPG Members and we are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional. Our staff truly takes pride in providing service that is beyond expectations. Hearing feedback from our loyal guests is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of the St. Regis Ohana (family). We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the St. Regis in October 2012. The property is stunning and I can't recommend the North Shore and Princeville enough. The experience strikes a lovely balance between fantastic scenery, tons of activities and a relaxing environment.

But I'd really like to highlight one of the amenities offered at the hotel: a photo shoot by Pacific Dream Photography. To be honest, I hesitated at first, thinking the shots would probably be a little... cheesy. (My mother is a professional photographer, and I work in advertising alongside professional photographers all the time, so I have pretty high standards.) But the photo session was free and you only have to pay if you decide to buy any of the images, so I figured "why not?".

I am so glad we did!! The photographer was amazing. Not only was he very skilled, but he was incredibly nice, put us at ease, and made the whole shoot a lot of fun. He was even able to get our grumpy, jet-lagged 6-month old to smile! He spent a surprisingly long time shooting us (we were with him at least 45 minutes to an hour) in a number of locations around the beach. He shot pictures of the whole family as well as of my wife and I separately with our baby.

The very next day they showed us hundreds of images, and I was shocked by how many great ones there were. I never imagined I'd want to buy more than a couple, but he really captured so many great moments, facial expressions, etc., all with the lovely natural backdrop of Kauai.

But what also blew me away was how helpful Pacific Dream Photography was after we'd left Hawaii and were back home. I emailed them to see if they wouldn't mind sending me one of our shots in full color (instead of a more muted/sepia tone). Not only were they willing to do that, but they sent me the high resolution file immediately. Our contact there then continued to help us for weeks after, sending us versions of our images with different levels of color saturation, ones he'd cropped differently, etc. He even came up with a creative solution for one of the cute shots of my daughter in which I had accidentally started to step in front of the lens.

Overall I cannot say enough about their talent, kindness, patience and generosity. They have been amazing to work with, and I'd strongly recommend them to anyone who wants to capture images of their friends or family in such a beautiful spot.

While there are too many unique experiences on Kauai to list here I would also recommend a 'doors off' helicopter tour with Jack Harter Helicopters. Not only is doors off more unique and exciting than a fully enclosed helicopter it allows you to get photos with a lot less glare.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha loughran1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your most recent stay. The captivating scenery holds your mind at repose and allows you to enjoy every moment. We are pleased to hear you were able to experience that fantastic services provided by Pacific Dreams Photography. What better place to capture your fondest memories then on the North Shore of Kauai at the St. Regis Princeville Resort. We will share your comments with the staff at Pacific Dreams Photography as we know they love to hear from their previous guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Princeville Resort used to have an incredibly beautiful lobby with an old Hawaii presence before it became St. Regis. This trip is the first time we are back since St. Regis took over and remodeled it. The moment we walked into the lobby I almost wanted to cry. The lobby has turned into a cheap chain hotel looking dull and ugly space. It does not even live up to the St. Regis's name. It looks more like a Westin or Mariott level hotel now. They must have been budget conscious when they remodeled. They did not use expensive material and it shows. The lighting is that sad looking Eco light bulbs that illuminates the space like the "hospital green" look. And they kept some parts that they could salvage so the mixture of the old legendary look and the new cheap chain hotel look does not make sense. It certainly failed to achieve the celebrated presence like the Four Seasons Maui and Halekulani in Waikiki after their successful remodels.

The room remodel is the same failure. They tried to salvage expensive stuff like marble bathroom and wood plantation shutters and moldings, and filled the rest of the space with mishmash of cheap looking furniture. So the result is a room that looks like Westin with sliding doors and shutters that look aged.

My husband and I got engaged in 2003 and got married in 2004 at this resort and it always has a special place in my heart. So it is especially sad to see that St. Regis failed to upgrade it with the same luxurious old Hawaii flair. They should have obtained a tasteful design team and should have done right with abundance of high-end material throughout, and replaced the aged technology like elevators and sliding doors/shutters. They could afford it but they opted for a quick cheap facelift and relied on the St. Regis name for the maximum profit.

That said, the view is still gorgeous, people are extremely friendly, and the service is impeccable. I really miss the pre-St. Regis Princeville Resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Hotel
St Regis Princeville Hotel
St Regis Princeville Resort
Princeville Resort
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Princeville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2006 AAA Four Diamond Hotel Award winner, Hawaii's St. Regis Princeville Resort offers 23 idyllic acres for rest and play. Luxurious dining, spa, swimming, and golf on the northern shore of Kauai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel and Agoda so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis Princeville Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.