We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Score would be higher if not for Ants, noise & no AC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pahio at Shearwater

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pahio at Shearwater to your Saves list
Pahio at Shearwater
3730 Kamehameha Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lumberton, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Score would be higher if not for Ants, noise & no AC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I see not much has changed since someone gave the bad review back in Nov. 2011. Great location. View is wonderful. We were in unit 207 presidential, 2 bdrm, 2 bth. We had an unconstructed view of the ocean & pool. Unfortunately we also got all the noise from the pool as well. Being as there's no AC, you can't close the windows/ doors to drown out the noise. Not much privacy either for that same reason. We requested to be moved to a quieter area; was told the manager would contact us but she never did; so we just sucked it up. Noise level did go down a lot after the weekend. The unit was very spacious. Plenty of room for our family of 4. Appreciated the two double beds in the guest room with private bath. There is NO AC in these units. There are ceiling fans, and one portable fan. We asked for another fan & they gave us one promptly. I don't think we would have made it without those...it got very hot inside, especially when cooking. Our unit also got the evening sun through a window near the ceiling that had no covering on it....no way to block out the sun. We had to sleep with all windows/patio doors open...which wasn't a problem until about 5 am. That's when the birds & chickens think its time for you to wake up. Again, we could close the doors/ windows but then you close off your airflow as well.
If you are a Wyndham owner, you have access to beach stuff at the front office. Chairs, boogie boards, sand toys etc. That was a nice surprise. Unfortunately, if you are a Wyndham owner you also get no housekeeping unless you are here for two weeks. We were told at check in that we would have mid week service only to be called at midweek to tell us that was not the case.
Lastly, ANTS. You will have to deal with them. I say that because no amount of spraying will rid them. It would have been so nice if we were told this ahead of time...we could of at least saved some of our expensive food. We had to throw out an entire box of cereal because in one night the ants invaded it. We called the office only to hear "yeah, that's island living. There should be a can of spray in the cupboard....there's not much else you can do". (Note: when we arrived our first day there was a note on door stating that pest control had serviced the units that day....so maybe they really are super ants that you can't do anything about) regardless, the ants are here to stay, and everyone else is just a visitor in their world. There are a few airtight containers in the kitchen that could be used to keep foods safe. Wish we'd known ahead of time.
All in all, this resort is not the worst, not the best. We had a great time on Kauai regardless....we just got in the mindset that this was island living.

Room Tip: Try to get 3rd floor Presidential ocean view away from pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Most North Shore properties have limited ocean views but the views at Shearwater are spectacular. The resort is perched on top of the bluff where it juts out into the sea so you get almost unobstructed sunrise and always sunset. You can see whales right off shore most of the winter and albatros, shearwater and other birds are plentiful. Keep in mind that winter is also a rainy season so if a daily warm tropical shower will bother you skip the whales and go after May. This resort was built as the flagship resort in the Pahio group about 20 years ago and the interiors are becoming dated but a new renovation is planned and may be complete by the time you travel. The large condo units have big well equipped bedrooms and full kitchens. A good grocery store is nearby. A car is absolutely needed to enjoy all the attractions in the area.Though a little dated, this is clearly one of the premier places to stay on Kauai's North Shore.

Room Tip: Avoid the one bedroom lock off's with mini kitchen. If you have a choice higher floors have bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemead, CA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The places was great! If you like a peaceful and quiet place to stay, this is the place for you. The beach isn't accessible, but the views, if you have a place facing the beach are spectacular! The pool is small with an equally small jacuzzi. From the pool area, you can see a view of the beach, but because we were so high up, accessing it is impossible. The local clubhouse is equally small and every time we passed by, it wasn't occupied by a staff person. But there were refreshments available throughout the day.

This was our base camp for the week and took daily trips around the north side of the island which made it perfect for us. We just about took daily trips to the local Foodland too for our lunch and evening meals.

