We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing.........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis Princeville Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added St. Regis Princeville Resort to your Saves list
St. Regis Princeville Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing.........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Rooms:
The views......SPECTACULAR. We even had a view from our bathroom (junior suite). Definitely luxury

Service:
Extremely good everywhere.

Food:
Breakfast buffett is amazing (we had it included in our rate) and the Sunday Brunch is AWESOME. We tried most of the restaurants Kauai Grill and Makana Terrace. Both were very good.

Pool/HotTub:
Excellent

Beach:
Great, it is small and the pool is more the place to be but there is service at the beach also.

We loved that the resort was not too big, and in a BEAUTIFUL part of Hanalei Bay. The only con is is is EXPENSIVE! But if you can afford to do it go for it!

Room Tip: Junior Suite was AMAZING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha Atlantabluemoon,

Mahalo for the gracious review. On behalf of the St. Regis Princeville Ohana (family) we would like to personally thank you for taking the time share your feedback about your most recent stay. We agree that the Prince Junior Suites offer some of the best views and amenities that one could receive while staying at our Resort. The added touches such as Butler service and Remede amenities are some of the few perks that make the rooms exceptional. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    313
    144
    65
    42
See reviews for
352
1,099
26
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

First of all, the location is spectacular - waking up to a view of the ocean and mountains with a rainbow nearly everyday was amazing. Next, the service was fantastic. While it is a luxury hotel, there was no snobby attitude from any of the employees or guests, just a warm Aloha welcome from everyone. They really take good care of you here. In fact, we had left the door ajar for a few minutes and the security immediately called to make sure we were ok and that we were aware that the door was slightly open. I never felt so secure in a hotel. The food was fantastic, especially the sushi in the lobby and the wonderful coconut panna catta. It is pricey (as is expected in a five star hotel and on an island), but worth every penny! Live music each night in the Living Room was also wonderful. The decor of the hotel is gorgeous and immaculate. It is simple but has touches of color throughout that are just perfect and fit well with the beautiful natural surroundings. I cannot say anything bad about this hotel. Even the valet was so nice and always had our car waiting for us with fresh cold water. The worst part is having to leave. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Aloha travelgirl32655,

On behalf of the St. Regis Princeville I would like to personally thank you for sharing positive feedback about your recent stay at our Resort. Our staff has a commitment to each and every guest, to create a discreet experience of bespoke service. The combination of elegant decor and exquisite surroundings creates an atmosphere perfect for couples seeking a restful and captivating getaway. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be part of the St. Regis. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to our Resort.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is our 3rd year in a row to this beautiful resort and this year we greatly appreciated the addition of Pacific Dream Photography located on the 4th floor on the way to the pool. They take you on a 20 minute photo shoot and have a gorgeous presentation for you by the next day. They gave us memories to last a lifetime and they have pricing to have the whole package or just a few shots. It's no wonder they are at the St. Regis! Only the best!!!! Thank you Pacific Dream!!!!! - The Taylors

Room Tip: Any room here is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Aloha Jennifer T,

Mahalo, for taking the time to post a review about your return visit. We truly value our loyal guests and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and services from Pacific Dream Photography. Memorable experiences are what we hold close to us throughout our lives and what better way to share those memories then bringing home amazing photos. We look forward to welcoming you back next year and provide you with the finest service.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the St Regis. Plenty of rest and relaxation. We had wonderful views over the water from our room and our room was amazing. We always managed to get a sunbed by the beach front and lunch was often taken whilst sunbathing! It was such a pleasant experience that we'd thoroughly recommend the hotel and place on the island. We'd definitely recommend going to Hanalei Bay to have dinner at Postcards, Barracuda and catch a local show. The food in the restaurant at the hotel as well as in Hanalei Bay was just so tasty. Taxi drivers were very informative and helpful. We used the gym a few days during our stay, and it was kept clean, tidy and stocked. The hotel is ideal for couples. Some children were there during our stay but they really didn't bother us or the other guests. A sure hit if you want to relax and recharge the batteries.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, not too low down so as not to be too close to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Aloha Neir,

Rest and relaxation is a veiled treasure found at our Resort. The captivating scenery holds your mind at repose and allows you to enjoy every moment. Our staff has a commitment to each and every guest and our uncompromising service makes us truly a unique destination. On behalf of the St. Regis Princeville we hope you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The beach truly is beautiful, the rooms have a lovely view (and awesome bath) and the service is top-notch.
They always found us chairs on the beach and were speedy with beverage service.
Close enough to town you can go snorkeling and get something to eat, but you don't need to. Restaurants are good on site and, while there ae nearby things to explore the resort is just so beautiful and comfortable it's hard to leave.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Aloha margieco,

Thank you for such a thoughtful review about your most recent stay. Creating spaces with rich textures, beautiful lighting and amenities at arm's reach where guest never want to leave is our ultimate goal. We truly appreciate your endorsement of our Resort and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilot Point, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have stayed at this location since this was the Sheraton Princeville in 1986. The Hawaiian Plantation theme played heavily into the Sheraton Princeville during its operation. This was an open air lobby and the feeling of Aloha with its ensuing grace and comfort permeated your stay at this facility. Now, the St Regis has gotten away from this concept and the hotel feels more like a 5star brass and glass from the big city. If you want to experience a true Hawaiian atmosphere, there are better places to stay. The setting, however, cannot be duplicated on the planet. Hanalei Bay will always be on of the most beautiful places on Earth.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the ocean view. This will give a stunning view of the Hanalei Bay and the wes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Aloha Martin B,

We regret to learn that you recent stay was anything less than exceptional. At the St. Regis Princeville we continuously strive to captivate the essence of the Hawaiian history and culture. On behalf of the entire St. Regis Ohana (family) we hope that you will reconsider a return trip to our resort and allow us the privilege of welcoming you to our Resort.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The views from hotel are is if God had plainted a prefect picture of what folks imagine Kauai is like.
Service 5 star and they little extras impressive.
Only recommendation I'd make is not to eat at the Kauai Grill. Jean-George holds all the say and selections. St. Regis merely leases space to them.
Food was ok but not special, service was not up to the rest of the resort and interior relies on the view. No table clothes, glasses has spots, and waiter was more fit for a chain restaurant. Dine elsewhere.
Hotel on the other hand provides the most memorable experience particularly if your visit is a special occasion

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Aloha ActonGail15,

Thank you for taking the time share feedback about your most recent stay at our Resort. We are pleased that we were able to make your stay so enjoyable. Having a captivating view of Hanalei Bay is Mother Nature at her finest. We pride ourselves in providing a flawless experience for our guests that surpasses expectations. Clearly from the details you have provided, we fell below our standards of service, and for this we apologize. Your comments will be shared with our General Manager of Kauai Grill to remind them of our continued efforts in creating the finest experience for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the St. Regis Princeville Resort.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2006 AAA Four Diamond Hotel Award winner, Hawaii's St. Regis Princeville Resort offers 23 idyllic acres for rest and play. Luxurious dining, spa, swimming, and golf on the northern shore of Kauai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis Princeville Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.