We stayed in a 2br/2b room facing the water on the first floor. Thinking it might be noisy because of the location, it wasn't. It was very quite and peaceful. I didn't see or hear any of our neighbors or staff. The common areas of the room was spacious and had views of the water and sunrise. A breeze could be felt constantly because of where our room was facing. The rooms also came equipped with beach towels so you didn't have to trek to the pool area to get them.

It's a great place if you're looking to spend your HI vacation in a quite place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at Shearwater for four nights recently, Monday thru Thursday nights. It's a tiny resort located right on Annini Bay. We had a second floor unit and one of the lesser views of all of the condos. It was still nice but due to the configuration of the units, not much privacy. We booked as Wyndham VIP Gold owners and asked for a different unit as I was hoping for one looking straight out onto bay versus the one we were in which was kind of horizontally opposed to the opposite units. I was told that there wasn't one available and since we booked a "weirdly timed stay", i.e. Mon-Thurs, it was the unit of last resort. No big deal, still a nice lanai and blue water to look at. As other reviewers have mentioned, there is no central air and if you get warm the only thing to do is open all the windows hoping for cross breeze. Problem is when you open all windows, you can hear all conversations, dishes being washed, tv's etc and others can see right in. I just had to kind of watch where I was and what I was wearing during our stay.
The unit itself was fine and spacious. Furniture was okay. Our living room television was jacked up and seemed to have been set up for gaming by previous occupant. We were constantly having to walk over and turn on cable box as it would shut off when the tv remote was turned on. Small annoyance and who watches tv in paradise, but we were trying to keep track of the hurricane on the east coast. The location is great, so close to Hanalei and just minutes from the shops at Princeville. I would stay here again and book the whole week.

Room Tip: We were in 208, middle unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were transferred into this condo after having some issues at another Wyndham property in Kauai. The unit we currently occupy is not updated yet, but it is still nicer than many condo units, and it has 3 things going for it….. LOCATION, LOCATION, and LOCATION!

The condo itself (unit 213) has a great view going up the golf course on the right, and fabulous views of the beach to the left. The condo has a nice kitchen that looks into the living area that is very well arranged for watching the 40+ inch Sony flat screen TV. The furniture has not been updated, but it is as nice, or nicer than the furniture in the updated unit at the Wyndham resort we were in prior to coming here.

The bedrooms are very nice, one with two full beds, and one with a King. Both have flat screen wall mounted TVs and both bedrooms have very nice bathrooms attached.

There is a small, but very well kept swimming pool with a nice hot tub. The resort is not very large, so the small pool and hot tub are more than adequate.

There are two brand new Weber Genesis grills. They need to add trash cans to this area other than the large dumpsters. Nobody wants to put something in a dumpster and then go back to cooking food. I’m sure this is something they will take care of soon.

Once this unit is updated it will be a 5 star condo unit. As of now, I’d rate is as a very nice 4 star unit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This was a great base camp for Kauai. Not much beachfront resort in the North anyhow, so you might as well go for stunning views. We love Hanalei so liked being close. If your knees are OK and you don't mind hauling your luggage up stairs would recommend the top floor because of the sweeping cathedral ceilings. We had a great view to the lighthouse and the sunsets were gorgeous. There is a nice little (really little) pool overlooking the ocean. Might catch some glimpses of whales from the deck.

Room Tip: Top floor for great views and cathedral ceilings.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and another couple just got back from Kauai. I would highly recommend the Shearwater to anyone looking for a great place to stay that is relaxing, clean and friendly. Our unit was VERY clean, had the best view of the ocean, friendly staff. The ground were nice as well. The unit are a little outdated, but not really a deal breaker. We stayed in 109, 2 bedrooms, 1 king, the other 2 queens...(both with bathrooms), kitchen, washer and dryer, dishwasher machine. The beds were a little hard...but really I didn't care that much. Of course, being in Hawaii, you don't spend a ton of time in your room, but you want a relaxing & clean place and this was it!! Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pahio at Shearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pahio at Shearwater

Address: 3730 Kamehameha Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pahio at Shearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pahio At Shearwater Hotel Princeville
Pahio At Shearwater Princeville, Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pahio at Shearwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.